We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Hotel”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and each time has been perfect.
The rooms are gorgeous & the beds extremely comfortable. We have had Bar Food on each occasion which was delicious. Staff are very friendly and the hotel overall is cosy. I will defiantly be back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Manager at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your generous review. I am delighted you enjoyed your staywith us.We have been putting a big effort in since we took back over the hotel in September and we are delighted that so many people are giving us positive feedback like yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
Tel: 00353 94 9252156
E: cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    34
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
49
30
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We just had an extremely enjoyable meal in the Gateway Hotel. What a very pleasant experience. The meal was excellent, and served by a waitress who was extremely helpful and pleasant. Overall very enjoyable, highly recommended. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Manager at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your generous review. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us.We have been putting a big effort into our food since we took back over the hotel in September and we are delighted that so many people are giving us positive feedback like yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
Tel: 00353 94 9252156
E: cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

If you are looking for a great carvery lunch at the right price this the venue for you. Cathal is helpful and hospitable and willing to help people in every way possible. The hotel has a large function room where I have attended a few events which have always been good

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayotom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Firstly apologise for the delay in the review of our experience at the Gateway originally another person from our party group and I wrote separate emails to the Manager (sent on the 3rd of July) unfortunately we never got a reply. When coming across trip advisor I decided to post my review

On the first of June 2012 I booked a table for seven people for a special birthday meal for my mum I requested that the meal would be served in the small room restaurant, as we didn’t wish to eat in the bar area. As like there website states “For a more formal experience, enjoy a succulent meal in our dining room”.

We have previously have had a retirement party at the hotel, a couple of anniversary meals and two special birthday meals previous to the meal on the 1st of June and as such I was confident this meal would be as enjoyable as previous ones.

Unfortunately it was disappointing, to say the least. On taking our order a starter was missing and the person had to wait while one was prepared, the soup was luke warm and I think the absolute insult that accompanied the soup was the stale brown soda bread (it was as hard as a brick) we asking the waiter if they had any bread rolls they returned with just four bread rolls (they weren’t much better). The garlic mushrooms were nice but sadly there was no dressing/sauce to accompany them and it looked rather sad with a few lettuce leaves and a slice tomato, not acceptable for a hotel restaurant. The main meal, major issues with this course was one guest asked for a roast dinner they was served a piece of gammon two scoops of mash potatoes and cabbage (basically bacon and cabbage) this does not represent a roast dinner in my view. Two guests ordered steak well done and they certainly were well charred, the other meals were just adequate. Those who indulged in dessert mainly had a baileys cheesecake, tasting it I don’t believe was prepared on the premises and it tasted processed. At no time were we asked if we wanted to order wine or drinks, any drinks we required we had to attend the bar ourselves.

Another private function was taking place in the other function room and whatever attention was given to customers that evening it certainly was evident it wasn’t shown to us.

We have had family members who came long distances to attend the meal and I feel embarrassed for the poor delivery of food and service that night. I decided with other family members not to make a formal complaint that evening as I didn’t want to ruin the entire night for my mum but felt I needed to make them aware so I emailed the manager, and was rather disappointed that I never got a response. Meals we have had their previously have been enjoyable and a good value for money “the Gateway Hotel, Swinford we pride ourselves on our friendly and professional service, along with our excellent home cooked food at very reasonable prices” On this occasion I am afraid that the hotel failed to provide this service as stated on the website.
Sadly very disappointing

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi,
Firstly on behalf of everyone here at The Gateway Hotel, Swinford I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the experience you had here. Our Hotel has recently undergone a change in ownership on September the 14th last. I have taken over management of the hotel since that date and also we have a new head chef here now as well that would not have been here at the time of your party. I pride myself in offering a top service here in the Gateway Hotel, Swinford and can promise you should you book any future family occassions here with us you will have a very different experience from your one in July.Please feel free to contact me here at the Hotel at any time. You can get me on 00353 94 9252156 or at cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel,
Swinford,
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We never stayed at the gateway but we ate there, in the end several times in our trip. The food was fantastic, absoloutley lovely and the staff were brilliant friendly, helpfull and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Felt comfy and at ease there, considering i have two children under the age of three and the staff were great. Would reccomend there for food. Couldn't comment on the rooms and stay because i never, but if the service i recieved was anything to go by i would deffinately stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank august201027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi,
Thank you very mucn for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Co. Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Lovely Hotel, great price. Rooms were spotless, comfortable & everything was in perfect working order. Bar staff were friendly & efficient & music entertainment was second to none! Lady who served us breakfast the next morning was friendly and welcoming. No compliant, the breakfast was superb.. hands off to the chef and the homemade scones just out of the oven were to die for! Will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLou025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I, with two toddlers in tow, stayed at this hotel on a weekend night recently. We needed a hotel that was reasonably priced and comfortable, and this place fitted the bill perfectly. Our room overlooked the Main Street and was comfortable, clean and not too warm/hot (as many Irish hotel rooms tend to be IMO). As there was a wedding in the hotel that night I was concerned that there may be noise, but we never heard a thing as we all slept soundly - kids included. I liked being able to see my car from the bedroom window, parked on the wide Main Street below. The bathroom was clean and surprisingly large. We had a meal in the bar, the menu and the service were both good. Breakfast was also served in the bar area and was fine.

We did have one minor problem which was quickly resolved: the hotel had our booking down for the night before but this proved no obstacle and they quickly organised a room for us at short notice with all our requirements for the kids. The staff and particularly the manager were all very helpful.

We enjoyed our stay and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixmilebridgeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Owner at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi,
Thank you very much for your positive review. I am absolutely delighted that you had such a good experience here with us at The Gateway Hotel. Having recently just taking over the running of the hotel since September 14 we are delighted with the positive experiences customers have been enjoying with us and hope that this will always continue to be the case.We hope to see you again soon
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Owner
The Gateway Hotel
Swinford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
257 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
98 reviews
15.3 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
23.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
15.7 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Property: The Gateway Hotel
Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing