We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Good Value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belturbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Newry
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Good Value”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

As a family of 7 with 2 year old twins we visited for 3 nights at easter during the cold but dry spell with no aims other than to relax. We managed fine for space with the supplied travel cot and one of our own. Crockery/cutlery was a little on the short side with 7 of us but we managed. The cabins were heated with electric heaters and the cold outside wasn't really an issue.
Kilcorby is a pretty secluded spot just off the main N3 and a few minutes drive to Belturbet, Derrylin and Ballyconnell. We tried a few places in Belturbet - The Seven Horseshoes was lovely to sit in and we tried a few takeaways. There isn't much in the way of sight-seeing which didn't bother us as we went without sight-seeing in mind but the Marble Arch Caves and Doon mountain wind turbines are worth a visit.
There was plenty of safe green spaces for the kids to run around and a river so we mainly practiced golf, fishing and miniature helicopter flying.
If I had to pick holes it would be the lack of attention to detail - we had been told we didn't need to take anything with us but when we arrived there was no toilet roll, kitchen sink plug stopper, kitchen cloths / scourer / scrubber, tea towels (there was one pillow case instead!). The beds were a little cheap and ours was broken but we held it up with a waste basket. We found it impossible to locate staff as the reception appeared to be closed throughout our stay. The games room had 2 pool tables neither of which had the required balls nor could we work out the coins required. The hot tub was not functional and there was no sign of a gym. The table tennis set had seen better days but the tennis court was fine.

Pros: Safe space for kids, quiet, relaxing and good value with the groupon deal we got
Cons: Not much in the way of site seeing nearby

I have a video if the inside of the cabin I will add it to YouTube.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thep0stman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
39
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just back from 3 nights in log cabin. Cabins were built in early 90s so have been used over the years so bear this in mind,however cabins were clean with everything working as it should.Tempature outside was very cold but the cabins are remarkable warm when you have the heaters on for a while. Plenty of room for 5 or 6 adults and loads of outside space if the weather is ok. The owner could not be any more friendly and relaxed,nothing seemed to be a problem to him or the cleaner. The games room was available to us with a roaring fire and a huge fridge for your beer etc.The site is very quiet and peaceful and I would recomend this for a short break for anyone young or old. You do need to drive to the nearest town but its only 5 mins or so away with plenty of shops pubs and resturants. Really enjoyable relaxing break at Kilcorby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetheraininspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was very disappointed with kilcorby log cabins. I went down with all of my family we booked 4 log cabins the cabins were alright but the hot tub and gym was closed we were getting different reasons why it was shut. That was one of the main reasons why we went there there is no playground in the facility which we all had small kids.There is a bbq there but only in a few of then the log cabin i was in had none and then we got told we were not aloud use them because of health and safety. The games room was ok but the juice bar was closed and very little equipment in the room. We had to travel to do anything witch was disappointing. Will never be going there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 7 April 2015
Dear Dannielle

Thank you for your review of your stay at our log cabins. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Since your stay with us the games room has been restocked with equipment and is regularly updated, we hope you can change your opinion of our log cabins and would love to have you staying with us again.
with regards
kilcorby log cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We booked 3 cabins . 7 adults and 9 kids ranging fro 6 to 16 years of age . Great site , safe , clean , quiet , with games room and fishing on site . Accomadation was excellent and plenty to do in the surrounding area . Seven Horse shoes in Bellturbet is a top class pub/ restraunt with great food and friendly service for all the family .Super Valu Ballyconnell excellent . Keep ckear of the Anglers Rest pub in Ballyconnell . Kilcorky Log Cabins are a real gem and only 2 hours from Dublin. Padraic was always on hand to ensure our holiday went well . Ireland at it's best .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Parmoconlons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

A great few days to unwind. Great space in the cabins. Plenty of green space for the children to run around. My children were too young for the play room but there was a play centre a short drive away. Caroline loaned us some little ride on toys for the kids so they were very happy. Pubs a short taxi drive to. The grounds where the log cabins were spotless clean. It was so peaceful at night time both children and parents slept well. Highly recommend Kilcorby log cabins.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2A2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We spent 4 nights in Kilcorby log cabins last September.
What a great time we had.

Kilcorby is located just a few miles outside Belturbet off the main Enniskillen road. The site consists of 9 (I think) log cabins in a European style, a games room with pool tables and table tennis and a tennis court. When we were there they were just completing the work on a gym. The place is owned by a couple Declan and Caroline who are very helpful and are always on call to take care of any problems.

The site also has fine fishing in the river at the bottom of a lush green twice the length of a football field.

When we stayed there was a storm and we couldn't do much for a couple of nights but it didn't dampen our spirits. We just spent a lot of time playing pool and table tennis.

All the cabins sleep 5 in 3 rooms. Double, two singles and a single but there is also a camp bed provided free of charge. Each cabin has a fully equipped kitchen with dining table and a living room with TV but no cd player. There is a WC and a Bathroom but unusually only the WC has a toilet? The heating is electric, too much wood for an open fire! There is also a picnic bench outside and a barbecue for each cabin.

The overall feel of the place is pine pine and more pine and it works well as it is not your typical Irish holiday home. The cabins are compact but comfortable and I would recommend staying there for anyone interested in a quiet relaxing time however last year I did go there in a group of 16 and had a great time. Caroline was very accomodating and left the games room open all night for us once we kept the noise down. This year I had my parents in-law over from Taiwan so it was a different experience mostly fishing and lazing about.

There are some nice quaint pubs in the nearby village and even a few restaurants that will deliver food to your door. Menus are in the cabins.

We took a nice drive to the Shannon pot (where Ireland's best known river rises) but you will need directions as there are no signs. Enniskillen is also nearby where you can take a boat-trip to the many small islands in the loch. The marble arch caves are also a 30 min drive away and worth a look but you should phone first to make sure the tour is on as sometimes the caves are flooded.
We stayed 4 nights and payed about €300 for the cabin regardless of how many stayed. Not a bad deal but it was low season and midweek. You will need to check the site for exact rates.
I highly recommend this place. Service was excellent and friendly.
Scenery was fantastic. Accomodation clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Chairs could be alittle more comfortable!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travellingmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins it was a pleasure to read., we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belturbet
10.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
5.1 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
1.8 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
8.9 mi away
Fortview House Bed & Breakfast
11.4 mi away
Carrybridge Lakeside Lodge
Carrybridge Lakeside Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lisbellaw
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcorby Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcorby Log Cabins

Property: Kilcorby Log Cabins
Address: Yellow Road | Belturbet Co Cavan, Belturbet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Belturbet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Belturbet
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodford River, part of the great Shannon-Erne Waterway, runs by Kilcorby's picturesque log cabins. The tranquil, rural setting is a blissful retreat from the pace of modern life. As you look on the cruisers gliding by, listen to the whirr of an anglers reel or just drink in the peace of the place, you can plan your holiday itinerary in the sure knowledge that Kilcorby is perfectly placed to satisfy anyone, active or passive, who wants a different holiday experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing