We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Roscommon, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed here for one night, a Saturday. We went to a family party nearby so this was just a base for us. The room was lovely and the receptionist and bar staff were friendly and polite. The bar area is a bit lifeless, there's no real atmosphere. The food was ok, nothing to write home about.
I would stay here again as a base, but i wouldn't recommend it if you want to enjoy the hotel itself . . if that makes sense.
My only criticism would be that our room was at the front, overlooking Main Street and the noise when the bar / club opposite closed at 2am was horrendous. We weren't too bothered because we weren't long in ourselves, but if we hadn't been up anyway i'd have been really annoyed.

  • Liked — Lovely clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — The noise when the pub/club opposite closed at 2am
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    36
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
50
31
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Arriving late at Knock Airport I was keen to find a Hotel close by. After a lot of searching found Kelly's but was a little concerned by the picture on the net ... also the fact that check-in ended at 11pm!

So we arrived -- yes no receptionist but a sign to say ask in the bar -- which we did and were soon attended too. Nice room -- and as we had arrived earlier than expected were able to eat in the restaurant (last orders 9.15pm). Good -- real food -- and excellent value -- good service. Breakfast too was good and check-out was fast and friendly. 3 days later we went back for lunch. I am hard to please but I will be going back.

  • Liked — Good food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osprey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Just stayed 1 night at the Kellys Gateway Hotel,Swinford, Co Mayo. On arrival no reception staff and eventually had to fetch courteous barman, who summoned receptionist. We were allocated cards to rooms, in my room the bed had clearly been used to rest on and on seeing the bathroom it was in a filthy disgusting state, the toilet was soiled and unflushed.
We were given a change of room but seriously considered leaving. The second room was clean and adequate.
The bar had no ice for drinks the explanation was due to water contamination. Public toilets were not serviced.
The restaurant which we used for breakfast doubled as a function room and had no atmosphere, the waitress was polite.
Having reserved the room by phone I should have requested confirmation by letter or e mail as charged a higher rate when checking out than originally quoted, no negotiation with manager possible and quite frankly glad to leave.

  • Liked — Visit tainted by original room allocation
  • Disliked — as above
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2007

The Gateway is a lovely boutique style hotel in the centre of Swinford town in Co. Mayo. We stayed only one night but we are already determined to return. Overall it's a combination of things that made the stay very nice. First of all its a newly renovated hotel and the rooms are first class, 6ft bed and flat screen tv and a really plush bathroom. We got the impression from the moment we checked in that nothing would be too much trouble. The breakfast is a very relaxed affair, buffet style with really good choices and again I am sure if we'd had any special requests they would have been provided with pleasure. The hotel has a really nice bar attached to it and there was a great atmosphere in it on the Friday night. We had lunch there on the Saturday after we'd checked out by chance (the group we were meeting had it arranged there), again the food was hearty and tasty and served with great efficiency and hospitality.

We would really recommend this hotel if you have reason to be in or around Swinford (a great place to base yourself if you are touring in the area). You will not be dissappointed!

Oh, we had a lovely chinese on the Friday night in the Welcome Inn on Market Street (not at all impressive from the outside but fabulous, tasty chinese fayre at really reasonable prices - give it a go!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip with three colleagues. Not that inspiring from the outside but absolutely wonderful on the inside. Large rooms which have been recently refurbished, bathrooms are very good, and overall the accomodation is superb for this size of hotel. Located in the middle of a small town and with a reasonably nice bar attached. The best thing about the hotel was the staff who were very, very helpful and friendly. After checking-out we were waiting in the lobby and the receptionist asked if we would all like some coffee whilst we waited. Never had that happen before in this size of hotel. Fully recomended to anyone staying in the area.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BritinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2007

I stayed in this hotel on the 18th of April 2007..It is newly refurbished and can only be described as a lovely hotel. I was travelling with 4 business collegues and we were all in agreement that this an exceptional hotel. Bedrooms are very tastefully decorated and the staff could'nt be more helpful. I do not believe that there is a hotel in Swinford, Co. Mayo that is better than this. If you are travelling to Swinford, Co. Mayo i strongly recommend that you look no further and stay at this hotel. You certainly will not be disappointed. Tea and coffee, along with biscuits were offered even after check out while we were waiting for another collegue, a nice touch. A+++++

  • Liked — The level of comfort
  • Disliked — The location is a bit remote..not a whole lot to do..
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rayoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swinford
6.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
259 reviews
15.3 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
705 reviews
15.7 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Great National Hotel Ballina
23.6 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
14.7 mi away
The Ice House Hotel
The Ice House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ballina
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Property: The Gateway Hotel
Address: Main Street | Swinford, Swinford, Ireland (Formerly Kelly's Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Swinford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swinford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel in Swinford offers great value Accommodation with comfortable rooms in the picturesque heart of Swinford town, only 15 minutes from Ireland West Airport Knock. Free Car Parking to rear of building, Free Wi-Fi internet, All Rooms En-Suite and there is a lift to all floors. We are the proud recipients of Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence in 2014 and again this year in 2015. Thanks to all our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing