We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tormaukin, simply the best”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tormaukin, simply the best”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We arrived at the Tormaukin for the start of our 35th wedding anniversary away weekend and it is like going home, it is a most chilled place to relax in, we had a great lunch and then went into the 17th centuary bar and sat by the roaring log fire. The little waitress Marie who was near enough nine months pregnant wirled around like a dervish serving everyomne in the most pleasant manner ever. The whole staff were of the highest calibre and the evening meal was out of this world. I had ordered white lilly`s for my wife and they were laid out in our lovely 17th centaru room decorated to the highest standard. The roll top bath was great to have a long soak in and the sun streamed in our day window. The bed was really comfortable and we had a most enjoyable sleep. The breakfast the next morning was superb abd yes Marie was around like a little mother hen ensuring everyone was looked after. I would recommend anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: No 11 it has a bay window and a lovely roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    94
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
90
276
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bannockburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Easter Sunday lunch at Tormaukin was a pleasure, great menu and food to match. All the young staff were friendly and very attentive with gracious manners. Will be back !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSmith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just returned from a 2-night stay at the Tormaukin. It was to celebrate my husbands' birthday and it was to be a surprise. All the hotel staff conspired with me to keep it a secret and couldn't have been more helpful, they really made it a special day! As usual the food was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful and the room was so comfortable, we could have stayed for a week. If you need a quiet time away from it all, in a place with lots of character and charming, attentive staff. you will find it here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a little on the small side for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a great find! We had a 2 night stay this weekend & would thoroughly recommend it. Really welcoming staff & nothing a bother to them. We were shown to our room in the annexe, which was perfectly acceptable, although if we come back, we'd prefer to be in the main hotel. The shower was the worst part of our stay - couldn't get pressure & had difficulty turning it on and off. Food was absolutely superb - ate in both nights & didn't disappoint. Breakfast also very good & freshly cooked with a good choice. If in area, would definitely return.

Room Tip: Would try to get a room in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in Room 6 with our dog (from 24/3/12). The staff were without exception all superb and made you feel very welcome, from the minute they helped you to your room with your bags to the coffee on the house before we left. Food great and prices reasonable. Can't recommend it enough for anyone looking for a quiet weekend in the country with walks on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 11 have recently been refurbished. Room 4 is a particularly good size (although we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Overnight stay last weekend (16/03/12). Last minute decision. We had visited the hotel many years ago and decided to revisit. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food, well presented and served by young enthusiastic waiting staff. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast - not kept warm under a 'sunlamp'! Fresh fruit, pastries, etc. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Hotel has bags of character unlike many modern 'plastic' hotels. Well worth a visit and only a short drive from Gleneagles.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGfalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel is lovely!! Lovely little cosy rooms to relax, with log fires!! Amazing food!!!!
Only slight dissappointment was the dog rooms are nothing like the lovely rooms which are advertised on the website and are the same price!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.8 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
6.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing