We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings but disappointed in the service...”
Review of Garden House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Grittleton B&B and Inns
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings but disappointed in the service...”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My husband I recently stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding. Grittleton is a beautiful little village and The Garden House is in a lovely setting. The breakfast was good, good portions and tasty.
There was nothing wrong with our room- perhaps a little outdated but clean and tidy and quite welcoming. The mattress on the bed had seen better days- it was obviously quite old and uncomfortable. I did also find it odd that there was no light outside the rooms in the hallway, as returning in the dark, it was near impossible to locate the lock for the door to our room.
We were very disappointed, having returned to the room very late on Saturday night to find that no one had been into our room to tidy things up a bit. Our mugs used the morning before for a cup of tea were still sitting, dirty, in the same place, our bed had not been remade and even the bin hadn't been emptied. It was obvious that no one had been into the room at all. I have no idea whether somehow our room was overlooked (though it was a relatively small place, so don't see how it could have been) or whether it is usual practise for the owners to not go into rooms during a stay. Considering the price, I have to say we did expect a bit of a better service.
Overall, the place was quite nice but I would not recommend if you are staying for several nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLH948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Garden House B&B, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
We are very sorry that your room was over looked during the tidying. This is not usual practice we make an effort to ensure all rooms are tidied every day. In this instance there must have a break down in communication with the staff. Many thanks for staying with us and many thanks for your review, it has been very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Highly recommend the Garden House. The owner, Audrey, was very pleasant and the quiet location and lack of street lights guarantees a good nights sleep. The local pub, the Neeld Arms, is half a mile away and offers good food and a nice selection of real ales. The full English breakfast at the Garden House is excellent, with locally produced bacon and sausage. There's a good chance the eggs are from their own hens which run around the well kept gardens together with the ducks). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Really nice place, people, surroundings and breakfast! Fantastic value and a little gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Had a very friendly welcome to this very traditional bed and breakfast. The house is ideally located for those attending weddings at Grittleton House. The breakfast was brilliant and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Superb accommodation in beautiful area and well situated for visiting Badminton Horse Trials. Audrey and Chris are warm, welcoming and very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfasts are delicious and plentiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable with noticeable attention to detail. Ample free parking right outside the door. Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_gant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Having stayed in numerous B&Bs I rate this as one of the best. Clean, very friendly and the breakfast is not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed here over Christmas, the owners are lovely couldn't do enough for you, breakfast Fab, and the best thing is the location, at the end of a long drive, very private.
would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. will definitely return. Thanks Mrs P. Sid.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid44782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grittleton
2.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
6.2 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast
Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Grittleton
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old House at Home Inn
6.9 mi away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
0.3 mi away
The Neeld Arms Inn
The Neeld Arms Inn
#1 of 4 in Grittleton
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House B&B

Property: Garden House B&B
Address: Grittleton | Chippenham, Grittleton SN14 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Grittleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grittleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden House is set within a Victorian walled, 2 acre garden on the edge of Grittleton village. It is very convenient for those visiting Grittleton House which is 1Km away. The village pub is 1.3 Km away and serves food until 9pm. Other popular attractions are Badminton Horse Trials, Chippenham Folk Festival, Cheltenham Races, Castle Combe circuit and Castle Combe village. The Garden House is great for those who need a Chippenham Bed and Breakfast with a bit of peace and quiet. It is only 6 Miles from Chippenham Railway station. Grittleton is on the South East border of the Cotswolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Garden House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing