We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy cottage in idyllic setting”
other travellers have booked this property
the lovely oak framed living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lovely oak framed living area
front of the cottage with gate into private parking and garden the decking by the pond where you can sit and admire the view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
the lovely oak framed living area
front of the cottage with gate into private parking and garden
the decking by the pond where you can sit and admire the view
Doors to the terrace
The view across Pevensey levels to the downs
The large garden
bathroom
Superking bed
Very pregnant cow!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Herstmonceux, Hailsham, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
funkdiva
lancashire,england
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfy cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Ideally located for most attractions in Sussex . A peaceful retreat after a day exploring this beautiful area. We had a warm welcome from Marian, even though we arrived later than expected. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped, plenty of room for a couple. We really appreciated the collection of books on the local area, which helped us plan our outings. The view from the patio is superb, especially first thing in the morning with the mist still giving an ethereal atmosphere to the 'levels' and rabbits breakfasting on the grass.
If you like raw milk and organic yoghurt , you can get it fresh from the dairy. And of course the Lamb Inn is a only a short stroll away, with amazing food and friendly staff.
We hope to return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so glad you had a good time. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best Marian and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodie632...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blissful hideaway in gorgeous Sussex countryside.”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful hideaway in a fabulous location with incredible views.
The cottage is really comfortable and well equipped. The setting is gorgeous and provided just the right environment for a peaceful and restful break. Don't forget to visit the dairy to get some delicious organic milk & yoghurt!
I would definitely stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Glad you had a good rest, we look forward to welcoming you here again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weeks R & R”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place quiet well equipped cottage once old cattle shed restoration sympathetic and good.
Great vistas if you like the country and all it entails you'll love this place we do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review, hope you've enjoyed sitting out in the garden and visiting local places!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded cottage surrounded by picture perfect countryside”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great cottage with everything you would need. We came with our toddler and she loved it too, especially the cows next door. We will definitely come back here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinsieP
Balcombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding cottage, heart-melting views, beautiful hosts & awesome wildlife...”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Mr & Mrs Harding (the lovely owners of Moorhen) have created an organic haven for nature lovers. In many years of traveling, few vistas can equal that of the views out across the marshes from this beautiful little cottage. Draw your eyes in closer, to the cottage garden, and you'll find wild strawberries, herbs & aromatics to entertain your senses. The cottage is beautiful, having retained a true sense of its former glory ~ it's warm, cosy and beautifully designed & furnished to cater for your every need. We have never felt more at home in a 'holiday let'!

Court Lodge Farm itself is a joy. We've loved waking to the sound of bird-song and the very happy cows that literally seem to chomp at the proverbial bit to get in the milking shed :) Please do not miss the opportunity to sample their organic yogurt & milk, or Ree's organic horse-drawn veg ~ it brings back memories of how our food used to (and SHOULD!) taste... Knowing that the surrounding landscape is organic, and very loved by its kind, helpful owners & farm crew, just adds to the perfection of this awesome place. We couldn't recommend it higher if we tried, and we'll be back, even though we're moving home to just a couple of miles away !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you felt rested and refreshed! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely dog, hope to see you here again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing