We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Uplawmoor Hotel(Uplawmoor)
US$125
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lynnhurst Hotel(Johnstone)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Kilmarnock Hotel(Kilmarnock)(Great Value!)
US$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(Kilmarnock)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxbar Hotel(Kilmarnock)
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
128
63
47
49
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
63
47
49
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburnhouse manorpatelovely mealwedding mealcourse mealfrom start to finishbeautiful countrysidevenueannejackportions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is definitley tired and in need of a good clean from top to bottom. Mould on the walls and ceiling of the bathroom. Dirty marks and stains on the bedroom carpet. Badly stained bath, the shower did'nt work. Cobwebs everywhere.Plastic tea spoons. A filthy cot with no bedding s
supplied. Needless to say the child slept with her parents. Lipstick on the wine glass. Tea and coffee at the breakfast table, but no cups to drink from. Toast but no butter. Oh I could go on and on. Just don't go there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Julie675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyKaskonas, General Manager at Burnhouse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us at Burnhouse Manor Hotel.

We always pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hearty Scottish breakfast at Burnhouse Manor Hotel. We apologise that your experience was not of a high standard and we would have delt with any of the points you have raised now at the time when you stayed.

The head housekeeper has been passed the details of your comments and is devastated that nothing was mentioned at the time of your stay. We have recently put together an audit of the rooms to ensure that none of the issues you have raised occur.

We are undergoing refurbishment in the last remaining bedrooms at the moment as we are a small family hotel we are taking a few rooms at a time to ensure no disruption to our guests.

Thank you again for posting your comments on trip advisor and please contact me direct on katy@halohotels.co.uk to discuss anything further.


Kind regards


Katy Kaskonas
General Manager
Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

lovely high teas and the home baking is delish!

had my wedding at the burnhouse manor (2009) and all ran smoothly! lovely meals as always

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite it lovley and very advisable - if you have time to spend in it! (Its alot of money if your just going straight to bed!) double bath with colour changing lights and tv and also a sitting room. the walk in shower is really good also
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KcMc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyKaskonas, General Manager at Burnhouse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your visit to Burnhouse Manor Hotel.

We are delighted that you Celebrated your Wedding Day with us in 2009 and have been back to sample our Hightea and Delicious Homebaking!

We are always delighted to welcome our Brides and Grooms back!

Kind regards


Katy Kaskonas
General Manager
Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My family and I were at this restaurant for the occasion of my Dad's birthday. We chose the Burnhouse as they had advertised Sunday Carvery in the local paper.
I booked the table for 3pm yet when we arrived had to wait 10minutes and then were told they had to check our table was ready. Went into restaurant to only find another 2 tables of diners. Hardly busy! 4 of us ordered the carvery and 1 ordered the high tea. We had around a 20minute wait for 2 Pate and 1 garlic bread with cheese. Which were just average. We then only waited minutes for the main meals. The high tea meal was lovely, however our Carvery's weren't what a Carvery is supposed to be. They were served from the kitchen as "they weren't busy enough to have the hot plate on". But this was not explained to us until after the meal. We had 3x ham and 1 roast beef. All meals were cold, with the boiled potatoes being the only hot food. We had to send them back to the kitchen, for them to be re-heated in a microwave which only dried the meat up further! We couldn't eat the meat. After clearing the plates the waitress asked what was wrong so we explained. My Dad who had the High Tea was also never offered his tea/coffee and toast we had to ask. We also had to ask for his home baking and we then had to ask to order another dessert. We were constantly asking for cuttlery as well. We were told they would take the cost of the roast beef carvery off the bill. However when the bill arrived they had charged us seperately for the 3 starters which were included in the 2course carvery. I had to question this at the bar only to be told that the £9 charge was the starter for the high tea!!!! My Dad did not even have a starter let alone a £9 starter. This was rectified, we paid the bill and left hungry and frustrated.
My Mother wrote a letter to the hotel owner, however have heard nothing back!!!
Take my advice and do not visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyKaskonas, General Manager at Burnhouse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Burnhouse Manor Hotel on trip advisor and also for sending your letter to Mr and Mrs Peters.

As this was sent to the owners direct, I know that they responded as soon as they were at the hotel the following week and received their mail.

As the letter explains we would be delighted for you to return to the hotel for a complimentary meal when suitable for you.

Please contact me direct to discuss anything further, katy@halohotels.co.uk or 01560 484 006.

Kind regards


Katy Kaskonas
General Manager
Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Attended a celiedh dinner dance, I have been several times before and always enjoyed the food served. Nothing fancy just good honest foood. When we arrived we wanted a bottle of white wine, we didn't want the house wine and there was nothing else chilled to offer us. Infact the choice of any kind of wine, other than house was non-existant.
The set menu was potato and leek soup or melon. the soup was good, the melon poorly prepared and hard.
Mains were rib of beef with yorkshire pudding, chicken in a cream and white wine sauce or salmon. The rib of beef was over cooked and tough, the chicken was the same. Apparently the salmon was nice. The yorkshire pudding that accompanied the beef was inedible, dry and rock hard.
The apple pie or profiteroles to finish were average.
The staff were efficient polite and very helpful. The quality of the food has gone down hill.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnw046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyKaskonas, General Manager at Burnhouse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the event you attended at Burnhouse Manor Hotel.

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their evening and only positive comments regarding service, food and atmosphere was mentioned on the evening to myself.

In addition I am delighted that the event has rebooked with us for next year and take the points that you have mentioned on board.

Kind regards


Katy Kaskonas
General Manager
Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed there last weekend in order to attend a friends wedding which was being held there on the Saturday.

We arrived on friday evening to find the rooms inaccessible due to carpet fitters fitting carpet to all the stairs and landings, they carried on doing this until late in the evening but left us with no carpet on our landing for the night. Wher ecarpets had been finished no-one had bothered to vaccuum up afterwards. Saturday, the day of the wedding, the carpet fitters were back, they were very polite but we were constantly asking to get past as we were up and down the stairs getting stuff ready and it began to feel very awkward. Whilst the wedding was going on you could hear hammering and drilling while they carried on fitting carpets!!

We had a meal there on Friday evening and service was a bit of a shambles as was breakfast in the morning, young lad serving seemed to be on his own doing everything and i mean everyhting, he did his best but just had too much to do. No milk, no glasses for orange juice, took an age to come back with tea and toast etc after being asked. Completely disappeared on Sunday morning without us having been served tea and toast. Again not the lads fault as he obviously just had far too much to do. They were seriously understaffed.

Other than this the wedding did seem to go fine, food was nice and served quickly whilst still hot. Lots of staff were on hand for the wedding but it did seem to take a long time for them to respond to any requests for another glass of wine etc. Very odd thing was the hole in the floor right next to the entrance to the toilets - it had just been carpeted over!! Nearly came a cropper in my heels and after one lady did a chair was put their to stop anyone else from falling over -extraordinary!

Our room -no 2 - bed was awful, 36 hours later my neck and back is still stiff from the appalling bed, about 10 years past its best, you could feel (and hear) every spring! It was clean though, apart from cobwebs! But it was dated.

They were having a wedding fair yesterday (Sunday) and we got the distinct impression all the carpeting was being done for the benefit of this rather than the wedding - madness!

The hotel appears to be undergoing refurbishment at the moment so hopefully some of these issues will be resolved, but I still can't believe the carpet fitters were there hammering away whilst a wedding was being held below. The room was £140 for two nights and was very poor quality for that price, if I had been in the mood for making a fuss I would have argued it but didn't want to spoil things for our friends, the bride and groom. I don't know if they had some money knocked off for all the problems but they certainly deserved it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatyKaskonas, General Manager at Burnhouse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

We always take all customer feedback onboard especially at such an important event.

We have spoken with the Bride's parents and Sister of the Bride who assisted with the organising of the Wedding , regarding your comments as we are extremely devastated to here such remarks when they had an amazing day from start to finish.

This is the second memeber of the family to get married with us at Halo Hotels and we have grown close with the family throughout the organisation process.

They have sent an email to both myself and the owners of the hotel to confirm that they thoroughly enjoyed their day and were thankful to all of the staff for everything that they did for them.

One of the Hotel Managers also attended the Wedding throughout as a guest and created the floral centrepieces for the event, they were also shocked at the points you have made.

I understand that you did not want to discuss any of the items that you have mentioned in your review to myself or any other managers on duty at the time incase you were to spoil the Bride and Groom's Day but I truly hope that posting a review with a number of misleading items may infact taint a Wonderful Day.

Kind regards


Katy Kaskonas
General Manager
Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews