We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time and time again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Errigal Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Time and time again...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I keep coming back! I travel to this area for work and have a choice of where I can stay - but time and time again, I keep coming back to the Errigal Country House Hotel.

This time I stayed in room 230 which is probably one of the best rooms in the hotel. It certainly is a large room with a very large balcony. The room was very comfortable and it was nice to see fresh flowers in the room when I arrived. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. The balcony had lovely views of the gardens and as it was a lovely evening it was nice to spend some time on the balcony. However, if I had to make one negative comment it is that - given the massive size of the balcony - there should be some patio furniture on it. It didn't feel right to take on of the chairs from the bedroom to sit on it.

One of the things I like about this hotel is that they keep trying to improve an already great product. Each time I arrive I notice something new. This time it was a small welcome fountain at the entrance to the car park. Last time it was a new entrance facade. This is a sign that the owners have pride in their product and know that when you are standing still you may well be moving backwards!

Looking forward already to my next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 229 & 230 are about the best but they are a different rate from the other rooms. I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    125
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
106
203
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went for a weekend away recently Really enjoyed the hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel Staff were very nice and friendly. Food was great will defiently return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent greeting and the booking in process was very swift. My room was fabulous and had a balcony, huge bed and very comfortable and crispy sheets such luxury. Bathroom well appointed with everything you need and clean.
There was a function on in the evening so I ate in the bar, very attentive staff and always a smile on their face, made a refreshing change....... Food good quality and well presented. I was travelling alone so the dim lighting in the bar was very welcome, didn't feel like everyone was watching me.
The reason for my excellent was the complete quite I experienced, no banging doors, no loud TV's , no stomping feet wished all hotels were like this.
If I am working in the area again will stay again.
Only negative - no gym

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked three rooms for my family and I at the End of May 2014. The receptionist Kinga is very efficient. The beds were extremely comfortable and the decor was bright and breezy. I stayed at this hotel last year and would definitely recommend this hotel. The breakfast is freshly prepared to your liking and has a great choice again staff very helpful and polite. I wish we had time to sample the Spa. We will make time next year.
The hotel could do with exchanging the directional sign post for The White Horse in Cootehill for a sign post to the Errigal as the White Horse has closed down. This would help tourists find the Hotel easier. Thanks to all staff at the Errigal x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolateadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Went for a night away on my birthday recently. Booked the Executive Suite as a special treat! Room was gorgeous and worth the extra spend. Staff were exceptionally nice, not just in reception but also in the restaurant and bar. Would definitely visit here again in the future and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive room if you have a little extra to spend, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went for a short spa break with hubby. First night away from kids in 4.5yrs so we had high expectations. We were not disappointed. Location was beautiful, hotel was clean and rooms beautifully furnished. Meal was top quality ( reccommend the sea food chowder). We had a full body swedish massage with Maggie and the girls which was first class and chilled out in the relaxation suite. Two hours relaxing went by in a flash. Will definately be back again, hopefully we will not have to wait another 4.5yrs!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went but didnt stay. Had heard rave reviews about this place but I was completely underwhelmed. Dated and over rated.
Place could do with a good clean before id consider revisiting. Bar staff could do with hot whiskey presentation lessons.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angusdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cootehill
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,305 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
17.1 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
557 reviews
18.3 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Country House Hotel

Property: Errigal Country House Hotel
Address: Cavan Rd, Cootehill, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cootehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Errigal Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Errigal Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errigal Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing