We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Last minute decision to come to the hotel for Sun/Mon of the bank holiday. Family rooms had gone but staff accommodated us in larger rooms. The reservation staff were excellent on booking. We weren't disappointed throughout our stay with ALL staff we interacted with they all had the same attitude - brilliant! Proactive, happy to help, couldn't do enough for you. Clearly happy in their work! What a refreshing change!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Rcbartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your views with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,643 - 2,649 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I was in a party of 14 on a 3 day golf break. Golf was fine!!

The room was small but adequately presented.

The restaurant I found expensive and the portions were poor. There were plenty of staff, most of whom were helpful enough, yet it was difficult getting served.

Dinner on Saturday was served in an annex room, I presume, not to interfere with a wedding party.

The table was poorly laid up with empty salt and pepper cellars and no side plates.

The biggest criticism though.... running out of beer early on Saturday evening....

I have to presume that the bar and restaurant play a vital part in any catering business. Running out of beer is not an option!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank DLP2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback. Your comments have been passed on to our Restaurant Manager for review.
It is unfortunate that we ran out of the particular beer that you wanted on the Saturday night - obviously it was a popular choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Read mixed reviews before we went on our spa weekend - however hotel was easy to get to just off the A1 and has lovely views over the lake. Not a pretty hotel from the outside but the rooms were fine, clean and spacious, comfortable and very quiet.
The food in the restaurant was delicious (just a few choices on the inclusive menu but only a small charge to upgrade to the full menu) had some service issues but they were quickly resolved by the new manager in the restaurant who was helpful friendly and very efficient (thanks Hannah)
The spa was lovely, quite busy on the Saturday but much quieter on Sunday - great facilities.
Felt very relaxed after our visit it was a great place for a group of ladies to meet up and spa and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and sharing your experience with others. I am glad that you felt relaxed after your stay with us and you enjoyed being pampered in the Spa.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal in the bar followed by a few drinks. Meal was lovely and fresh plus the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful. Fantastic customer service from the bar manager who served us. Can't wait to return :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First visit to the spa with a friend for the day. Very impressed with the welcome from staff and complimentary tea and coffee on arrival.

We hadn't realised the hydro pool was outside but the sun was shining and we made the most of a very relaxing day soaking it up next to the pool.

We had pre-booked treatments and I would highly recommend the back, head and neck massage. The perfect way to wind down and truly relax!

Lunch was served in the restaurant, buffet style. Plenty of it and of good quality. We headed for the waterbeds for a lie down after lunch before making our way back to the hydro pool via the choice of saunas.
Overall we had a lovely day and will be returning.

My only comment erring on the slightly negative side were that the deck chairs were uncomfortable and could do with being replaced with sun beds and it would be great if the staff offered waitress service for drinks etc by the pool (chilling makes you lazy)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bevlarr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. The decking outside next to the Hydro pool is certainly a great spot to enjoy the sunshine. Your comments about the deck chairs has been noted.
We are thrilled that you and your friend enjoyed your day of pampering with us, and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It's big. Very big. Spread across other buildings that all seem to be connected to the hotel, not physically but in spirit in an odd out of the way complex of sharp cornered complexes and soulless shapes. No atmosphere whatsoever. They've tried with the lighting and the decor is for the most part modern but the central bar/diner/restaurant areas are too shabby in places not to offend the eye. The food is variable, better with the starters, the poached egg on rosti is a real stand-out but I suspect they have a machine for that. Breakfasts are average, warm and corporate tasting. The rooms are clean but a bit bland too. Main courses try but don't convince. Too much faff and not enough flavour or freshness. Whoever makes the bread at 4am is a gifted soul though, and dedicated too. Bar staff are friendly and characterful. Staff are all very friendly and welcoming. I'll stay there again but hope next time to see why its almost always fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet enough but sleeping on the lower floor gets you creaks and squeaks from the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFromEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that our facilities do not seem to meet your expectation, which is disappointing as we are continually investing to improve the look and feel of our site. We do hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel/spa with a friend on a great 'hideaway' deal.
The staff were very friendly and efficient.
Our room was modern, clean and had everything you would need for a short stay.
The treatments were really nice and the therapists very friendly.
The food was of an excellent standard with a good choice. The restaurant and bar overlook the lake which is beautiful.
The only thing to spoil our stay was a large group of 'golfing' men who although weren't purposely noisy, caused a lot of noise just because of the amount of them talking in the restaurant. The waitress was very apologetic and several people moved (we had our pudding in the bar) a suggestion would be to maybe put large groups in the separate dining room used for breakfast and lunch to minimise the noise level.
Overall we had a lovey enjoyable stay and will certainly look forward to staying again in the future.
I have already recommend it to several of my friends

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Butterfly336633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

It's great to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your Hideaway Spa break with us. Your comments regarding the noise levels and groups in the bar has been noted.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
7.7 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
744 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,651 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
22.5 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
531 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf

Address: Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England (Formerly Wyboston Lakes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing