We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife, daughter and one of her friends have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Tormaukin Hotel and had a wonderful stay.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and with us having our dog with us, were very accommodating.
The food was excellent and again if something wasn't on that nights menu, they again accommodated our requests.
A first class experience all round.
The 2 rooms were in the stable block and were clean and warm.
We will certainly going back.

Room Tip: If you have a dog with you, you can eat in the bar area. Reserve the table next to the window, as th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Tormaukin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Called in to the Tormaukin Hotel for a quick Saturday lunch. We used to frequent this place years ago and have enjoyed the food many times. In times passed you had to reserve tables at lunchtime ...should have seen the empty tables !....anyway - good help at reception- shown to dining room to make free choice of a table. Good, punctual ordering and then a long long wait. Never mind, its usually worth it.so we thought ....perhaps they are cooking the casserole from scratch....they say the cook everything fresh..obviously not everything....can do a casserole in half an hour can you? So eventually, our meals arrived. What a disappointment: a few scoops of dry beef stew with a few carrots and I think a piece of something like parsnip, a "piece" of flaky crust obviously cooked separately, and a wee (very wee) basket of potato chips. I expected a serving of vegetables to have been included - perhaps to be brought seperately - no - No other vegetables brought or on offer. Served just as I described. £25 or thereabouts for 2 servings . Very poor value. Not recommended. Never returning. I advise you to take heed and avoid this place until pretense and "riding on a reputation" is replaced by the serving of decent plates of food. Sorry!

Room Tip: Go to another restaurant for good food!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

A safe "go to" choice when in the area. We went in January having not been for about six months. It was busy, buzzy with a great atmosphere. Lots of staff all of whom knew what they were doing and very friendly. A pretty big menu with some pretty diverse options. If I ever have a niggle it is that sometimes the menu is written better than it tastes but at the end of the day it is very good and very busy and that is more than enough to go out of your way and go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Innspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a planned trip to stay at the Tormaukin with 7 other family/friends to attend a wedding reception. We arrived to be told that they had received our booking but a member of staff had inputted the wrong arrival date of stay into the computer..... I knew the date I booked was correct as I had printed off the confirmation. They also had a copy of the confirmation and they said yes it was for the date I had booked but the problem had been that their staff had made a mistake and they were sorry but they were full and had no rooms as they were full.
They sat us down while another staff member went onto the internet to find us another hotel...On another ocassion this may have been acceptable but we really wanted to be with other members of our party at the hotel we had booked so we were not delighted that we had to move.
I had looked on the internet before I booked and I chose this hotel as it was small and cosy and within a short distance from our evening venue.
They chose another hotel and informed us it was right on the other side of the area we were in and they handed me an envelope with the difference in money which would pay for the new hotel. We had traveled for hours to get there and were not impressed to have to travel again to the new hotel and drive all the way back to go to our evening venue...
We eventually found the hotel in Kinross it was exactly what we would not have chosen as our choice of hotel... Instead of being small and cosy it was very large, with many bars and restaurants and leisure facilities...We were so disappointed but as we were tired and now late for our reception we had no choice but to stay.
On explaining to the staff at our new hotel they were lovely and very understanding and gave us care and consideration on booking in and showed us to our rooms.

Really disappointed that a small hotel with very few rooms can make mistakes with on line bookings.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on the above as we never got to see the rooms or the rest of the hotel.
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed Bed and breakfast and I would highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were clean, comfy and very nice. We had dinner in the restaurant, the menu was imaginative and delicious and reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning was lovely and was beside an open fire. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geraldine2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stay in the Tormaukin Hotel on Business for 17 years there is ALWAYS a very special welcome new staff and old, Dave & Lesley and the TEAM I must not forget Geoff are a CREDIT to the Hotel Profession and Scotland. Chef Martin and his TEAM are Passionate about LOCALY produced products The staff are amazing nothing is to much trouble
I would fully recommend an absolutely amazing experience
(TOTALLY REFRESHING)
WELL DONE TORMAUKIN

STAR RATING XXXXX

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the beginning of this month. Tormaukin was top of my list as I'd read about the roaring fires! I wasn't disappointed. Really pleased overall. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, for instance when we asked for a route for a good walk a young man walked with us half way down the road to point out the best paths to take.
The room was nicely decorated (only tiny irk was that the shower was very difficult to keep at a constant temperature, but nothing enough to complain about!).
We had lunch on arrival - soup and a huge sandwich, both were very tasty. Dinner in the evening was traditional, hearty fare, definitely recommended! Once again good service, and we left as two very full, satisfied diners!
The inclusive breakfast is also very good - far better than most hotels where they charge!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellybeanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
777 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
7.8 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
356 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing