We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Errigal Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent greeting and the booking in process was very swift. My room was fabulous and had a balcony, huge bed and very comfortable and crispy sheets such luxury. Bathroom well appointed with everything you need and clean.
There was a function on in the evening so I ate in the bar, very attentive staff and always a smile on their face, made a refreshing change....... Food good quality and well presented. I was travelling alone so the dim lighting in the bar was very welcome, didn't feel like everyone was watching me.
The reason for my excellent was the complete quite I experienced, no banging doors, no loud TV's , no stomping feet wished all hotels were like this.
If I am working in the area again will stay again.
Only negative - no gym

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked three rooms for my family and I at the End of May 2014. The receptionist Kinga is very efficient. The beds were extremely comfortable and the decor was bright and breezy. I stayed at this hotel last year and would definitely recommend this hotel. The breakfast is freshly prepared to your liking and has a great choice again staff very helpful and polite. I wish we had time to sample the Spa. We will make time next year.
The hotel could do with exchanging the directional sign post for The White Horse in Cootehill for a sign post to the Errigal as the White Horse has closed down. This would help tourists find the Hotel easier. Thanks to all staff at the Errigal x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolateadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went for a night away on my birthday recently. Booked the Executive Suite as a special treat! Room was gorgeous and worth the extra spend. Staff were exceptionally nice, not just in reception but also in the restaurant and bar. Would definitely visit here again in the future and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive room if you have a little extra to spend, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went for a short spa break with hubby. First night away from kids in 4.5yrs so we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. Location was beautiful, hotel was clean and rooms beautifully furnished. Meal was top quality ( reccommend the sea food chowder). We had a full body swedish massage with Maggie and the girls which was first class and chilled out in the relaxation suite. Two hours relaxing went by in a flash. Will definately be back again, hopefully we will not have to wait another 4.5yrs!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went but didnt stay. Had heard rave reviews about this place but I was completely underwhelmed. Dated and over rated.
Place could do with a good clean before id consider revisiting. Bar staff could do with hot whiskey presentation lessons.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angusdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding, I was very impressed with our bed room, it was huge with a lovely big bath. The staff couldn't do enough for us. The grounds are very well kept, flowers everywhere!!! I'd highly recommend this hotel if your visiting Cootehill or attending a wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great break in a really nice, clean, modern hotel. Exceptional breakfast just put the icing on the cake. Also permitted us a late check out on the final day. Some beautiful scenery in the local area. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeltJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cootehill
11.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
841 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,411 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Country House Hotel

Address: Cavan Rd, Cootehill, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cootehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Price Range: £81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Errigal Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Errigal Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errigal Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing