We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky property in beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Treetops

Treetops in Autumn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017). Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Treetops in Autumn
The new treehouse balcony (March 2017).
Bird's eye views from the treehouse deck.
Spacious studio room with stunning views.
Bathroom with new walk-in shower.
Come on in and welcome :)
Through the stable door. The sink looks out on to the garden and rolling fields.
The kitchen with spiral staircase Firdige freezer, electric cooker and breakfast bar for 2.
The kitchenette has a new quarry tiled floor and new cooker, dishwasher, microwave & lighting.
Looking out of the stable door.
From the top of the stairs.
Sitting area with wonderful views.
Looking out of the main studio windows.
View from the main studio windows (March).
View from Treetops' window in Summer.
Kingsize bed, quality mattress, lovely fresh sheets, USB charger sockets.
View from the bed.
Seating area with flat screen TV.
Comfortable seating leading to dressing area. and French doors to balcony.
Bunks in the eaves.
Single mattresses made up in the eaves - great for kids.
It really is as close to a treehouse as you can get with foundations and plumbing :)
You can light the beech tree and the deck at night.
Outdoor dining area nestled into the beech tree. This was taken before the new balcony was built.
The beech tree in full leaf.
Treetops in the summer.
Enjoying a glass of wine in the sunshine.
Winter
A wintery walk down the lane
The swing in our front garden has such a long drop it makes grownups feel like children :)
Sunny Autumn wander down our lane
Local bluebells
Spring primroses
The campfire area, BBQ and swings.
Looking down the garden towards the BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Herstmonceux, Hailsham, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel A
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tree House”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Tight spiral staircase to loft room. Unable to get suitcase upstairs and very little room to open it up downstairs. Kitchen cupboards dirty and no soap in shower. Owner friendly and communicative. Able to park nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
I am absolutely devastated by this review. I'm sorry you couldn't get your suitcase upstairs. You could see a photo of the stairs in the pictures. I have cleaned the cupboards (and everywhere else) every time someone has stayed so I don't know why you thought they were dirty! I put soap in the kitchen and by the bathroom sink but I don't provide toiletries because they are very personal, nor do I advertise that I do. I also make a point of saying to guests that if they need anything they should just call, text, email or knock, as I live next door and am happy to help. I'm very sad that you didn't say anything at the time so I could've helped. I genuinely want everyone to go away feeling they had a lovely time, which is what usually happens, so this is a bit of a shock. I'm so sorry you felt this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ElaineWes...
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Arrived and immediately loved the property. Ample room inside, snug and comfortable. Location quiet and peaceful, beautiful views across the neighbouring land. The owner Sam is a lovely lady, who can't do enough to make your stay comfortable. Very friendly and genuine. The property is so lovely, the kitchen, lol and shower are in the downstairs section and a lovely spiral staircase lit with fairy lights takes up up to the living and sleeping area. No worries if the weather is poor....I've never seen such a huge collection of videos to watch.... Yes videos!!!!! There is Wi-fi if you want it, but we were happy without.... So didn't use it. We had a lovely stay and hopefully we will go back there later this year when visiting family again. It's well worth the visit, nice and out of the way, remote enough to be peaceful but still close to local amenities. Thanks Sam for a lovely stay. Regards to Mojo the cat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Didn't get to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for writing this, it's lovely to have such positive feedback. What you wrote is what I hope people feel, so reading it made me feel very warm and happy. You were lovely guests. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both, I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and very much looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yasmindan...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great getaway, with out of this world views”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Treetops was a wonderful getaway. We stayed for three nights for my partners birthday. The views were amazing and the host was very welcoming and friendly.

Our favourite part of the stay was the video collection, we turned from two adults to 5 year old kids again. We stayed in all day and watched loads of videos. Don't ever get rid of these Sam !!

it was a relaxed holiday and we would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony and the video collection
Liked least: How small the cooker was. Took a while to cook our food as it was so small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
So pleased you enjoyed it, especially the videos - I was hoping they might brighten up someone's rainy day. I don't think it was even raining! It was lovely to meet you both. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just to be able to get away from it all and retreat a real treat, at amazing place with a great host. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is lovely to be away from it all
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you so much for saying so and for coming back so often! 6 visits in a year! Very much looking forward to reading the book when it's published and to seeing you in August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven in the country side”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Arrived at this delightful property and fell in love! The owner Sam and her family are warm,welcoming and friendly. Treetops is a sheer delight. Warm, inviting , wonderful views. Previous reviews have stated shabby chic but could maybe benefit from some TLC?..I don't agree. It is perfectly fine as it is. The kitchen is functional, the upstairs loft warm and cosy. The bathroom functional with a POWERFUL shower. The balcony is lovely. The only criticism I would have, is maybe a sign post outside the property, as we drove past several times, and if it is dark I think people would struggle. How ever, if you are looking for something different, in a beautiful location, check out Treetops, you won't be disappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for this lovely feedback. Treetops has just been redecorated and re-carpeted so it's even cosier now, and a new sign is being made.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Treetops is perfectly located right in the peace and quiet of the Sussex countryside. The accommodation has amazing views from the Hugh Velux roof windows. We watched the sunset from the balcony and the sunrise from bed in the morning.
The self catering kitchen had everything we needed. The bathroom had a good powerful hot shower and the heating worked well to keep everything warm and cosy.
The accommodation was clean and the bed was clean and cosy. Slept deeply and it was so quiet.Sam the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We got lots of information on where to walk and what were the best places to visit locally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view across the countryside
Liked least: Carrying the mugs of tea up the spiral staircase. I have big feet and the staircase is compact.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing