We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional yet uninspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A brief visit to this hotel on business. On a purely functional level it is clean and comfortable with some nice touches - a coffee machine in the room (which I failed miserably the first time to work out how it worked!). The location is pleasant but has the appearance of an industrial site that is trying very hard to be a luxury spa. The rooms are mostly housed in warehouse style blocks that have been decorated to look pleasant. Sadly however lavish the wallpaper it is still obvious that it is housed in what could easily be an industrial unit. There are lots of facilities for those that like golf etc. and the breakfast was pretty much standard hotel buffet breakfast, nothing special but fine. The staff were pleasant, car parking good and access to road network easy. The 1 am fire alarm caused by over keen cleaners in the spa was a little loud! but on the up side the fire alarms work...on the downside no one evacuated! Conclusion, its nice enough but nothing special, I wouldn't pay loads to stay, so watch for good deals. Lacks any real charm or character but functions efficiently and for a bed for the night is quite acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us, we value each and every piece of feedback we receive from our guests. I do hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,947)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,559 - 2,565 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

My daughter treated me to a spa break here on the last bank holiday in May. We had the Runway deal which was DBB, use of the spa and a treatment and my daughter upgraded to an executive room all for £109 so excellent value. We had a lovely time especially in the spa, everything was excellent including the treatments and the therapists were very professional. The spa was not too busy as we have found in other places we have been crammed in like sardines. The outdoor hydrotherapy pool was fantastic and we loved it. The hotel staff were very good except for one of the waitresses at breakfast as she was miserable looking and gave the impression she did not want to be there. The breakfast was lovely though and the best sausages I have ever had anywhere. The carvery lunch was very tasty and well cooked and the whole package was a very good deal. I would certainly go back but not to an executive room as we had to walk outside past a smoking area to get to the main hotel and spa, not a good idea if its raining! I would still recommend this hotel and spa as on the whole it was a great break and we were able to have some quality Mum and Dauighter time in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your Spa break with us and hope that you felt very relaxed and pampered.
We do hope you will come back and visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Been there one more time for 2 nights. Food is still fabulous, rooms are more than adequate and the surroundings give you options like golf, gym, etc. Wireless access is fast and free everywhere in the hotel. Excellent staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanougakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again.
We hope to welcome you back again soon for a further visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 5, staying in 3 rooms during a hen weekend. We expected a more distinctively marked hotel entrance, especially as this is such a big complex to negotiate. The rooms, although small, were comfortable and adequately
equipped. We had treatments and meals included in our weekend package and were informed of treatment times when we visited the Spa. The champagne and cup cakes were lovely but the cafe area, lacking in natural light and comfortable seating, was a disappointment. The staff in the Spa Reception and Spa itself were professional and helpful. Treatments were excellent. The spa pool lacked shaded seating - in fact, because so many people had 'bagged' seats by leaving towels draped over chairs, there was a general shortage of seating both in full sun and shade. The dining room appeared disorganised. At dinner we expected to be taken straight to a table but, instead, had to wait for this to be set up. Similarly, our breakfast table had to be laid but still lacked cups and saucers and condiments. At lunchtime, some food options had run out and had not been replenished. For example, there was only one portion of fruit salad left. We requested more but gave up waiting for this and chose something else. The food we had was of good quality. The staff, although helpful, seemed to lack direction and appeared thin on the ground. We should have liked to take a walk after breakfast but there was nowhere to go. A beautiful lake, which would have provided a lovely environment for a walk, appeared accessible only to golfers. In general we enjoyed our stay but felt it could have provided better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for sparing the time to give us your feedback. We have noted your comments regarding seating in the Spa areas and these have been passed to our Spa Director for review.
The comments regarding the Restaurant food and service have been passed to our Restaurant Manager for review and action to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
With regard to "a walk", our Reception team could have directed you to the Nature Reserve that we have on site, the information is also in the bedroom information pack - perhaps next time you will have the opportunity to explore this lovely area.
It is nice to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When I first pulled up at the hotel I was a little dissapointed as the building looks kind of semi-industrial from the front. However the inside hides the skeleton of the building nicely, is clean, smart, modern and comfortable. The staff, especially the 2 bar staff, were helpfull, welcoming and cheerfull. Plenty of places to sit and be comfortable in the bar with the option of a lovely patio area overlooking the lake, should the weather permit. We ate at the bar on our 1st night and was dissapointed I had a Chicken ceaser which was nice but not worth the money paid and my friend had burger and potato wedges. He was very dissapointed with his dinner as expensive for what it was and came with only 7 tiny wedges. The room was well equipped with a flat screen tv, excellent coffee machine and all mod cons. The shower was clean, hot and powerfull. I was on the bottom floor so I did here the person above clonking around. The breakfast was buffet style with all mod cons, very tasty and good quality. We used the Gym and swimming pool, I was surprised to be charged £7 for the priveledge (bit of a cheek as I was a guest I thought) the Gym was well equipped, in fact it looks and probally is a proper health club. I would return.

Room Tip: Top floor if you dont want to hear footsteps from above.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Your comments about your meal have been passed to our newly appointed Chef for review and action.
The Health & Leisure Club is a private members club which is operated by a third party, therefore a nominal charge is made for using this facility whilst you are with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I booked a package for this hotel for 6 of us to celebrate our friends hen do. We were lucky to get a fantastic May offer which gave us evening meal, breakfast, 4 hours in the spa followed by lunch. Food was lovely I was especially impressed with the carvery lunch we had on the Sunday given I was expecting a light lunch like I've had a other spas. The spa facilities were by far the best I've experienced in a while. It was fairly quiet, infact I don't think we went in a room occupied by anyone else. Staff were attentive a polite throughout the hotel. At our evening meal on Saturday a member of the staff I presume part of the management team came and asked the hen about wedding plans as well as our stay which was nice. My only complaint is the speed at which our evening meals came out. The first two were served and some 5 minutes later another 3. I had to ask where the last one was at least another 5 minutes after that which meant some of the meals were luke warm by the time everyone started. Other than that a wonderful weekend spent in lovely surroundings

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank beckylaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. Your comment about the evening meal service has been noted and passed to our Restaurant Manager.
Your lovely comments about the Spa have been passed onto the team, and I am so pleased that you and the Hen Party had a wonderful time with us. I hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The grounds and lake are beautiful and well maintained but are outweighed by the negatives unfortunately...
Our bedroom was depressingly BROWN, and ripe for refurbishment. The bathroom was also in real need of updating. As for the breakfast, it was of a disappointingly low standard with poor quality bacon and sausage and grey-tinged scrambled egg. Friendly and helpful staff but I would still not return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do buy high quality fresh ingredients for all our meals, but clearly did not pay enough attention on this particular morning, for which I apologise. The bedroom and bathroom refurbishment project is scheduled for 2 the second half of 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
7.7 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
734 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,634 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
1.7 mi away
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Neots
130 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Leaside Hotel
The Leaside Hotel
#4 of 26 in Luton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf

Address: Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England (Formerly Wyboston Lakes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing