We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of calm.”
Review of Cleavers Lyng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleavers Lyng
Ranked #1 of 5 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A little bit of calm.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had chosen the four poster room as it was our 30th wedding anniversary during our stay and I liked the character of the place. Situated almost at the end of Church Lane, you only have passing traffic going to the church, so for a front of house facing room, it was quiet. Sally explains how things work in the room and there is also a tray under the bed, which you can out your dirty shoes on, if you have been hiking through mud. The four poster bed is to die for so comfy, but if you on the short side you may have to roll onto the bed and slide off as I did. The bathroom is small but how much room do you need. The power shower is fantastic. Lovely having a seating area too. The TV on the swivel bracket ensures you can watch it from the sofa or bed. Lovely quality biscuits in the room and also they catered for me by providing decaf teabags which was great. Having free wifi was a bonus too, although my husband had difficulty with his iPhone he kept losing the connection and he couldn't get connected on his ipad mini, I had no problem with my android phone and it automatically connected every time I returned to the house. Breakfast is a feast, a variety of cereals, 3 bowls of fruit, apricots, pineapple and fresh fruit salad, fresh banana's, croissants, homemade banana cake, tunnock's teacakes, 3 choices of juice and that is before you get to the cooked choices. I had the full English, which was beautifully cooked by Douglas, eggs were done to your choice. I know others had the muffin with smoked salmon and raved about it, but you have a lot to choose from, add toast and preserves and you are set for the day. Coffee is on the sideboard for you to help yourself, tea comes in a variety of teapots. Relaxing classical music plays in the dining area all day so whenever you arrive it stills your mind. The gardens are beautiful and their 3 little dogs are super friendly. Be aware that people can bring their dogs to stay with them, in their rooms so if you are not a dog lover don't stay and then complain. We saw two other guests dogs at breakfast who caused no trouble. I hope to go back again but may try for the balcony room as this has great views across the countryside.

Room Tip: For that special occasion have the four poster room. If you have the suite, it is in the eaves of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. Gosh and what a review it is almost a magazine cover. It was good of you to take the time I am sure it will give a lot of insight for other people wishing to come here to stay. Well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
101
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Found the Guest House on the internet and had good reviews. It was a bit off the beaten track but that added to the charm for us. Lovely house and the accommodation was good. Breakfast was excellent and our hosts attentive to our needs. Lovely place to stay and so convenient for so many wonderful visits around the area. First time we have slept in a four poster bed... something on the bucket list to cross off. Nice walks around about and a lovely garden. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it was good of you to take the time to leave your thoughts on Cleavers Lyng. I do hope we get to meet again one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent a weekend at this beautiful and idyllic country home in the heart of East Sussex ... Dog friendly so my little pooch came with us ... nothing was too much trouble here .. the room was beautifully decorated and had fabulous views over the countryside ... even if the weather was not that great ! but the breakfast certainly was ! :-)

Room Tip: Every room is different ... you should try them all ! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFSCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Told it was hard to find, but the satnav took me to the front door with the post code. The first sight was breathtaking, and the interior was just as good. Very warm welcome from Sally, and shown to the four-poster room (free upgrade), which was awesome. Breakfast was superb, virtually anything you wanted, all freshly cooked, and as much as you could eat. Very good local information available, and Sally had a list of local eateries at a range of prices. All the ones we tried were very good. Would recommend this place to anyone, as it would be a very difficult person to find a fault.

Room Tip: If the four poster room is not available, go for the sunny room, which is double aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jongarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

In a location that just cannot be beaten, we had an excellent and comfortable room with every facility. Our hosts were friendly and prepared to be flexible with breakfast times. Great value for money and I would certainly recommend it as an alternative to another night in another chain hotel!

Room Tip: We had a balcony with great views over the Downs - perfect for that afternoon cup of tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our Daughter arranged this as it was within 10 min to the Castle where she was attending university. Upon arrival I thought wow we are off the beaten path. However the place turned out great. Part of the structure was very historical but we'll maintained. Our walks to and from the castle were quite enjoyable. Great countryside views. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was terrific !! 5£ taxi gets you into pubs and town. Best B&B I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Cleavers Lyng is one of the finest guest houses my wife and I have stayed in. We had 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the Tudor architecture (although the low ceiling beams had to be watched as I am 6'4"), the fine breakfasts and the absolute peace of the Sussex countryside. Thanks, Sally. We ate in two local pubs and one restaurant, all Sally's recommendations, and they were spot on as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herstmonceux
4.4 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.5 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne (Polegate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
7.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Horseshoe Inn
The Horseshoe Inn
#2 of 5 in Herstmonceux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Property: Cleavers Lyng
Address: Cleavers Lyng Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing