We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in Room 6 with our dog (from 24/3/12). The staff were without exception all superb and made you feel very welcome, from the minute they helped you to your room with your bags to the coffee on the house before we left. Food great and prices reasonable. Can't recommend it enough for anyone looking for a quiet weekend in the country with walks on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 11 have recently been refurbished. Room 4 is a particularly good size (although we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    93
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
87
271
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Overnight stay last weekend (16/03/12). Last minute decision. We had visited the hotel many years ago and decided to revisit. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food, well presented and served by young enthusiastic waiting staff. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast - not kept warm under a 'sunlamp'! Fresh fruit, pastries, etc. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Hotel has bags of character unlike many modern 'plastic' hotels. Well worth a visit and only a short drive from Gleneagles.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is lovely!! Lovely little cosy rooms to relax, with log fires!! Amazing food!!!!
Only slight dissappointment was the dog rooms are nothing like the lovely rooms which are advertised on the website and are the same price!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012 via mobile

We suddenly found ourselves free on a Sunday and fancied somewhere new (for us). Have driven past this hotel many times, but never gone in. Suffice to say that it will now feature regularly in our dining out schedule! Lovely food, fresh and plentiful, with delightful staff - and, what's more, very good value too. Worth booking, as it was pretty busy when we went. Warmly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Overnight stay last Saturday with my husband and our friends. Have passed this hotel frequently over many years and although we had a meal a few years ago, we always promised we would stay for a weekend as it's such a pretty and welcoming place - it didn't disappoint! Our room was small but perfectly formed, our friends' room was much larger but both were extremely comfortable, with all the comforts of tea and coffee making, toiletries, box of tissues etc. (One tip - no shower cap, but luckily I had one in my toilet bag) Evening meal was perfectly delicious, no complaints at all, and the staff, although worked off their feet as it was so busy, were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with gorgeous fresh fruit on offer, as well as the usual full Scottish, etc. We went for a walk after checking out and leaving our car in the car park, then returned a couple of hours later and asked if there was any chance of coffee. Even though the chap was obviously very busy preparing for the lunch crowd, it was "no bother" and was brought outside to us where we were sitting in the very unusually warm March sunshine. I would have no problem reccomending this hotel to anyone, the friendliest and prettiest hotel I've stayed in a long time.

Room Tip: We were in room one, which was quite small but perfect for one night. maybe not so good for a longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossiFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

A really friendly and welcoming hotel with a really good standard of accomodation and excellent restaurant. From the friendly welcome to the lovely food and lovely location I would recommend the Tormaukin very highly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A quick afternoon snack turned into a filling "meal" and an excellent relaxed welcome from the already-busy staff. We arrived just as the Sunday lunch was over (and it was extremely busy); we enjoyed a drink in the bar, then much later (having read some of the local magazines and relaxed by the wood-burning stove) we decided to have a sandwich. Beautifully served on freshly-cut bread with parsnip crisps and a dressed salad, washed down with a great coffee, we were set up for the day (and in fact didn't need a full supper later!). All this time, the still-busy staff were friendly and professional throughout. We are, of course, now planning a return trip for either a lunch or dinner in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
22.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing