We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dirty bin spoiled the excellent rating.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
Ledbury
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A dirty bin spoiled the excellent rating.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Wyboston Lakes Hotel as it was close to Bedford (12 Miles) and we were attending the fantastic river festival. The room was very nice and the huge bed superb. All that was lacking in the Coffee making facilities was George Clooney as everything else was well stocked and supplied. So what a pity when I had my shower in the rather basic bathroom, and went to put the empty shower gell bottle in the waste bin to find it already full of rubbish including a sanitary towel. Such carelessness is surprising in a Hotel in such a lovely setting. Please check details like this in future - you cannot imagine how off-putting it is to discover someone else's detritus.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near reception....we had to battle through 5 fire doors (with our suitcases) to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry that your experience was marred by an oversight from our housekeeping team. This has been noted and followed up with them. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I hope you will come back and visit with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    803
    275
    94
    51
See reviews for
341
928
73
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyboston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our room was full of small flies which I think we're nymph flies presumably from the lakes. When my wife asked for some fly spray we were told because of Heath and safety .........

Then we asked if they could spray the room for us but we were told if you turn the lights off they go away. Presumably eaten by the large spider sitting in his web in the corner of the room.

The previous occupant had squashed quite a few of the flies on the walls already not very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one without flies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Your comments have been noted regarding the flies. This is the first time we have had such an issue raised with us and I can only apologise that you had this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One night stay at this hotel.

Pleasantly greeted at reception and directed to my room.

Room was basic but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was complete with shower and bath with complimentary toiletries.

The hair dryer in the room continually over heated therefore I would recommend taking your own. Rooms were warm but equipped with a fan. I imagine on hotter days these can become uncomfortable.

Meal at the restaurant was nice. Was a bit lost at breakfast as few staff were present however there was a cooked buffet along with pastries and fruit. The breakfast had a fairly good selection. I couldn't fault it but it wasn't anything more than average.

Suited my needs.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elle-M10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. I am sorry that you expereinced a problem with the hairdryer in your room and I am sure Reception would have replaced this for you had they been notified. Overall I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will come back and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

12 of us stayed here for 2 nights and 3 rounds of golf, and for the price we paid we had exceptionally good value for money. The food was fine and the service was also OKAY. Occasionally one had to make oneself known in order to get a drink at the bar but restaurant service was fine. Reception handled everything well and apart from one particularly dim "supervisor" in the bar / restaurant (she was obviously very taken with her own importance) everyone did their best with a smile on their faces and a good attitude. If you are looking to arrange a group golf trip you could do a lot worse than this place.

Room Tip: Try and get a first floor room overlooking the golf course and lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykanaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your break with us, and particularly our great Golf Course. Your comments about the Bar Supervisor have been noted.
We hope you will come back for a round of golf or two again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We are very disappointed with the response of the hotel staff following what we regard as a major lapse of security when we stayed last Saturday (July 12th). We had had a meal in the restaurant and we returned to our room just before midnight. After a few minutes someone opened the door with a key. Fortunately, the security chain was on. It transpired that some young men who had been staying in the hotel the previous night had returned to reclaim a mobile phone which they believed they had left in the room. They had kept one of the keys and therefore decided to return at midnight to find the phone!
The hotel were very apologetic both that evening and the following morning but were unable to persuade me that it wasn't their fault. Surely if you know that there is a room key in the hands of an ex resident, you don't allow that room to be used until the key is returned? or you change the lock! I feel that the hotel has been negligent and that young men concerned are guilty of a criminal offence. Our room could have been entered whilst we were in the restaurant with the possible loss of laptops/money etc. Even worse the room could have been entered when just my wife was in the room. The hotel has tried to assure me that they take security seriously - so why was one of the security fire doors to the block wedged open when we arrived?
Oh yes - location of hotel is fine, the restaurant is reasonable as is the bar.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have a lock on the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for corresponding with us directly regarding your feedback. I know that we have now resolved the issues you have raised to your satisfaction and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Please don't eat here in the restaurant or bar. You will thank me for this sage advice The food is average. The staff are hilarious though, but not in a good way. I think they are just young and poorly trained, and sadly don't demonstrate a natural aptitude for customer service.

However, the location is quite nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your thoughts on your recent visit to our Restaurant. It is very disappointing to read your comments, and I can assure you that we take all feedback from our guests very seriously. It is most disappointing that you have left our Restaurant as a displeased customer and this is something that we want to put right. We have tried to make contact with you to discuss your experience. We hope to speak with you soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
8.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,581 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
335 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
9.7 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
20.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Property: Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Address: Waterfront Centre Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing