We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation”
Review of Les Chalets Alpins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Les Chalets Alpins
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our third time renting a chalet here and as usual, we found the experience to be very enjoyable. Each time, staff have appeared on site within minutes of reporting any issues i.e. missing pool cue on one occasion and a malfunctioning stove (which was replaced with a new one as quickly as humanly possible). The chalets are fully equipped and comfortable, in a beautifully scenic location which is why we choose to make the long drive from the Hamilton, Ontario area each time. The grandchildren and adults get to spend quality time together but the units are spacious enough that you can retreat for privacy if you choose. I'd highly recommend these chalets to anyone wanting a peaceful family vacation, with lots of activities available nearby. We're hoping to try this again, in the summertime, since some of these units are equipped with pools.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

After reading previous post, I had to share our experience. This year we chose Les Chalets Alpins for our annual family time. The place was comfortable and well equipped, as you would expect considering the high rental price (4 nights, 4000 $ with tax). Our only concern was the closeness of the chalet, no privacy. We had good family time, and then they got greedy with us. Shortly after our departure we were accused of staining a couch with wine (so not true, the allegation was for a couch upstair - never did we drank wine upstair!) And they accused us of punching a hole in the wall. Come on !!! Charged several hundred for cleaning the couch and repairing the wall, even before they got to do these ''restorations''. Our family got this feeling of being ripped off.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletsalpins, Propriétaire at Les Chalets Alpins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We do not understand your motivation to post a comment on this site in English because we know perfectly that your first language is French. As you chose this language, we shall answer you that the damages caused to the wall and the couch as been charged because they were not present before your arrival. Our maintenance staff make a serious inspection of the units after each stay to verify if the conditions of location were respected.

We would like to remind you that must notify us about any damages or malfunction in your unit during and at the end of your stay to avoid this kind of unpleasant situation as much for you as for us.

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A group of us stayed at the chalets over the New Years period and actually very much enjoyed our time. The chalets are decently clean and well kept. The location is good in that you are close to the Stoneham ski hill and not too far a drive from Quebec City. However, we were extremely disappointed to find that our credit card had been charged for a new hot tub cover a week after we left. The cover was damaged prior to our arrival and noted by the staff that it was so. Over the course of our stay, and the use of the hot tub, this tear in the cover gradually grew worse in the very cold weather. The staff of the chalets who maintain the hot tub on a daily basis never made mention of this to us and we were not informed of the damage prior to our departure. We have been charged an amount just shy of a thousand dollars for a new cover and threatened with a vandalism charge by the Chalet Alpins staff. I would not recommend this business to anyone else staying in the area. Judging by other reviews on this site, this is not the first occurrence of this sort of tactic either. We are all very disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DBeirnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletsalpins, Propriétaire at Les Chalets Alpins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

You are well informed at your arrival that you must notify us of about any damages or malfunction in your unit during and at the end of your stay.

At any moment we have been informed about the damages to the hot tub cover. We are sorry for the inconveniences caused by this situation, but when we notice that the conditions of location are not respected, we have to take action to preserve the trust of the properties' owners.

Judging by other reviews on this site, we can observe that most of people are satisfied by their stay and the services we offer them.

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The worst part is the bed, all 5 young adults did not sleep well at all. The sofa bed is old its mattress's springs hit your back. All mattress are finished in the room for 3. All of the young adults had back problems for 3 days. The internet connection and tv cable did not work before the next morning.

Room Tip: You must ask the owner if the sofa bed and the mattress have been changed before you go . The top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaletsalpins, Propriétaire at Les Chalets Alpins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We would at first like to thank you for your comments about the comfort of beds in this chalet. It's in our opinion the best way to help us improve our services and equipments.

We can assure you that if we had been informed about the situation during your stay, it would have pleased us to bring you new mattresses.

The sleep quality of our clients is a point really important for us and you can be sure that we will make the necessary correctives in this chalet.

Cordially,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We've been there for a familly meeting at thanksgiving (canadian) october 12-14. 2013

Overall the houses for rental at Les Chalets Alpins are nice but you just feel there as you are in any suburbs with houses are very close to each other. Forget privacy here and also, chances are there is going to be a party running at one or another of these very close neighbors. Spas are cool but, once again, privacy is very limited.

I left my credit card number as a garantee for the rental and they charged me 55$ for a pool stick which was broken prior to our arrival and quickly repaired with tape so no one noticed until we used it. They never ask anything before cashing down 55$ on my card ! I feel like I was stolen daytime.

Another annoying thing is the poor sound insulation inside... you better carry earplugs for a quiet night. Because of te materials used inside, sound seems to rebound endlessly... finally, I was happy to be back home.

Looks like it is good for 2-3 couples with no kids for a ski week-end in Stoneham but definitely not for a 25 people party with kids. The surrounding of the houses is not ideal for kids too... lots of rocks, walls and a little river with slippery rocks.

We are not going to return there, especially since they charge 2500$ for the week-end ... plus the pool stick of course !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank relaxer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We spent the weekend, the place is quiet and amazing.It looks like a very secure small town in the mountain with wondeful houses.The beds were very comfortable.It was clean and had everything you need in a house.Nice hiking trails and close to the parc de la Jacques Cartier.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank GennySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights there for a family with 6 people. The location is very good. It's a ski area so summer is their quite time. It's about 16 mile and 25 minutes drive from Quebec city, so it's not far away. We enjoy the mountain and view.

We live in a 3-bedroom cottage. The quality of cottage is very good. Kids like the bunk bed. The first evening, we have trouble with oven and internet, so we call management office around 8:30pm, the maintenance person come in just 10 minutes and solve the problem. Much faster than my expectation.

It's a very good value for a big family to take vacation in Quebec city area. There is a grocery store IGA 1/4 miles from management office and a golf course couple miles away. We enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
2.7 mi away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
302 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
1.7 mi away
Condos & Hotel Stoneham
Condos & Hotel Stoneham
#2 of 2 in Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Le Domaine du Lac Saint Charles
Le Domaine du Lac Saint Charles
#16 of 120 in Quebec City
153 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets Alpins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets Alpins

Address: 369 Chemin du Hibou, Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury, Quebec G3C 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury
Price Range: £108 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Chalets Alpins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Chalets Alpins luxury cottage and condo rental properties are ideally located right in Stoneham Mountain Resort, just 20 minutes outside Quebec City. Our cottages and condos are steps away from the lifts with fantastic views of the ski resort in Stoneham or of the lake in beautiful Lac Beauport. Les Chalets Alpins offer the finest rental properties and the best value in Stoneham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Chalets Alpins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing