We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit to Vogur Country Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vogur Country Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vogur Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second Visit to Vogur Country Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Once again my family and I were thrilled to be back staying at Vogur! We stayed two nights in comfort fitting a 5 Star Hotel in the U.S. The bathrooms are large and accommodating, the towels big and soft and the Hotel provides a bathrobe for your enjoyment. It was so nice wrapping up in the robe after the Hot Tub!

The bedding is comfy and the linens crisp and white! Hard to leave for the day when you are tucked in a down filled bed. We enjoyed two dinners at Vogur and the Chef Snorri prepared delicious traditional meals for us...one, a local Cod and the other a delicious lamb. Of course, the extensive breakfast buffet had us thinking about just staying around the Hotel all day...eating! The dining area is extensive and comfortable; a wonderful place to meet other travelers, read a good book or just sit and enjoy the beautiful views.

We will be back soon! Thank you Gudmundur and Solveig for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms are available for families staying together, or couples desiring peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    34
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 and it was wonderful. It is located in the beautiful countryside with amazing views. The room was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was huge (which is hard to find!!) After arriving we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the hot tub and enjoyed the peaceful amazing views. The breakfast was delicious and the customer service was exceptional. The main lodge where breakfast is served is a comfortable large room that is another great spot go relax in. I would highly recommend this place and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a lovely time at Vogur Country Lodge. The owner is extremely nice and gracious, and went out of his way to help us, whether it be recommendations on where to go or helping us when our car ran out of petrol.

The room and bathroom was very clean, modern and extremely spacious. I found myself missing our room at Vogur when we stayed in other hotels and B&Bs during the rest of our time in Iceland. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and the view outside of our window was gorgeous and a treat to wake up to every morning.

The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. Our dinner was also delicious and used produce from around the area.

I would definitely recommend Vogur Country Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel1234_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Beautifull surroundings, silence, unforgettable arctic tranquility - it's a "Iceland standard" for farmhouses. The same we had in Vogur farmhouse. From the terrace You can enjoy Hvammsfjordur panorama with mountains behind it. From the backyard - hills with waterfall not far from the farmhouse.

Although the kitchen is surrounded by guest rooms, it is for stuff use only. It's not typical for Iceland and we don't expected it. The owner kindly makes us an exception and lets us make our meal there.

wi-fi internet is not available here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dangis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Vogur Farmhouse is a calming, quiet, relaxing place to stay. My husband and I stayed there for a couple of days and found it quite enjoyable. The hosts (Gummi and Solla) make you feel at home and have some wonderful ideas of what to fill your days with. The view from the guest quarters are absolutely fabulous. You have hills, creeks, fjords, and of course the beautiful nature itself. It is a great place to go walking, hiking, fishing, and the serenity of quietness. The rooms are nicely decorated, beds are very comfortable. I would absolutely refer anyone to this location if they seek beauty, rest, feeling of serenity, and the enjoyment of the outdoors. Compliments to the owners of this great Vogur Farmhouse..........We will come back again.

Cheri & Matt Ligocki
Keller Texas

Room Tip: always have a jacket with you, could be cool in the evenings. binoculars to see the wild life and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have visited Vogur several times and each time it gets better and better. One is surrounded by the still beauty of nature, the peaceful waters of a fjord, the large hills behind the farm yielding lucious plump wild blueberries (during picking season in August) and of course, the gracious host spinning tales and sagas of the Vikings who once resided near here. Eric the Red was said to have hidden out on one of the little islands just off shore before launching his boat and discovering Greenland.

Our hosts provided the most comfortable beds and linen; especially enjoyable were the soft down filled comforters placed on our beds for the sometimes chilly evenings. Indeed we all felt so at home and made to feel so welcomed.

Long walks along the seaside or through the pastures during the day and sitting outdoors around our campfire watching the sunset in the evening was an adventure. This place is a magnet for unique waterfowl and birds of every shape and size....We even glimpsed eagles.

The vistas are remarkable here.Sheep graze among the green grasses, ewes nudging their small lambs out of the roadways, and horses roam freely in the hills, all adding to our pleasure. Nearby fishing is available and horseback riding on the small Icelandic ponies can also be arranged by the Host. Day trips to see the famous Geyser, the old Icelandic Parliament,Althing, the beautiful waterfalls, and even river rafting are all within a short distance from Vogur.

Both our Host Gummi and his lovely wife Solla are fluent in English and so gracious in helping make our vacation a memorable occasion. We will definately be returning soon; maybe next time during the horse round-up in Fall.

Our trip to Iceland was a wonderful experience and the people of this country so friendly and hospitable. Thank you, Gummi and Solla for making our vacation a truly magnificent memory!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We recently stayed 2 days at Vogur Guesthouse when visiting the west of Iceland.

We got a friendly welcome and felt right at home. The place just opened a few weeks ago, so everything there is new and fresh, and the beds were extremely confy. We almost missed a day staying in bed one day.
The landscape surrounding Vogur is overwhelming, with the mountains, sea, and little islands all around. We had some fantastic walks in this beautiful environment and finished off our day relaxing with a glass of wine in the outdoor hot-tub.

We truly loved our stay at Vogur and give it our best recommendations. Great location, friendly staff, with fantastic food and accommodation.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budardalur
12.5 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 5 in Stykkisholmur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Castle
The Castle
#2 of 5 in Budardalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Ljosaland
Hotel Ljosaland
#1 of 1 in Budardalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vogur Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogur Country Lodge

Property: Vogur Country Lodge
Address: Vogur, Budardalur 371, Iceland (Formerly Vogur Farmhouse)
Region: Iceland > West Region > Budardalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Budardalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vogur Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Snæfellsnes Glacier and Breidafjördur Bay, this converted farmhouse enjoys a peaceful, remote setting along Iceland’s north-western coast. It offers traditional Icelandic cuisine, free Wi-Fi and a free outdoor hot tub.Vogur Country Lodge’s bright, fresh rooms have simple décor and a private bathroom with shower.The restaurants specialities inclue salmon, lamb ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Vogur Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing