We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fanscinating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Project

Eden Project
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bodelva
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trek through the world's largest indoor rainforest, take in the sights and smells of our Mediterranean Biome, and explore our huge outdoor gardens. At the Eden Project you'll discover the fascinating relationships between plants and people. You'll also find a full calendar of family events throughout the year and music festivals in the summer. As an educational charity we run transformational social and environmental projects locally and internationally.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fanscinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited the Eden Project on 12th November 2016. It was a brilliant experience and there's so much to explore. The only downside was the weather wasn't brilliant so we couldn't really properly explore outside. The biomes are fascinating. I will definitely be returning when the new walkway in the rainforest biome is finished

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank emmilee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,783
    2,319
    1,256
    592
    372
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liskeard
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh dear.........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Eden Project offer what they refer to as 'community weekends' whereby if you have a certain occupation or employer you and your immediate family can visit the Eden project for free. You will, if you search hard enough, find this information on their website and will save you paying their extortionate entrance fees.
So, having a free visit I decided to visit with my family....we had not been for a number of years and the deterioration is startling! The signs are faded, the toilets dirty, paths broken up, handrails rickety etc etc. It feels unloved. I did not see one member of staff with a brush or cloth and considering we arrived early I can only assume the rubbish on the floor around the ice rink was from the previous days.
Food - having got in for free I decided to treat the family to lunch rather than take a picnic.....what a terrible mistake well unless you are happy to pay £8.95 for Spicy Thai fishcakes! There was no option for a light lunch, baguette, jacket potato, cornish pasty etc and I felt thoroughly ripped off! £2 for small tea in a paper cup!!!!!!!

Even though we got in for free we still spent over £50 feeding a family of four....my leg was truly lifted! I will never go there again...even for free.

Lets hope Mr Smit and his commercialism does not have the same effect on Heligan which is now under the same ownership.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank oscar14841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdenProjectStaff, Customer Liaison at Eden Project, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments, we are sorry you were disappointed. We offer free community weekends each year as a thank you to the communities who support us. Our normal pricing structure covers our day to day running of the Project and some of our international charity work, but it is cheaper if tickets are booked on line. Visitors from Cornwall and Devon are offered a local pass. We have four catering outlets, each offering different food and prices so that visitors have a choice. Pasties and baguettes are available here. Your fishcake meal would have included three vegetable portions. All ingredients are sourced from small local suppliers and where possible are organic and fair trade. This costs a little more but we still manage to stay in line with other similar local catering outlets. Sir Tim Smit, along with John Nelson discovered and restored the Lost Gardens of Heligan and later co-founded The Eden Project.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought I'd pay another visit here, as the last time I came was when it had just opened. It's as fresh as ever and an amazing place to visit. It was off season so not very busy first thing, but by lunchtime there were several school parties. Having said that it still was a pleasure to walk around the biodomes and the outside gardens..

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Children on ice, play time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here on the back of a yearly membership so really good value for the small children's playing on ice/snow with sledges and small toys. Membership makes this and other trips really good value.
Children on the ice had a great time as did out grandson, first time he has seen 'snow'.
The onto the domes and the 'train' back to the top.
Great morning out on a cold November day.
Staff first rate as always, very safety focused on the ice, well done.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the site due to so many good internet reviews. Found out that there is just a botanical garden, with al kind of species of plants from around the world. Is a good site for children to learn.. school projects.. students... The entrance price is high for what the site offers. The biomes.. rain forest and the mediterranean one.. are nice for a walk around.. but thats it. So with all the fuss that is going on about this so called Eden Project.. there is no Eden.. it should be what at first wanted to be.. a SF garden of the future whit biomes from around the world that are meant for research for space exploring but.. not everyone knows this as is not meant to be.. because the site was transformed in a money maker bussiness.. They even hold Christmas market there.. really???!! Anyway.. you just want to relax.. go and sit by the sea not here! Have a good day.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Shmag F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eden Project also viewed

 

Been to Eden Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing