We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and pleasant stay - would recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranford B&B and Inns
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great staff and pleasant stay - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had three nights and negotiated the dual bus/underground travel into London on two of the days, basically we had chosen Cottage Guest House to be close to where we picked up the hire car on the 3rd day! All was good, Manager very obliging and helpful, Ladies in breakfast room were great and selection for breakfast was good.

Ambiance is lovely with gardens, the outlook from breakfast room is good and the room was adequate for 3 adults, safe and clean and quiet. London is not a cheap destination at any time and this was a lesser expense than staying in London proper. All booked and paid for prior to leaving home.

Not many dining options around, walked to Queens Head (i think it was called) down the road for dinner on the first night - it was open for drinking but closed to outsiders dining as there was a function. other options are quite a trek away and bus is required. Other nights we were out and about sightseeing and ate prior to coming back to lodging.

Oyster Card (pre-purchased prior to leaving home) came in handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inmyhumbleopinion55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    37
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
32
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked this place for one night near Heathrow. Secure parking was a plus, but the facility was tired. The garden area was lovely and everything was clean and functional. For one night it was good, but a bit tight and furnishings a bit tired if you were staying for a longer time period. Breakfast was ok, though ordering was difficult due to language issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Cottage Guest House and enjoyed our stay and found the place to be good value for money, especially since a full English breakfast was included in the deal.

Another plus is it's proximity to Heathrow - a bonus after a long flight.

The downside is that it's location means a combination of bus and tube to get into the centre of London so allow about 45 minutes to an hour to get into town.

The buses run from just around the corner, so it's not a biggie transport wise, and this is more than compensated for by the savings in accommodation costs.

Also, don't plan on having your evening meal in Cranford, as there is not much to choose from.

We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.



Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ontourusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The cottage is a bit off the main road and it has a closed yard that include a parking space, a garden, and two separate accommodation spaces: a main building and six separate deluxe double rooms, overlooking the lovely inner garden. We had one of these deluxe double rooms and we've been really delighted to be there. The space is very nice decorated, in a country house style, it's very clean, and includes facilities to have tea or coffee. A refrigerator is also available. They are kind of small, so be aware of that if you have a lot of luggage. For two people with 2 large bags, it's more than enough room though. The main building is more crowded, and more noisy. The breakfast space is inside this building.

The staff and the owner are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is ok, for a day or two, but for a long stay as ours (8 nights) it is impossible to have. It includes: fruit juice, sunny-side up eggs, beef sausages, hash brown, tomatoes, mushrooms, and baked beans (out of the can though), tea or coffee, and corn flakes with milk. However, in my opinion the quality of the breakfast (both as a whole and the ingredients) doesn't match the quality of everything else.

The location of the cottage is good for Heathrow and some other attractions (Hampton Palace, Windsor), but it takes quite a while (more than one hour) to get downtown. If you are on a tight schedule, be aware that the tube can be even more than an hour blocked somewhere between stations. During our 8 days stays, we had experienced 3 such experiences, one in a day we were in a hurry because we had to give a presentation to a conference (we almost missed it :(.

One last thing to say, for long stays one might get a discount if contacts the owner directly with the contact data from their website. We did it and Timmy has been very helpful with that. Another detail that might be unpleasant for some (us included) is that they charged as from the first day with all the amount of money for the whole stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the separate deluxe double rooms, they are lovely and quieter than the ones in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddleston, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife arrived early in the day (we were flying in from different locations) and the staff worked hard to get her in the room quickly. She had to wait for about an hour before the room was ready. We had coordinated this several weeks in advance that she would be arriving earlier in the day with the group at the Cottage Guest house. Breakfast was good. We stayed two nights and the wi-fi never worked in the room. We had to take our devices to the lobby and breakfast to check email etc. We told the staff and they said they turned off the router and turned it back on... it didn't help. Anyway, nothing was bad, but nothing was spectacular. In the end it was clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We to stay at the Cottage B&B where we were immediately welcomed and given a large spacious room. The decor was bright and the beds were very comfortable. There was never a problem, yet, as we had tickets for a show- a time difficulty-we would not be back till late we would be back after eleven o'clock- the time the B&B shuts. No problem sir we will wait up for you. The fully cooked breakfast was great and stoked you up for the day. I would highly recommend this B&B

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Not the most stylish, the room was a little small, but the bed was comfortable, the entire premises appeared clean, and the water was hot, but unfortunately so was the room … just a little warm for us (and that was with the window left ajar during the night).

We stayed in a standard room in the main building, and heard no noise from adjoining rooms.

Breakfast was a choice of full/cooked or Continental … and unlike another reviewer, our full English breakfast was huge (toast, 2 eggs, 2 sausages, etc, everything but bacon).


We were very happy with what we received for the price we paid through Agoda.com which was much cheaper than the hotel’s published rack rate.

Our GPS had no problem finding the place and we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranford
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Skyline Hotel London Heathrow
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Heathrow Hotel
2.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Guest House

Property: The Cottage Guest House
Address: Guest House 150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Cranford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Guest House Hotel Cranford
The Cottage Guest House Cranford, Greater London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing