We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cleavers Lyng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cleavers Lyng
Ranked #1 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our Daughter arranged this as it was within 10 min to the Castle where she was attending university. Upon arrival I thought wow we are off the beaten path. However the place turned out great. Part of the structure was very historical but we'll maintained. Our walks to and from the castle were quite enjoyable. Great countryside views. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was terrific !! 5£ taxi gets you into pubs and town. Best B&B I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
101
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cleavers Lyng is one of the finest guest houses my wife and I have stayed in. We had 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the Tudor architecture (although the low ceiling beams had to be watched as I am 6'4"), the fine breakfasts and the absolute peace of the Sussex countryside. Thanks, Sally. We ate in two local pubs and one restaurant, all Sally's recommendations, and they were spot on as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was taken here for a surprise weekend away for my birthday, what a lovely surprise! It is in a lovely setting, beautiful place. We were shown to our room by Sally, who showed us the important bits in our room. The room was lovely, perfect for what we needed - to relax! We took a walk and visited a local pub, when we got back we played some of their games on the landing - what a great idea!

We didn't sleep too well, but thats not the fault of Cleavers Lyng, we were just too hot and I am a fidget!

The breakfast in the morning was really lovely.

Lovely place and dog friendly too! I'd love to return there one day.

Room Tip: Don't expect the rooms to be extremely spacious, they are cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Port
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Douglas produced a cheese and onion omelette that was the best ever!
That was on top of all the excellence provded by Sally and he at Cleavers Lyng.
Our two collies were made so welcome.
A highly recommended place to relax in, surrounded by beautiful countryside it's a real gem.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night and had a fabulous time. The balcony room was very comfortable and the bed was amazing. Breakfast was everything you could want and very well cooked.
Sally & Doug make you very welcome and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed one night in the balcony room. Absolutely brilliant. Views that you could watch for hours and really really peace. Great walks from the door and lovely cooked breakfast. Coupled with comfortable beds and beautiful garden and a great meal out at Cowbeach, it was the perfect pick me up break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

we stayed recently for 2 nights,had a lovely welcome from sally,showed us to our room which was fantastic 4 poster, as im an avid fan of "four in a bed"program i jokingly put my finger along the sides of the four poster & what a shame it was thick dust on both sides! and then on having a shower noticed the light above mirror was abit grimey & had flies in it,apart from these things everything was brilliant,the cooked breakfast was spot on & as i said on leaving we have stayed in many,many hotels & B&B's and this is the 1st one where i felt totally relaxed & not like i was intruding in someones home,i would say sally has it spot on so thankyou very much & keep up the good work,im sure we will be back oneday soon.

Room Tip: the 4 poster was very comfortable spacewise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your review, it is a shame we did not quite hit all of the marks, we do have a cleaning schedule and the Top of the Four Poster Bed is on it, to be dusted at the end of each month, I guess we need to up this to every other week, I will let the House Keeper know and keep my eye on it. I wish you had of mentioned it to me on your arrival and I would have put this right straight away for you. Still I guess you enjoy the public forum side of being a Hotel Inspector at least you did not slate the owner ! Generally it is a good review so thank you for that.
Please let me know if you are coming again and advise me of your dust problem and I will try to make it up to you in some way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
3.5 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
7.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Property: Cleavers Lyng
Address: Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing