We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Working Farm, great hosts and good food”

Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Grittleton B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Working Farm, great hosts and good food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having read the previous reviews we were a little apprehensive but the location was perfect as we were racing at Castle Combe the next day and it is only 6 mins away. The directions given by the host pre visit were perfect and easy to find. Arrived at a working farm with large farm yard that was ideal as I had a big trailer and am not the most competent of reversers !! Made very welcome by a herd of cows and posse (?) of cats oh and the hosts. Genuine farmhouse with all the accompanying clutter. Rooms were large and functional and very clean with modern ensuites and all facilities like tea and coffee, TV and wifi. Great recommendation for meal in the local pub that was very lively for a tuesday evening.
Breakfast was served on a big farmhouse table with a fantastic full english (3 fried eggs - from the farm I think). I think they will serve breakfast from 6:00 am which is great as most events you have to be at the circuit for 7:30 ish.
I can understand previous comments but if you want a genuine working farm with all its quirky attributes close to a great village and with a warm welcome and great breakfasts this is it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for one night as base for attending a concert at Westbirton. This is a real working farm where courtyard parking (can be muddy) is surrounded by rustic outbuildings. We were greeted very warmly (and yes, removed shoes). Staying in the yellow room at the top of the house (flight up past the children’s rooms – seen but not heard) overlooking the garden where the cats played. It had a large, VERY comfortable bed and en-suite bathroom. The room was clean and adequately decorated with perfectly serviceable furniture, yes outdated but suiting the age and type of property; my gran wouldn’t have had a problem with any of it. LCD TV, kettle, tea and coffee were also provided and all worked. The bathroom was new, clean with a large walk-in shower cubicle and electric shower. Clean towels and the usual bathroom sundries were also supplied. The cooked breakfast we had in the morning was excellent, fresh and tasted real. Homemade, warm cinnamon bread was the icing on the cake. We liked the hosts warmth, the cats and their pictures, breakfast and location. If you want fine finish and gismos stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Manor Farm at the very last minute. Have only read the other reviews after staying there and I think they were way off the mark and far too harsh

If ypur concerned about clutter, cows and having family (even if that includes recorder practice) around you, then maybe a bed & breakfast within a family home is not for you, and perhaps you should seek out a boutique jotel instead.

But if you want to experience how the locals live, a working farm in centre of town, and the quaintness of Grittleton, then this is the place to do it What a delightful town, great location within that town, lovely rooms and personable hosts.

The bathrooms here were by far the best we had experienced in our one month of travel, and we just loved our stay.

With the location right on the edge of the Cotswolds and just over an hour from London, next time I'd like to stay longer.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbytp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have just returned from spending 2 nights in the Green room. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed but with very dated and sad looking furniture. I could not open the tatty looking windows which ran with condensation. The en-suite showeroom was excellent, fitted with a large shower and modern white tiles and fittings, the overall effect was spoilt however by a hideous brown wall mirror badly positioned to the side of the basin. Breakfast was very good and sufficient to set you up for the day, but the tranquility was rather spoilt by someone practicing a recorder in a adjacent room.
I could not lock my room from the outside which made me feel uncomfortable when out and i did not like having to leave my shoes on the ground floor. My room was not serviced during my stay, i do not know if this was policy or just an oversite. All in all not a bad b&b but at £40 for a single person i thought it overpriced by 25%.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WOODLEYGRIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We've just spent one night here whilst attending a wedding reception in the village. The lady who greeted us was very pleasant and showed us to our room. We were asked to remove shoes before going upstairs which was fine, we do this at home anyway.
Room was large, bed massive and bathroom very nice although the decor of the room is very dated, window frames rotten. We tried to be open minded as it's a working farm. The concern for us was that we were told that the only door that locked in the place was the front door. We had a key for the front door but no room key and felt uncomfortable leaving our belongings in our room whilst we were out.
Breakfast was in the cluttered dining room, most of the house was very cluttered. Don't get me wrong the table was laid lovely and we had cereal, toast, cooked breakfast to choose from or all three, enough to keep us going for the day. What ruined it for us was that whilst eating breakfast one of the owner's children decided to have a tantrum and was shouting at her mum.
After breakfast we returned to our room to finish packing and was met with a child practicing their recorder. This is before 9am in the morning! We don't have children and realise that staying in a B&B you are in someone's home but I would have thought noise would be kept to a minimum until the guests have checked out at 10am.
I think it is definatley over priced and should be re-priced around the £50-£60 mark.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1204tlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very close to grittleton house so perfect for the wedding we were attending. Bedroom was very comfortable with a TV and DVD player and a modern ensuite with good quality bath products. The hosts were extremely friendly and breakfast was amazing, loads of choice but we would reccomend the full English with home baked bread. I would definitely stay again and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyRaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This B&B is very much a working farm . . The driveway and parking area was dirty and untidy . . On entering the lobby area we were met by lots of discarded shoes on the floor and the decor was uninviting and scruffy.
We had a double room which had no TV and no ensuite toilet. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and the bed was clean and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and well presented but in a nut shell I would say that the cost of £61 per night was overpriced as this B&B offers very average accommodation and is overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessdog500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grittleton
2.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
2.9 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 5 in Castle Combe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Manor Farm Alderton Road, Grittleton SN14 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Grittleton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Grittleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your Manor Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing