We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of Tormaukin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tormaukin
Ranked #1 of 1 Glendevon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a lovely lunch with friends at this beautiful little hotel. The situation is gorgeous. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was delicious with generous helpings. Will certainly return. Look forward to booking a weekend break here later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have now been to this lovely hotel several times in the last few years.
It is a real hidden gem which comes in at a fraction of the cost of its famous near neighbour, the Gleneagles Hotel.
One night bed and breakfast for the two of us at this historic property came in at only £100 in total.
Tormaukin Hotel is situated in a beautiful valley more like the Scottish Highlands than central Scotland.
We hadn't been there recently and, as always, you are anxious to see if the standards have been kept up. I can report that there are no worries on that front.
The first plus point is dogs are allowed at this hotel and there are no charges for them. Too many hotels these days either ban dogs or see them as some sort of cash cow and charge £20 per dog per night.
The staff were genuinely happy to see us on our arrival from Aberdeen on a fantastic sunny spring day.
We sat on the seats outside with a drink and were able to chill out with our dogs.
We had a bowl of homemade soup each with bread and that only came to £3.50 a head. The staff were also happy to provide us with a bowl of water for the dogs.
Then it was off on a walk on the tracks beside the hotel. It's a real step back in time strolling along these paths. So relaxing.
Our room at the Tormaukin Hotel was in the main building and there was no shortage of space with a double and a single bed.
I had prawn cocktail and then steak pie for my dinner and they were both first class. My wife only wanted two starters and the staff were happy to do this. The total bill for the food at dinner came to less than £30, which was a real bargain.
We had an early night, as it had been a busy day.
We woke early next morning and, after a hearty cooked breakfast and another walk with the dogs, we were on our way back home to Aberdeen.
The only negative about the location is the road is very narrow and there are no pavements. Add in the usual nutter motorists who think they are Stirling Moss and you have to be careful when out and about.
But, despite this small concern, we're already looking forward to going back to Glendevon later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed with our 19-month old in the main hotel (travel cot was provided on request). Lovely room - clean, tastefully decorated with the beams on show & stone fireplace, modern shower room. Restaurant was great during our evening meal - the food was delicious & very reasonable portions! Very comfy beds - room was warm enough for our little girl to sleep well & with just 1 cover (at home she needs 2 or 3). Breakfast was equally delicious - choice of fresh fruits, cereal, yoghurts & a hot menu cooked to order (black pudding was spot on!). Staff were friendly & professional and happy to help with any requests. Shame we were only staying for 1 night - will definately be returning & for longer next time!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Soozy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were a party of 6 doing a long distance walk. Made very welcome, even with our muddy boots, food was delicious and the rooms every comfortable with bathrobes being and additional bonus. A small selection of local ales was a bonus.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room directly above the lounge if you want to go to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An overnight stop on the way to the north of Scotland. Earlier reviews of the hotel were favourable and after an enjoyable stay we are pleased to support them.
The staff were friendly, courteous and efficient, the bedroom was comfortable and quiet and the dinner in the bar was excellent.
The bar had a lovely welcoming log fire and it was good to talk to local people who use the pub regularly. A good pint of beer and an inexpensive but beautfully presented meal set the standard. The room we occupied, was above the bar and faced the main road but we were not disturbed.
Breakfast was again good, and full marks for having smoked haddock on the menu!
We are pleased to recommend the Tormaukin and also lolk flrward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamHoward89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stopped at the hotel at lunchtime today and thought I would give it a go. On entering hotel received a good warm welcome and took a seat in the bar. The two lunch menu's offered a good variety and were very well priced. I opted for a sandwich from the light lunch menu. I had no complaints, best sandwich I've bought in many a year. Good food and service what more do you want.
I will be back to stay a night for a proper dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JR8531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived at the Hotel on Friday night to a warm welcome from the very friendly and helpful staff. The room was small but very nice, comfortable and with everything we needed.
Breakfast was great and the staff did everything they could to make us feel comfortable and happy. No negatives at all. A nice hotel, well presented, clean and with a great team. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room (last one available) and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glendevon
4.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
786 reviews
7.9 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
359 reviews
12.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#4 of 6 in Kinross
781 reviews
6.0 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#9 of 12 in Auchterarder
58 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tormaukin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tormaukin

Address: Tormaukin House Main Street, Glendevon FK14 7JY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glendevon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glendevon
Price Range: £54 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tormaukin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tormaukin is an 18th-century country inn situated in the village of Glendevon near Gleneagles in Perthshire.The Tormaukin is the perfect choice if you need to get away from it all. It's hard to imagine a more perfect retreat nestling in the peaceful Perthshire countryside. Yet, it's only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh and close to both Stirling and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tormaukin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Perth And Kinross
Perth And Kinross Country Inn
Tormaukin UK/Glendevon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing