We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spa Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

A group of five of us had a wonderful day in the spa. The facilities were clearly very new and clean. I also had a divine facial and manicure by the delightful Catriona (?). The only small downside was that I didn't feel the quality or choice of buffet lunch lived up to the standard of the rest of the place. A small gripe.
Another suggestion would be some more chairs or loungers around the place. The relaxation zone gets full and stays full very quickly, and directly after lunch I didn't fancy the sauna, steam or pool, so felt a little bit at a loss for what to do. Again just another small issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellecantere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review of the spa and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Our spa lunch offering is currently under review and your comments have been taken on board.
We will ensure that you lovely comments regarding the team are passed on. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back at the Y Spa very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    707
    244
    81
    47
See reviews for
288
808
69
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staying here for just one night was a shame as the hotel has plenty to offer. Although aimed at the corporate client market the on site spa looked lovely and the conference facilities equally well appointed. Although lacking somewhat in character compared to rural comparisons it has all needs catered for and helpful staff. Eating choices could do with a little more variety with the bar and the restaurant having very similar menus; and my colleagues hopes for a real ale were not met, but the bar is well stocked with other choices.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar, depending on your mobility you may want a ground floor room or use the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for a great review, and for taking the time to leave your comments. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our restaurant and bar menus are currently under review, so we hope you’ll be back soon to try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The facilities here are very impressive and the standards very high, the quality to the room was exceptional and an impressive choice of food, I think that the only downside was that they then charge an additional fee to use the health centre, this was not made clear at the booking, my only advice is to insist that the health centre is included in the package when you book.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We are sorry that the extra charge for the health club was not made clear on booking. We have taken these comments on board for review. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for one night for a a breakaway spa. Not a bad price including lunch, afternoon in the spa,evening meal and breakfast. Staff very friendly on arrival, checked in room and went for lunch. There was more choice than we expected so enjoyed a very nice start. Then headed to the spa, we did find it very busy which probably due to a weekend and a couple of large groups. Spa is small but well laid out, couple of saunas and steam rooms and lovely outside pool. I would say this was quite small and most people tended to just stay in there so it was quite cramped at times so not quite as relaxing as we hoped but a nice afternoon. Popped into the bar afterwards, very nice setting can sit outside by the lake. Bar was very expensive we found but only away for one night so we accepted that. £6 for a glass of wine so didn't go too mad! Dinner was very nice food, the staff are running round working very hard but I think they could have done with a few more pairs of hands. We did have to wait quite a while for drinks and to get the meal but we didn't let it spoil our night, takes a lot for us to complain but you could see by some of the other guests faces they weren't feeling so patient. Breakfast lovely choice all very fresh and a lot quicker service.
All in all a nice night away, staff are a credit very friendly and oh can see they work hard but definitely more staff needed for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nik111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent visit. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff do work very hard to ensure that all guests are looked after, and we have passed on your comments to the team.
Thank you again, and we hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had a wonderful day at the Yspa at Wyboston Lakes and had a lovely time.
Staff very intentive and on hand for anything and had a lovely lunch and full use of all the Spa Facilities. Treatments are extra but money well spent and a day of pure indulgence and total relaxation.First class service and great facilities and a day of pampering.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark67710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What wonderful feedback, thank you! It’s always lovely to hear when a guest leaves the spa feeling totally pampered and indulged. We look forward to welcoming you back to the spa soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked hotel using spa breaks.com. I as apprehensive pre arrival as there had been one confusing over the phone in what was included in our deal. We were told over the phone that e had to pay an additional charge to use the health and leisure club however this was involved in the deal I had purchased.

However, on arrival I was pleasantly surprised by fantastic service which continued throughout our stay. It was a great touch when the spa director came and chatted to us for a good five minutes when we ordered a drink.

As part of our deal we had a three courses dinner, breakfast and lunch. All food was fantastic quality and I felt there was adequate choice. The dinner in particular was of high quality. I had the duo of pork. My only criticism was there was no prosecco when we ordered a bottle.

The room was fairly nice and had everything face needed in. Finally, the spa is beautiful and it is a special touch to have the outdoor pool. The whole experience in the spa was incredibly relaxing and I felt there was so much attention to detail.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to visit again. The deal we got through spa breaks as great value or money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Customer Services Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. We will ensure you’re lovely comments are passed on to the team, and we hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

OK, so we entitled this because we actually lived at Wybo for a week, courtesy of builders not having a house ready on time.
We chose to live here based on the room being of an adequate size & including a King Size bed - we declined other "boutique" venues locally because we just can't sleep in a 4'6" - I know, how pretentious is that:)
Anyway, Wybo is what it is - Corporate. Based on having Conference, Meeting & Training facilities, it follows that it'll have a Gym, etc, etc. So you get free wi-if without any complicated passwords & decent coffee making in the room, good parking la, la, la.
What's good - location to major roads & it's quiet at night, yes you can sleep well. It's clean, well maintained, the staff are pleasant (so long as your Polish is good with the Chambermaids!) - can't comment on the restaurant etc as not used.
What could it do to improve - UPDATE - when fitted out in 1980 this was the place. Needs bringing into this decade guys.

Room Tip: All rooms the same. Ask for one not near the stairs, as doors bang a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
8.6 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 17 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
20.2 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
24.4 mi away
Luton Hoo Hotel Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Property: Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Address: Waterfront Centre Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing