We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locally- sadly the last of the old school”
Review of Not in use - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Not in use
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Scolfe's is a traditional English tearoom serving teas and full meals (including Sunday roasts). We have eaten there a couple of times (most recently last weekend) and been impressed by its quality, atmosphere, level of service and value for money. It deserves to be better known.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Locally- sadly the last of the old school”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have dined at this Restaurant for many years now, with my husband, and with friends. For lunch, Dinner, and private afternoon tea party´s. I/we have never been disappointed. The menu - is varied, home cooked food,with fresh seasonable vegetables. Catering for all needs whether traditional, vegan, vegetarian .or people with gluton intolerance. O.k. maybe the atmosphere lends itself to the more mature, or genteel diner who prefers the sounds of Glen Miller playing in the background rather than the ´headbanging assault´ on the ears found in most modern Restaurants nowadays. The owner is also an Author, and his wife, apart from doing all the cooking for the Restaurant also provides take away, and ´frozen ready meals´ , and cakes for the home. It is with great sadness that this Restaurant is to close on 2nd. March. There is not another locally that provides the same welcoming genteel atmosphere, together with good home cooked food with normal sized portions, or portions suitable for the smaller appetite. We, together with (I´m sure) all your customers. say ´thank you´, and wish you a long and happy retirement.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting scolfes for about 5 years. It has always been such a pleasure every visit. Good atmosphere, friendly service, and excellent good old fashioned home cooked meals and afternoon teas.
This place is a gem that is easily passed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homemade meals served with the old fashioned English courtesy”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Scolfe's is the traditional family run tearoom / restaurant in a small East Sussex Village. Meals are always homemade and served in a manner that makes you feel as the most honoured guest. The hot soup of the day served with hot fresh roll is a fitting starter to any of the main courses. Those with small appetites don't miss out as they will provide reduced portions for 'Seniors'. Service is excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samburumor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“True English cream tea!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The entire time we were in England my girlfriend's only goal was to get an authentic English cream tea. On our last night in the country we were camping in Boreham Street, and when we discovered this tea room we knew we had to check it out in the morning.

We were not disappointed! The historical air of the tea room was overwhelming, and the tea and food were delicious. The tea room was crowded, and we were the youngest patrons by at least 20 years (and the only Americans). It seemed all the other patrons lived in the village, and all seemed to know each other, as well as be fascinated by the young Americans paying them a visit.

The English tea was one of the highlights of our time in England!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, E.Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good Home Made British Meala”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have been here a number of times and never been let down by the food.
All good home made meals with a nice choice of vegetarian meals.
We started off with Pumpkin soup made from Pumpkins grown in their own garden.
My wife then had an excellent Chestnut, Spinach & Mushroom Pie.
I opted for the rump steak with all the trimmings at a very reasonable £12.50
but understand this may not be on the menu for much longer as the price of meat
is making it an economical choice for Scolfe's which prides itself on providing excellent value meals.
A great choice of deserts are available, such as Stem Ginger Sponge with a Toffee Sauce topping.
The service is quick efficient and Jim the owner is usually serving tables with a friendly smile
and quip.
As mentioned in other reviews they are only open 3 days a week so book a table is you want to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluejazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Not in use also viewed

Herstmonceux, Hailsham
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 
Herstmonceux, Hailsham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing