We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A local pub for local people!”
Review of The Neeld Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Neeld Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Grittleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A local pub for local people!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The Neeld arms is a charming English pub. It has a great atmosphere, is warm and cosy and they also have a very good selection of draught ales and ciders.

The menu is unfortunately pretty limited, rarely changes, with nothing of any interest for vegetarians.

The landlord is a jolly, eccentric character, with a voice reminiscent of a rusty chainsaw.

One gets the impression you would have to live within 300 yards for at least 10 years, to be considered 'local'. The rustic charm is also somewhat shattered when you look out the back window and see what can only be described as a rubbish dump.

That said visiting the Neeld Arms, is on the whole a pleasant experience and worth giving a go if you have yet to try it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    57
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
35
98
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We ate lunch here. The menu was limited but as extensive as one would expect for a village pub. I could not find a healthy option and there was only one vegetarian dish. I had chicken wrapped in bacon and mozerella with a barbecue sauce. The chicken could have benefitted from some seasoning before being wrapped but it was ok, no more. My husband enjoyed his choice but still rated it as average however he declared the real ale as excellent and he is an expert. The pudding was nothing to write about and was badly presented, which was a pitty because an average meal can be lifted by a good pud. Very popular with the locals as a meeting place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
175 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

stayed for one night on business, had room 6 in the attic, a large room with double and two single beds.

I felt the room could of been a tad cleaner, the bathroom floor had dust and some hairs on it ,the carpet in the main room had bits on it and felt like it had not been hoovered and the flies ! wow so many [dead and alive]on the small window and on the window in the landing.

Another issue was the poor pressure on the shower which made it impossible to have a shower, lucky the room had a bath.

The pub is lovely as is the village and surrounding area, great real ales, great service, lovely staff and I had a fantastic steak that was very tender.

in the morning breakfast was very good.

For the price I would certainly stay here again, but I do think the place needs a little more tlc

Graeme

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geepee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have stayed regularly at The Neeld Arms since 2008, the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is tremendous, superb local ales, and Charlie the landlord is an enigma. One not to miss especially if the cricket team have won! Unfortunately I have changed jobs and am unlikely to return on business again, although a weekend stay could be even more fun!

Room Tip: Room 3 has the best shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMPORTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Neeld Arms is a charming 17th century inn located in a small picturesque village. It provides a nice alternative to bland chain hotels.

We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in a nearby village. Our room (No 4) was on the first floor to the front of the pub. It had twin beds and lots of “olde worlde” charm – including creaking floorboards. It was clean and pleasant but there were a number of annoying niggles you don’t expect when you are paying £80 a night:

1. The volume control on the (elderly) clock radio was broken rendering the unit unusable.

2. One of the spotlights in the ceiling wasn’t working.

3. The water pressure to the shower was poor – it took a long time to wash off soap/shampoo.

4. The shower head could not be fixed/adjusted. It looked as if the securing screw was missing.

5. There was no stool or chair at the dressing table resulting in a lot of bending to use the mirror.

6. The antique armchair looked good but was in fact very uncomfortable.

7. There was no shelf in the wardrobe. Our sweaters etc., had to be stored on the window seat or on the floor.

On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and the towels large and fluffy.

We ate in the bar the first night and found the food to be above average and reasonably priced. There was a good selection of beers including several local real ales. In the morning, the full Engish breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty.

Be aware that the inn is old with little soundproofing so expect some intrusive noise from the bar and adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whickham Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Excellent rooms and a good location set up this inn . Add to this a good varied menu, a well cooked breakfast with proper bacon, well kept ales and friendly hosts and coming here you have backed a winner

Room Tip: all good although the uppermost could be difficult for old people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WAG1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

If you are visiting Wiltshire for any reason or want somewhere close to Bath without having to pay the Bath tourist prices then this is the place for you. A mere 5 mins off the M4 (couldn't hear any traffic noise whatsoever) and about 10 mins from the picturesque village of Castle Combe, the Neeld Arms in Grittleton is a lovely little pub in a quiet and unassuming village. The bedroom was large and the bed about as big as any bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was clean and amenities plentiful. We ate dinner in the pub and so too breakfast and couldn't fault either experience.
Would strongly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nw05250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grittleton
2.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neeld Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neeld Arms Inn

Property: The Neeld Arms Inn
Address: Grittleton SN14 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Grittleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grittleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Neeld Arms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Neeld Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing