We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilcorby Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belturbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked to stay in these cabins this week. We arrived on Wednesday and I was so disappointed I could have cried. Cabins are in serious need of updating. Bed was horrendous. We had paid for 3 nights and left first thing on Thursday morning. The place itself to say it was remote is an understatement. We had hoped for a relaxing break but here was not where it was going to happen. Very very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Janicenewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    21
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I don't usually write reviews but thought this place needs a bit of credit. Padraig was brilliant, always there to help. Cabins were great and nicely spread apart (private), inside the cabin had all the basic equipment, just a quick drive to local shops to pick up essentials.

The area was beautiful and lovely to walk around, very peaceful and quite. We spent a day at the lake fishing, and thankfully pulled a few fish out of the water. Spent hours in the tennis court which we basically had to our selves as there were only a few family's staying.

Had friends over for the last night, amazing time and good craic, was able to order a Chinese which the menus were inside cabin which was handy. Only a few problems which was the cooker door was broke but we didn't mind and the beds were terrible, very hard and ended up with a sore back. Next time I'll know to bring a few blankets but this hasn't put me off, I will defo be going back!

Great experience and came home happy, relaxed and chilled. Amazing how a few days peace can make u feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Kilcorby log cabins is known for its peaceful and relaxing location in West Cavan. W e aim to be always there for visitors to help them in any way possible thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great place to relax with the family and friends.
Padraig is so helpful and couldn't do any more to make our trip a success.
So safe for the kids to wander around and play on the tennis court or in the games room.
Games room is great and made the weekend , kept all the kids happy.
Cabins were spotless and well equipped.
the scenery around the area is fantastic and so handy to get to.
definitely be back next year for the same .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Fantastic 4 day stay at Kilcorby log cabins even though the weather wasn't overly favourable.
Superbly kept secure "gated" private grounds with acres of space to let kids run free without the worry of them wandering off.
Self contained site with large private pier for launching a boat, fishing or in our case a nice long paddle up the Woodford River, back into the North & back again.
Situated just inside Co. Cavan, approx 13 miles from Lisnaskea. The site is handy enough to get to albeit off the main N3 road. (N3 to L1506 to Yellow road) Yellow road is unnamed road on Sat Nav.
Plenty of country roads with very little traffic for mountain biking with local forests available for some off roading also.
Cabins are smack bang in between Ballyconnell, Lisnaskea & a few other local towns where groceries & supplies are available if required.
Fantastic value for money, check Groupon as the cabins can be snapped up for as little as £159 for a full weekend break ;-)
Cabin accom. 3 bedrooms (1 double with sink, 1 twin & 1 single) air beds available for 6th person, living room, bathroom with electric shower & bath, kitchen, hallway & small sheltered porch with BBQ.
Kitchen has microwave, oven, kettle, cutlery & hot/cold water. Immersion runs for the whole duration of your stay so hot water 24/7.
Padraic is the on site guy & is extremely accommodating, anything we asked for was supplied almost immediately including logs for a small firepit we brought along.
A large communal building is on site also with pool table, table tennis table, BBQ's & log burning stove. There appears to be an outdoor hot tub but we didn't ask as the weather wasn't favourable enough to pursue.
Please remember these are log cabins "Not the Ritz Hotel" so if you're looking 5 star gold plated taps etc then it's the Ritz you need to book not a log cabin.
Electric wall heaters in every room, which we had to turn off as the heat would have melted you, so more than ample heating if you are a cold rife person ;-)
We had our 7 week old baby with us (party of 6) & the facilities were grand (brought our own bottle sterilizer of course)
We will definitely be back sooner rather than later, can't praise the weekend break enough.
Tom

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tommytuck1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins it was a pleasure to read., we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. W love seeing families of all ages here at the cabins relaxing and enjoying themselves.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Fantastic location and view. Beautifully maintained gardens. Very safe for the kids. Plenty of activities for all ages. Cabins very comfortable and well equipped.
Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over the May weekend . We had our two dogs with us & the had a great open space to run round in .
The Cabins ; these were to a very good standard which are kept well maintained & clean . Would sleep 6 comfortly & has everything you would need for your enjoyment . Would like to thank Padraic for keeping the place to a good standard & we will be back for another stay soon

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fergusmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins it was a pleasure to read., we are glad you had an enjoyable stay It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. W love seeing families of all ages here at the cabins relaxing and enjoying themselves.
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here recently with my wife and children. The park itself is very well kept, clean and very very peaceful. The cabins are cosy and well appointed with multichannel TV. The interiors can seem a bit tired in places and some of the external doors can be draughty in cold weather, but generally everything is fine. We had one minor problem with a blown bulb which was fixed very quickly. Perhaps the most amazing thing is the night sky when clear. It is a sight and a joy to behold! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wills1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcorby Log C, Manager at Kilcorby Log Cabins, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our log cabins, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon Kilcorby Log cabins provide a peaceful chilled out relaxing holiday away for all the family :)
With Thanks
Kilcorby Log Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belturbet
1.8 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
14.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Dungimmon House
Dungimmon House
#1 of 6 in Ballyconnell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Church View Guest House B&B
8.9 mi away
Fortview House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcorby Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcorby Log Cabins

Property: Kilcorby Log Cabins
Address: Yellow Road | Belturbet Co Cavan, Belturbet, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Belturbet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Belturbet
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodford River, part of the great Shannon-Erne Waterway, runs by Kilcorby's picturesque log cabins. The tranquil, rural setting is a blissful retreat from the pace of modern life. As you look on the cruisers gliding by, listen to the whirr of an anglers reel or just drink in the peace of the place, you can plan your holiday itinerary in the sure knowledge that Kilcorby is perfectly placed to satisfy anyone, active or passive, who wants a different holiday experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing