We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of The Neeld Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Neeld Arms Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Grittleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Set in one of the most unspoilt villages in Wiltshire, The Neeld Arms caters for all. Whether you fancy a nice pint in a country pub setting, or the best quality food sourced from local ingredients, this is a must visit venue. The owner and Landlord, Charlie, makes everyone feel welcome and all the staff are really friendly and helpful. There are always daily specials that reflect the produce of the season which are prepared to perfection . Get in you car and go there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
36
100
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here a few days ago. Good country pub well supported by the local community. Good beers and cider - cornish Rattler, on tap. Very good menu board and food served quickly with good local produce. Pie and a pint for £10 - very good value, as were the deserts. Comfy bedroom with typical squeaky floor. Good wholesome breakfast set you up for the day. Excellent friendly staff. Set in a small village with a church, school and the pub. Well worth a visit for a stay or a meal.

Room Tip: They're all quaint and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a stay in a bed&breakfast farm not so far from this pub , so we had 2 diner in this pub. Very friendly and only cooking with fresh products. You have a meal of the day for example a House Pie with a Pint 10 pounds!! what do you want more. In a old house with 2 terraces 1 in the front and the other at the back i personnally recommend the front a liittle bit above the street biuyt there is no traffic at all so it's cool.

Do not hesitate

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefflopak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just a few minutes off the M4 motorway and well worth the detour. Plenty of parking behind pub and some on the road. Mainly used by local customers who all seemed to know each other and obviously know a good pub. Landlord friendly and beer first rate. We had ploughmans for lunch and we both enjoyed the meal. Really good cheese in large portions and all the standard trimmings. Nice experience and we have added as favourite on our GPS and will come again when going to the West Country.

Room Tip: Sorry, only went for lunch
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Far enough into the countryside, but near enough to reach. We were visiting a friend in nearby Chippenham and found this retreat the ideal place to stay. Good value for money in meals and accommodation. Well kept local beers and the natives are friendly. Staff very helpful and great choice of menu. Will use this place again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshmike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a great find this was - not only good pub with very reasonably priced food, but also comfortable and quiet rooms upstairs. The owners were really welcoming too - the kind of place you want to go back too!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naplis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloxwich, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Really really nice country pub rooms fantastic ! Staying for 3 nights on business you really cant go wrong here foods ace beers better . A bit out in the sticks but worth it . A great find indeed !
Im travelling with a colleague but was made really welcome if your travelling alone you.ll soon be amonst friends . God bless this little oasis

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank licence2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grittleton
2.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.7 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Bell House Hotel
Bell House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Benger
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
632 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neeld Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neeld Arms Inn

Property: The Neeld Arms Inn
Address: Grittleton SN14 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Grittleton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grittleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Neeld Arms Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Neeld Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing