We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, unique place to unwind and relax.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Treetops

Treetops in Autumn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017). Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017).
Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Spacious studio room with stunning views.
Bathroom with new walk-in shower.
Come on in and welcome :)
Through the stable door. The sink looks out on to the garden and rolling fields.
The kitchen with spiral staircase Firdige freezer, electric cooker and breakfast bar for 2.
The kitchenette has a new quarry tiled floor and new cooker, dishwasher, microwave & lighting.
Looking out of the stable door.
From the top of the stairs.
Sitting area with wonderful views.
Looking out of the main studio windows.
View from the main studio windows (March).
View from Treetops' window in Summer.
Kingsize bed, quality mattress, lovely fresh sheets, USB charger sockets.
View from the bed.
Seating area with flat screen TV.
Comfortable seating leading to dressing area. and French doors to balcony.
Bunks in the eaves.
Single mattresses made up in the eaves - great for kids.
It really is as close to a treehouse as you can get with foundations and plumbing :)
You can light the beech tree and the deck at night.
Outdoor dining area nestled into the beech tree. This was taken before the new balcony was built.
The beech tree in full leaf.
Treetops in the summer.
Enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine.
Winter
A wintery walk down the lane
The swing in our front garden has such a long drop it makes grownups feel like children :)
Sunny Autumn wander down our lane
Local bluebells
Spring primroses
The campfire area, BBQ and swings.
Looking down the garden towards the BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Herstmonceux, Hailsham, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RambleOnK...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't have a pleasant experience”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had quite a few problems with my stay. The property is good for security reasons as it is quite close to the house and has a lovely view. Overall, it's in need of updating, carpet is worn and the furniture really needs Restor-a-Finish. I asked how to use the TV and the owner discovered it wasn't working and directed me to a small collection of old VHS tapes in the room. So I had to go without TV for the night... Since I had a long drive, I wanted a nap, but that wasn't possible as her children were screaming and playing outside, so though in the country, not entirely peaceful. Luckily, it was quiet at night. The guest house has a lovely view, and the bed linens are nice. The kitchen is handy. The lady who owns it is very nice though a bit overwhelmed. I lost a small part of my deposit during the stay, but the amount of time she took to process this back to me was too long, and I did not get my money back for over two weeks, so of course I wasn't at all happy about that. Would I stay again? No.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnFunel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful, unique place to unwind and relax.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very special tree house for grown ups in a beautiful countryside setting. A fantastic little building in the treetops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albjamies...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in paradise”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Charming hostesses, miss Emily and miss Sam, have been so wonderful and friendly. We couldn't ask for a more relaxing time. Pure old England, just as life used to be. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hanging out with Sam and Emily
Liked least: nothing wrong
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor L
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and very relaxing”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On the edge of a village, but with a very rural and peaceful setting. Quirky and very laid back.
Access via spiral stairs with fairy lights and with a tree through the balcony, we immediately fellin love with Treetops. Thanks to Sam for a superb "cottage". Will definitely go there again when next down that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky ness and tranquil setting
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikij5555
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In amongst the trees”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, it was very peaceful, the owner was helpful and unobtrusive, I loved the views from the roof windows into the trees. Everything was as you see in the description. I would happily come back if I am in the area again

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonycherr
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and great views”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and great views. Had trouble finding the property . Our hostess was welcoming and helpful. Just what we expected and hoped for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leluminal...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time and loved our stay at Treetops. It's only a short wander to the nearby town and everything else is easily within driving distance. We spent a day in Hastings, one in Brighton, and another in Herstmonceux castle. It really was a lovely relaxing break. Not to mention the fabulous view! Looking out across fields with horses in little groups and lovely rolling hills. Just fabulous. I'd happily go back there again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view/location
Liked least: Wi-fi reception was very weak if available at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;