We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Spa Experience”

Le Nordique spa Stoneham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the banks of the majestic Jacques Cartier river, with an astonishing view on the river valley, Le Nordique spa et detente offers Scandinavian-style relaxation based on alternating heat and cold. Finnish saunas, Turkish steam bath, outdoor hot tubs, Nordic bath, and massage therapy are available to complement a wonderful outdoor experience in a pure, natural environment.
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hyperboles in the website and advertising brochure convinced me to choose this spa over the competition, despite the rather long and winding drive from Quebec City .What a disappointment. Okay, this isn't a spa where you will find welcoming tea, bowls of red apples and stacks of fresh towels. It's bare bones and unwelcoming from the word go. You receive one towel and are instructed that you must pay if your towel gets wet (which of couse it does) and you need another one. You are warned never to go barefoot. The no-frills approach extends to the minimal facilities, from cracked floor tiles and no paper towels in the machine in the bathrooms, to crowded hot tub. In November, it was freezing outside and the resting areas were not warm enough for me to be comfortable. I have dietary restrictions, and had brought a snack--a few carrots and cereal. I was told there was nowhere on the site I could eat, (unless I ordered a meal through the spa) and should go eat in my car! When the receptionist realized how harsh this sounded she relented, but the manager soon appeared to enforce the rule. The drive back in the dark was challenging. I travel extensively and frequently try out spas in different countries. This was my worst experience.

4  Thank Jerusalembarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlavoie, Propriétaire at Le Nordique spa Stoneham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We are sorry that you were disapointed after your visit to our spa.

Considering that we have our own restaurant, we feel that it is innapropriate for our customers to bring their own lunch as any other restaurant would do.

With regards to our crowded hot tub, since our largest one has a capacity of 30 people and our combined facilities have a capacity of over 60 people, we don't undestand why you felt that our hot tub was so crowded, considering that only 15 customers were on the site on that day. Maybe our definition of a crowded hot tub is simply different.

Finally, for environmental considerations, we have established a green commitment based on principles like "users pay for what they get". We have been able to reduce our normal rates but we ask our customers to pay an extra if they want more services like food, beverages, towels or robes. We are sorry that this philosophy does not match yours.

We will consider your comments for future developments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Le Nordique spa Stoneham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

The Nordique was the highlight of the trip for my boyfriend and I. We planned to have our massages at noon, but arrived at 10am to enjoy the hot tub, steam baths, saunas and all the "extras" le Nordique had to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The other clients at the spa seemed to be quite enjoying their experience. I would HIGHLY recommend this spa. We found the massage to be extremely relaxing and we really enjoyed the drive up the mountain and the lush scenery they have surrounded themselves with. I would recommend to bring a house-coat. We took the ones from our Hotel, and found comfort with them, due to the chilly weather we had during our stay. It was a pleasure meeting the staff and getting to experience such a fantastic group of people. The price is greeat too!!

2  Thank jackiehoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlavoie, Propriétaire at Le Nordique spa Stoneham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

Thank martines981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017
Google Translation

Thank char0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlavoie, Propriétaire at Le Nordique spa Stoneham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Nordique spa Stoneham also viewed

 
Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury, Quebec
Stoneham-et-Tewkesbury, Quebec
 

Been to Le Nordique spa Stoneham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing