We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay there again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked a one night break at the last minute with my husband. Disappointed with the location - the pictures showed a hotel right by the lake - whilst there is a lake on one side of the hotel, the other side, which our room looked onto, was basically an industrial estate. The room was small and basic, resembled a travel lodge but much more pricey. We hadn't realised that the gym and pool facilities were not included but had to be paid for separately, I don't think this was made very clear on the website. Walls were paper thin and we were disturbed by noise from other guests. It was also a shame that none of the grounds are available for walking in, as they are taken up by a golf course. The hotel is ok if you are just travelling and need somewhere to crash but I wouldn't recommend it for a weekend break.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth19820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyboguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that our facilities did not meet your expectation.
The Health & Leisure Club is operated by a third party and is a private members club. By special arrangement our guests are able to use the facility but this does unfortunately carry a charge.
We do have walking areas on our site, as this is not completely taken up the Golf Course. We do in fact have a nature reserve on site also. I apologies if you were misinformed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    748
    254
    84
    49
See reviews for
312
856
70
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights midweek, expecting a lovely room with the bathroom to be of the same standard.
Unfortunately not to be- the room - which we had paid extra for an 'executive' - just wasn't up to scratch and I certainly would not want to have stayed in a standard room!!
Bathroom is tired and dated, the showers need replacing as you cannot even move the shower head unless you want to chance it falling off the tiles, silicone grubby and old. The plug hole had no drainage plug so should you drop something e.g. Earring you would have no way of saving it! The bedding had a massive tear in the side, and the window handle was broken so couldn't close properly/safely at night.
We were in the oceania building - whether the main building rooms are nicer I don't know - but for £165 for two nights we wont be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyboguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am sorry that you were disappionted with your room. We do have a refurbishment programme in place for 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The bar menu is very limited and quite expensive for what it is. It's a bit of a liberty charging residensts to use the leisure facilities. Because of that, didn't use them. Would have been better in the Premier Inn over the road, same price and a better menu.

on the pluse side, breakfast very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyboguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. We have a new Head Chef in situ and a new menu is being introduced shortly. With regard to the Health & Leisure Club, this is operated by a third party, however our guests are able to use the facilities but unfortunately this does carry a small charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a one night stay. We booked a lunch, Y spa for 4 hours, dinner and breakfast package. It was lovely. The spa was one of the best I've been to and it's well looked after and very clean. The salt room was the best and loved the sauna too. There were sleeping rooms and quiet rooms for reading and total relaxation as well as numerous treatments. We had a break during the time at the spa and had a coffee in code shop. The lunch and dinner were good and worth it. Totally recommend this place, it's a must try and total relaxation. I would suggest the lounge area is improved slightly with may be a TV and coffee being available.

Room Tip: A room near Y spa is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j4fod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyboguestrelations, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our Spa. I will ensure that team see them.
Your comments about the lounge area have been noted.
We hope to see you back with us again soon for some more relaxation time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I guess hat is a typical conference type hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and there is a great desk to work at. The bar has a nice feel to it and there is a great outside space overlooking the lake. One downside is that they don't have on-site leisure facilities but they are available close by (at a charge).
Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Ala in all, it does exactly what you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlandClaire_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank your for sharing your views with us. The Health & Leisure Club on our site is run by a third party as a private members club, this unfortunately means that we do have to make a small charge for our guests to use the facility. I hope you will come back and visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the night before an assessment day. Room was comfortable but I did back onto a machine room or something and it was noisy at times. Slept vvv well though. Breakfast was lovely. I asked for poached eggs and it wasn't a problem and they were perfect, not snotty at all. Wide variety. Staff were excellent. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the oceana. Rooms where kept very tidy and clean. The beds where very comfortable, which made it hard to get up for work in the morning!

The breakfast was good and the dinning areas where lovely. Didn't get a chance to eat in the restaurant in the evening but did order food from the lounge which was nothing to write home about to be honest.

The bar was well stocked with a wide variety of wines and larger. Only one ale though. The bar and waiting staff were atentive and helpful.

The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. Always nice to be greeted with a smile.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSWybo, Guest Relations Manager at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I hope that the next time you visit you will have the time to experience our restaurant menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyboston
8.5 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#7 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St. Neots (A1/Wyboston) Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Property: Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Address: Waterfront Centre Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility free of charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing