We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TLC needed here.”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“TLC needed here.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We called in here for a coffee and bar-snack. The coffee was good & the menu not bad but nothing out of the ordinary. My partner went for a jacket potato with chilli & I had cottage pie with peas & gravy. There was a huge helping of salad with the potato which was fairly unnecessary & the peas I was given were like bullets, not sure how many times they'd been cooked. The service was reasonable, the staff friendly. The decor looked as if it needed a good makeover, it was quite shabby. When I visited the ladies I found 2 out of the 3 toilets were out of order. This place needs a lot of tlc to bring it up to a decent standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleofeastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    62
    73
    67
    81
See reviews for
61
119
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was a bit old and worn down, but otherwise fine in terms of the decor and spacious double room we stayed in. The reception staff were friendly and there was no trouble checking in late. We did not eat there, breakfast or dinner. What let the hotel down in our mind was the somewhat uncomfortable bed mattress, the fact that the hotel is on the main road with all of the traffic noise that brings when you don't have sound proof windows, and the fact that it is a typical English hotel which is great at keeping you warm in the winter but woefully inadequate at keeping you cool in the summer. It would have made such a difference to our stay if the hotel had provided us with even a small pedestal fan. Instead, with no airflow and no possibility of opening the window on account of the traffic noise, we sweltered in the room and it cost us valuable sleep. I realise that most English hotels do not have the facilities to cope with reasonably warm summer nights, but it would go a long way for this hotel to provide cheap fans for guest use in every room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max-H588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The skirting board in the bathroom was black with dust and dirt and the sink had not been cleaned. Furniture was mismatched and paint was peeling from said furniture. The carpet had not been acquainted with a vacuum for quite some time. The ceiling light had only three bulbs working out of the six and one bedside light didn’t even have a bulb in. The window catch was missing and the windows were filthy.

We now move to breakfast. The cutlery was dirty and plates were greasy. Cereal BBD was April 14, I am sure that I don’t need to point out that this is illegal. The fruit juices smelt off and the icing on the cake was a member of staff setting a table place, dropping the cutlery but still continuing to set the table with cutlery that had been on the floor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 765Catherine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brackley hotels

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned having spent 3 nights at the Crown. Only about 6 miles from Silverstone, we were able to get there quickly & easily. The young staff were all friendly & helpful. The food, both in the restaurant and bar was good & well presented, with a very reasonably price wine list. The only downside was ROOM 12!! Clean & with a comfy bed, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities, sadly our window - which we had to wedge open with a book - gave us a lovely view of the hotels rubbish bins, dirty laundry collection area and half a dozen old odd chairs. This appeared to be the staff outdoor rest area!! I was woken at 7am by the delightful smell of cigarette smoke wafting through said window. On looking out we were horrified to see two chairs placed right under a huge lump of brickwork which was jutting out about to fall from the top of an ancient wall!!!!! We nevertheless enjoyed our stay & will certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Used this place as an overnight stop before a day at Silverstone. Was rather surprised the price was still very competitive the night before the start of a biggish meeting at Silverstone (the Classic). We used single rooms, all functions were OK and breakfast was very good and service was extremely attentive. Couldn't recommend this place more for a place for the general area and particularly Silverstone.

Room Tip: Better rooms in the main building, as expected. The coachhouse rooms a little small, but quite OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mconnor042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Crown Hotel in Brackley over the week end to go to silverstone with my wife and friends. The hotel is 10 minutes from the track which made it an ideal location. The rooms were very nicely decorated modern but also keeping its character. The staff and young management were very professional and attentive. Thank you for this lovely week end!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked this hotel then went on trip advisor, reviews overall were not good but we went ahead and stayed there, a very nice clean hotel with helpful staff good food and room very comfortable, downside was the traffic and church bells, we had a room facing the road, it was very hot but couldn't have the windows open!!!
Thank you to the staff for a nice stay

Room Tip: Don't have a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley
8.8 mi away
Travelodge Bicester hotel
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Bicester Cherwell Valley M40
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
431 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brackley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing