We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend including a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Errigal Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend including a wedding”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went to a wedding in the Errigal on the 2nd Aug and had a very nice time overall.
Positives:
Friendly Staff - helpful
Nice Rooms - well decorated and nice view
Good Food - especially breakfast

Negatives:
Awful Wifi - and when it did connect the bandwidth was dreadful
Residents bar not open on the Sunday night for some reason - barman said most staff had gone in to town
Smelly Water - maybe it was just the rain but the water smelled really bad and you wouldn't drink it

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better view than the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinny1975_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    124
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
105
202
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stay in the Errigal every couple of months. I find people there warm, friendly happy to help. It's excellent value for money & they respect your custom. The food esp breakfast is very nice. Aircon in the rooms when it's warm could be better & the bar food could be rotated a bit more, but it's not a major problem. Would suggest to add some genuinely healthy options in the menu (esp the bar) you have access to great local produce this should be very doable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the renovated side of the hotel. WiFi is better there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alasdar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Went to friends wedding on 11th July - brilliant wedding in a lovely hotel - lovely staff, gorgeous food, lovely hotel room highly recommend Errigal Country House Hotel. We had a fantastic day with a great wedding party and well organised by hotel staff. Would definitely love to go back

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oakwood-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was at a friends wedding there last year. We had a great experience. I was very impressed with the hotel. The rooms are very spacious, with a large bed. The room was decorated to a very high standard. The meal at the wedding was excellent, service was fast and well presented, the staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend you stay here and hope to do some time again.

Room Tip: If you need room which is wheelchair suitable, make sure you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridiemck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Was here for Catherines and Tomos wedding in June, found the food was very nice and the service of the staff very efficent, we had a great wedding and it helped with the lovely surroundings and the lovely decor in the hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrisson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My sister's wedding reception was held here recently and the service we received was fantastic, would most definitely recommend it. Lovely surrounding outside, the children had a beautiful green area to run around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in Errigle for two night with breakfast and one evening meal. Would highly recommend, lovely location, food was superb and staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first time staying in this hotel and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulakrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cootehill
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
16.9 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,277 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
13.9 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
10.5 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errigal Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errigal Country House Hotel

Property: Errigal Country House Hotel
Address: Cavan Rd, Cootehill, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cootehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cootehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Errigal Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Errigal Country House Hotel is an elegant refurbished 18th Century Georgian House cushioned among the Drumlins of Cavan and Monaghan. We combine luxury with tranquillity and a warm Cavan Welcome. We offer the perfect backdrop when enjoying good food, drink and company in one of our relaxing dining areas. A visit to Riverside Spa will leave you feeling revitalized and deeply relaxed. All Guestrooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi access, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, interactive TV system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Errigal Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errigal Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing