We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Went for Dinner with my wife and daughters having been put up there as a guest earlier in the year and liked what I saw.

Four of us ate, including one vegetarian and one dairy free and we all thought the food was outstanding. The décor and service is just right, we will be back.

Best steak I have had in a while, fish very good too.

As a Scot great to see smaller establishments like this getting it right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi Keith, delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. We are always happy to cater for people with different dietary requirements, it gives the front of house staff a great chance to put the chefs on the spot and see what they really can do!

Hope to see you again in the future,
All the best, Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    93
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
88
271
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Been going To the Tor for more years than I know.Has never let us down current owners have right mix of approach service and food is lovely.Will continue to frequent the Tor for what they deliver....Allways hard these days to find a place which offers good service with good food,which they do

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi John,

very happy to see you continue to enjoy visiting the Tormaukin, look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Well where do I start. Working in the area on a six week contract right from the start we where made welcome by Dave and all his lovely staff showed us to our very cosy rooms in the stable block which was going to be home for the next six weeks. Then for dinner wow what a treat that was. We had a big set menu to choose from and special's thrown in when Dave was in the mood and that was most nites lol and a pint thrown in some night's. The breakfast was to die for and a big variety on buffet bar could not fault a thing apart from the porrige we got the day the boss was away but I can assure he more than made up for it when he found out.
On the morning's we had to leave early there was a packed lunch ready for us with big sandwich of your choice and much more. You always got a warm welcome at nites when you got in from along hard day's work and the banter fae the three old manies in the corner was good thanks Jeff , Mr Jones and Bob. So I think that's why the contract lasted twelve weeks . So once again a big thank you to all at the tormaukin keep up the good work and I will be back

Room Tip: The stable's are quiet and out of the main hotel so you don't disturb the rest of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iainandrews39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi guys,

hope your new contracts got you staying at a good hotel again, hopefully see you at some time in the future, the old mannies in the corner need some fresh banter again!

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. Had looked at the pictures and menu online and was impressed and the reality easily surpassed this. Beautiful location, gorgeous building, stunning rooms and the staff are so friendly and attentive. The Michelin star restaurant is a must if you stay here. Fantastic choice and the standard is out of this world. Also easily one of the nicest breakfasts i have ever had in a hotel. 2 nights ( £70 per night ) plus all drinks ( to be fair not a huge amount ) plus two 2 course meals for 2 with coffee and wine was £274. Will absolutely be back,

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful but I think any one of them would be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi Julie, delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, hope to welcome you back in the future!

All the best,
Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HORSHAM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Alas we only stayed one night. We loved this place the staff are warm and friendly and gave us and the dogs a sincere welcome.
We were in room 3 which was cosy and comfortable, the bathroom was quite small and perhaps a little tired but I believe the room is due for refurbishment and having seen other rooms it will be very nice when done.
The atmosphere is homley and comfortable with log fires in the dining room , bar and louge area all refurbished with great taste with comfort and relaxation in mind.
The food is outstanding and original and yes good size portions with a good choice of wines, budget around £60 for two courses for two pax with a bottle of wine, worth every penny and breakfast was one of the best available.
I was pleased with all that was offered for the room rate and with everything else the hotel offers it is a great find and one which we hope to repeat but for longer.
The walking is realtively easy but that choice is up to each individual but within a few minutes you will find yourself far from the madening crowds and what a nice place to return to to put your feet up. I would like to give the Tormaukin a score of 6 rather than 5. Try it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a reasonable size with a smallish bathroom, there are no views but honestly for the rate w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorshamPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on trying to offer the best value experience we can, no good comes from having a guest feel they have been charged over the odds! We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.

All the best, Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This review only covers the restaurant so I make no comment on the rooms. We were staying at a well known nearby hotel and were recommended this eatery for lunch. It most certainly did not disappoint. We received a warm welcome and were promptly seated in the conservatory. The service was very friendly and efficient. The food lived up to our expectations, especially the fillets of sea bass on a bed of cullen skink risotto with fresh asparagus. All perfectly cooked and complementing one another. The wine list is frankly a bit limited though there were specials available on a blackboard at greater cost. Good coffee but home made petits fours would have been nice rather than those awful biscuits in clear plastic packets. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finisterre72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser_Tormaukin, Manager at Tormaukin, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Glad you enjoyed your trip to the Tormaukin, the sea bass has been a big success ever since we introduced it to our menu. Our wine list is in the process of being updated, we try and stock a wide variety of wines, and our specials are constantly rotating, however we try and shy away from having large numbers of wines that may end up just sitting in our cellar for months on end. Next time you are in ask to speak to Fraser, and if you have something specific you would like to see i can see about getting in as a special (and if it does well it may graduate to the main list!). All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We chose to celebrate a special occasion at the Tormaukin because of its excellent reputation for food. Our experience was quite different and we are left feeling baffled by such a marked contrast.

The evening got off to a poor start when we were seated at a table in the restaurant area literally feet away from a roaring log fire - wonderful to look at from a reasonable distance but not to sit in front of for a whole meal. Our faces were burning within minutes of being seated and I asked if we could move table. The waiting staff were happy to move us but there were no other tables free at that moment. The situation was saved by a very kind couple seated at an adjacent table who overheard the conversation and offered to move to the bar area to eat their desert! The lady commented that she couldn't have coped with sitting so close to such fierce heat either and sympathised with us having been seated there.

We chose from the Valentine's menu and whilst my starter of beetroot gravalax was excellent, we thought the rest of the meal was extremely poor. My husband described his starter of crab and fennel fishcake as watery and completely tasteless. It was also served without any accompaniment, just one fishcake in the middle of a large plate. We both opted for the guinea fowl, puy lentils and potatoes dauphinoise for our main course. It looked fabulous but we found it completely tasteless apart from the sauce, which left an unpleasant aftertaste. We both had the chocolate tart for dessert and again were very disappointed. The pastry was so tough we struggled to break it, while the filling was not particularly pleasant.

We commented to the waitress (who provided very good service) that we had not enjoyed the meal. She conveyed this to the chef who responded that he was 'disappointed' that we hadn't enjoyed it. Unsatisfied with this response, my husband subsequently emailed the Manager of the hotel who apologised for the fact that we hadn't enjoyed the meal, but commented that 'there is nothing we could have done to make the food any different...' The response finished by saying that 'We and our regular guests are happy with our ever changing menus and the only issues we have are trying to fit everyone in who books." We found this response quite smug, but it does perhaps go some way to explaining why our table was squeezed in so tightly in front of the log fire.

We are not regular complainers and this is the first time I have written a review and the first time my husband has written a letter of complaint about a meal. So it takes a lot for us to take such action, but apart from our annoyance at having to pay £50 (excluding coffee and drinks) for what we considered to be such a poor meal, we are above all left feeling that our very special occasion was ruined by this experience.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairn Lodge Hotel
Cairn Lodge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
22.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Property: Tormaukin
Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing