We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry we dont have a room!!”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a planned trip to stay at the Tormaukin with 7 other family/friends to attend a wedding reception. We arrived to be told that they had received our booking but a member of staff had inputted the wrong arrival date of stay into the computer..... I knew the date I booked was correct as I had printed off the confirmation. They also had a copy of the confirmation and they said yes it was for the date I had booked but the problem had been that their staff had made a mistake and they were sorry but they were full and had no rooms as they were full.
They sat us down while another staff member went onto the internet to find us another hotel...On another ocassion this may have been acceptable but we really wanted to be with other members of our party at the hotel we had booked so we were not delighted that we had to move.
I had looked on the internet before I booked and I chose this hotel as it was small and cosy and within a short distance from our evening venue.
They chose another hotel and informed us it was right on the other side of the area we were in and they handed me an envelope with the difference in money which would pay for the new hotel. We had traveled for hours to get there and were not impressed to have to travel again to the new hotel and drive all the way back to go to our evening venue...
We eventually found the hotel in Kinross it was exactly what we would not have chosen as our choice of hotel... Instead of being small and cosy it was very large, with many bars and restaurants and leisure facilities...We were so disappointed but as we were tired and now late for our reception we had no choice but to stay.
On explaining to the staff at our new hotel they were lovely and very understanding and gave us care and consideration on booking in and showed us to our rooms.

Really disappointed that a small hotel with very few rooms can make mistakes with on line bookings.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on the above as we never got to see the rooms or the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed Bed and breakfast and I would highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were clean, comfy and very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant, the menu was imaginative and delicious and reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and was beside an open fire. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stay in the Tormaukin Hotel on Business for 17 years there is ALWAYS a very special welcome new staff and old, Dave & Lesley and the TEAM I must not forget Geoff are a CREDIT to the Hotel Profession and Scotland. Chef Martin and his TEAM are Passionate about LOCALY produced products The staff are amazing nothing is to much trouble
I would fully recommend an absolutely amazing experience
(TOTALLY REFRESHING)
WELL DONE TORMAUKIN

STAR RATING XXXXX

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the beginning of this month. Tormaukin was top of my list as I'd read about the roaring fires! I wasn't disappointed. Really pleased overall. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, for instance when we asked for a route for a good walk a young man walked with us half way down the road to point out the best paths to take.
The room was nicely decorated (only tiny irk was that the shower was very difficult to keep at a constant temperature, but nothing enough to complain about!).
We had lunch on arrival - soup and a huge sandwich, both were very tasty. Dinner in the evening was traditional, hearty fare, definitely recommended! Once again good service, and we left as two very full, satisfied diners!
The inclusive breakfast is also very good - far better than most hotels where they charge!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellybeanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Perfectly presented hotel with well decorated rooms. The staff are friendly and very helpful with info on the local area. Complimentary toiletries were a nice touch along with the bathrobes in the bathroom!

The breakfast was lovely and great value overall for the stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We wanted a fairly local hotel for a one night treat and noticed the fabulous B&B offer that this hotel was offering. We were not disappointed. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by the staff and a lovely real fire in the 'lobby', and shown to room 6 which was really cosy and warm. Very clean, a lovely bathroom and a great feature wall. we had a great value and quality meal in the restaurant (which was busy so a good sign) - 2 starters of smoked trout and pigeon breast, mains of pork belly and sea bass fillets and desserts of cheesecake and crème brulee. All excellent with great service. The following morning's breakfast was freshly cooked with a great range of choice including smoked haddock. Compliments to the owners and staff - this place deserves to do really well.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely. The road is not very busy for rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'd visited the Tormaukin on several occasions whilst on business in central Scotland and told my wife all about the friendly staff and great food. As I'm obviously a bit slow in arranging short breaks, she decided to book a week-end at the Tormaukin, so off we went in beautiful Autumn weather in the second week-end of November. Having raved about this little hide-away, I was a slightly concerned that I may have slightly over-stated how good it is, but I shouldn't have worried.

My wife enjoyed the stay, the banter, the food and the beautiful hill-top walks just as much as I have always done; the dog settled down for a week-end in front of the log-burner in the Bar, and made friends with everyone!

The food in the restaurant is superb, covering every type of local meat & fish (the smoked trout starter should not be missed) and discussing it afterward with Martin, the Chef, in the Bar after service is finished adds a lot to the experience.

Dave & Lesley, the owners, produce wonderful breakfasts and do all they can to make you feel at home.

Next trip, we're taking the in-laws!

I've read the odd review mentioning slow service at the Tormaukin; I'd rather describe it as relaxed and friendly, and that's why we want to keep going back!

Room Tip: The only tip I can offer to help choose a good room is to book as early as you can, because the good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J100CJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
797 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,526 reviews
6.5 mi away
Whitemoss Lodge
Whitemoss Lodge
#1 of 3 in Dunning
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#9 of 12 in Auchterarder
58 reviews
13.6 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
6.8 mi away
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
Smiddy Haugh Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberuthven
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range: £47 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing