We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great hotel. A family weekend away in this lovely part of the country. I brought my elderly parents and sister. We really enjoyed the stay and will be back again soon. The staff were very nice and helpful at all times. Lovely feel to the hotel. Great big breakfeast. Will be back again for more.

Room Tip: We stated in 209 and it was lovely. Very large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ire121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We travelled from the UK (party of 4) to stay at the Gateway Hotel for a long weekend. On the saturday night we had a family gathering for 40.

The rooms are basic but spotless clean. Excellent value for money. The breakfast was amazing, far more food offered than anyone could eat!

The staff were great. Very helpful, friendly and efficient.

I booked a hot buffet for 40 which was easy to arrange via phone and email (I live in the UK). The food was lovely, plenty to go around!

The hotel is located in a quiet village, reading other reviews I can't see that someone would complain about the road noise! I can't praise the staff enough and the food was lovely and great value for money.

This is a great place to stay, just a short trip from Knock West Ireland airport and a good base to explore Mayo and futher afield.

If you are looking for a welcoming family run hotel at very reasonable price, then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great room, excellent value for money and very friendly service. Cahel was a great host, with nothing too much trouble, and he is clearly the "can do" driving force behind the front of house business. We shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

consistently the best carvery without doubt.5 star meals for under a tenner.no waiting.prompt service and nice atmosphere.beef or lamb to die for.dinner available for takeaways in foil cartons.we have only eaten here.we have not stayed so we dont know what the rooms are like.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank simplyeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here this week. Right in the centre of town. Reception staff very nice and helpful. Had a drink and food in the bar. Always nice to be offered a menu and another drink in a hotel I think. All round would say it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Manager at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your generous review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.We have been putting a big effort in since we took back over the hotel in September and we are delighted that so many people are giving us positive feedback like yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
Tel: 00353 94 9252156
E: cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and each time has been perfect.
The rooms are gorgeous & the beds extremely comfortable. We have had Bar Food on each occasion which was delicious. Staff are very friendly and the hotel overall is cosy. I will defiantly be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyons55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Manager at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your generous review. I am delighted you enjoyed your staywith us.We have been putting a big effort in since we took back over the hotel in September and we are delighted that so many people are giving us positive feedback like yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
Tel: 00353 94 9252156
E: cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We just had an extremely enjoyable meal in the Gateway Hotel. What a very pleasant experience. The meal was excellent, and served by a waitress who was extremely helpful and pleasant. Overall very enjoyable, highly recommended. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateway S, Manager at The Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your generous review. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us.We have been putting a big effort into our food since we took back over the hotel in September and we are delighted that so many people are giving us positive feedback like yourself. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Cathal Kelly
Manager
The Gateway Hotel, Swinford, Co. Mayo
Tel: 00353 94 9252156
E: cathalkelly@gatewayswinford.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
272 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
117 reviews
15.3 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
14.2 mi away
Ballina Manor Hotel
Ballina Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ballina
494 reviews
15.7 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range: £54 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing