We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tormaukin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagles(Auchterarder)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Muirs Inn(Kinross)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
368
108
33
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
108
33
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely little hotelfantastic foodsea bassfor sunday lunchmain buildingnew ownersrooms are comfortableroaring firefriendly hotelbed and breakfastdining roomstayed one nightboth nightsfirst classfantastic stayshort breakdog
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. Had looked at the pictures and menu online and was impressed and the reality easily surpassed this. Beautiful location, gorgeous building, stunning rooms and the staff are so friendly and attentive. The Michelin star restaurant is a must if you stay here. Fantastic choice and the standard is out of this world. Also easily one of the nicest breakfasts i have ever had in a hotel. 2 nights ( £70 per night ) plus all drinks ( to be fair not a huge amount ) plus two 2 course meals for 2 with coffee and wine was £274. Will absolutely be back,

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful but I think any one of them would be of the same standard.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hi Julie, delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, hope to welcome you back in the future!

All the best,
Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Alas we only stayed one night. We loved this place the staff are warm and friendly and gave us and the dogs a sincere welcome.
We were in room 3 which was cosy and comfortable, the bathroom was quite small and perhaps a little tired but I believe the room is due for refurbishment and having seen other rooms it will be very nice when done.
The atmosphere is homley and comfortable with log fires in the dining room , bar and louge area all refurbished with great taste with comfort and relaxation in mind.
The food is outstanding and original and yes good size portions with a good choice of wines, budget around £60 for two courses for two pax with a bottle of wine, worth every penny and breakfast was one of the best available.
I was pleased with all that was offered for the room rate and with everything else the hotel offers it is a great find and one which we hope to repeat but for longer.
The walking is realtively easy but that choice is up to each individual but within a few minutes you will find yourself far from the madening crowds and what a nice place to return to to put your feet up. I would like to give the Tormaukin a score of 6 rather than 5. Try it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a reasonable size with a smallish bathroom, there are no views but honestly for the rate we could not expect more and the general facitities are so good there is no need to be in your room other than to sleep and change.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorshamPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on trying to offer the best value experience we can, no good comes from having a guest feel they have been charged over the odds! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.

All the best, Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This review only covers the restaurant so I make no comment on the rooms. We were staying at a well known nearby hotel and were recommended this eatery for lunch. It most certainly did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome and were promptly seated in the conservatory. The service was very friendly and efficient. The food lived up to our expectations, especially the fillets of sea bass on a bed of cullen skink risotto with fresh asparagus. All perfectly cooked and complementing one another. The wine list is frankly a bit limited though there were specials available on a blackboard at greater cost. Good coffee but home made petits fours would have been nice rather than those awful biscuits in clear plastic packets. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finisterre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Glad you enjoyed your trip to the Tormaukin, the sea bass has been a big success ever since we introduced it to our menu. Our wine list is in the process of being updated, we try and stock a wide variety of wines, and our specials are constantly rotating, however we try and shy away from having large numbers of wines that may end up just sitting in our cellar for months on end. Next time you are in ask to speak to Fraser, and if you have something specific you would like to see i can see about getting in as a special (and if it does well it may graduate to the main list!). All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We chose to celebrate a special occasion at the Tormaukin because of its excellent reputation for food. Our experience was quite different and we are left feeling baffled by such a marked contrast.

The evening got off to a poor start when we were seated at a table in the restaurant area literally feet away from a roaring log fire - wonderful to look at from a reasonable distance but not to sit in front of for a whole meal. Our faces were burning within minutes of being seated and I asked if we could move table. The waiting staff were happy to move us but there were no other tables free at that moment. The situation was saved by a very kind couple seated at an adjacent table who overheard the conversation and offered to move to the bar area to eat their desert! The lady commented that she couldn't have coped with sitting so close to such fierce heat either and sympathised with us having been seated there.

We chose from the Valentine's menu and whilst my starter of beetroot gravalax was excellent, we thought the rest of the meal was extremely poor. My husband described his starter of crab and fennel fishcake as watery and completely tasteless. It was also served without any accompaniment, just one fishcake in the middle of a large plate. We both opted for the guinea fowl, puy lentils and potatoes dauphinoise for our main course. It looked fabulous but we found it completely tasteless apart from the sauce, which left an unpleasant aftertaste. We both had the chocolate tart for dessert and again were very disappointed. The pastry was so tough we struggled to break it, while the filling was not particularly pleasant.

We commented to the waitress (who provided very good service) that we had not enjoyed the meal. She conveyed this to the chef who responded that he was 'disappointed' that we hadn't enjoyed it. Unsatisfied with this response, my husband subsequently emailed the Manager of the hotel who apologised for the fact that we hadn't enjoyed the meal, but commented that 'there is nothing we could have done to make the food any different...' The response finished by saying that 'We and our regular guests are happy with our ever changing menus and the only issues we have are trying to fit everyone in who books." We found this response quite smug, but it does perhaps go some way to explaining why our table was squeezed in so tightly in front of the log fire.

We are not regular complainers and this is the first time I have written a review and the first time my husband has written a letter of complaint about a meal. So it takes a lot for us to take such action, but apart from our annoyance at having to pay £50 (excluding coffee and drinks) for what we considered to be such a poor meal, we are above all left feeling that our very special occasion was ruined by this experience.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

On arrival on a cold dreary afternoon we were greeted warmly by smiling staff and huge roaring toastie log fires throughout the Inn, we enjoyed a warming glass of shiraz by the fire before we checked in. cosy very comfortable couches.we were offered a table for dinner but declined as we hadnt decided what we were doing but as the evening progressed and we seen the menu and restaurant we decided it was a must! all locally sorced produce and a stunning menu. our room was room 7 in the stable block ( all rooms within hotel were booked) and it worked out perfect as we are smokers and our room was in an outdoor corridor perfect for a ciggy! the room was toastie on arrival andspotless spacoius with a sofa and a bed. a nice size tv and plenty of storage , tea coffee shortbread and mineral water. the bathroom had bath and shower and nice wee toiletries for a lovley bubble bath after a nice walk to admire the stunning scenery. we returned to bar around 8.30 and hadnt booked a table and we couldnt beleive how busy the place had become! we were given a menu and sat once again by log fire and broused the menu. we were seated within ten minutes in the coservatory (very classy) and enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal very unusual menu to choose from but everything cooked to perfection. breakfast next morning was in another room once again with a stunning roaring fire in the centre, so welcoming as were the staff. cold buffet of everything and hot cooked breakfast to order. best breakfast ever! superb. so if your considering this wee gem of an inn dont! just book it. perfect for a get away from it all stay.cant fault anything. and the value is fab. cant wait to go back and will be staying 2 nights next time.!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hi Julie, delighted you have enjoyed your stay at the Tormaukin, it always amazes us how the restaurant can go from quiet to mobbed in the space of 5 minutes too, it always keeps us on our toes! We try and keep a good mix of classics and more unusual foods on our menu, so theres usually something for everyone. Hope to meet you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews