We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Autumnal Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Project

Eden Project
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bodelva
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trek through the world's largest indoor rainforest, take in the sights and smells of our Mediterranean Biome, and explore our huge outdoor gardens. At the Eden Project you'll discover the fascinating relationships between plants and people. You'll also find a full calendar of family events throughout the year and music festivals in the summer. As an educational charity we run transformational social and environmental projects locally and internationally.
isle of wight
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Autumnal Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting the Eden Project has been on our bucket list for years and we finally made it, courtesy of a 5 day break with Just Go Holidays.

What so impressed us was the beauty of the outside gardens and bio-domes with so few people about. It felt like we had the place to ourselves.

At this time of year we enjoyed the colourful maples, dogwoods and salvias, to name but a few. I'm sure the Eden project is wonderful throughout the seasons, and offers new things to see at any time of year. We had to make do with just one day.

The staff were all very helpful and informative, answering questions and chatting about the place. To see its full extent you do need to be fairly fit, but there are good cafés to visit, plus a very well stocked shop. We stopped at the café in the Mediterranean Bio-dome and were much taken with the numerous birds who apparently choose to live inside it for their whole lifespan.

Toilets were clean and plentiful.

We would thoroughly recommend a visit for anyone interested in the environment and nature.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank LastChristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,781
    2,318
    1,256
    592
    372
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here when it first opened, and wasn't disappointed on my return. Lots of things to do and see, even out of season. The meal in Eden kitchen cafe was lovely - the spicy baked ratatouille was just that!! Well worth the ticket price. (You can save a bit of money by getting a combined ticket with the Lost Gardens of Heligan)

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unreal experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Remarkable achievement to create tropical and mediterranean environments in such an unlikely place. A lot to see but the whole enterprise is clearly geared to cope with large numbers of visitors and so it feels like more of a theme park than a botanical miracle. Would visit the Lost Gardens of Heligan again but not sure about the Eden Project.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Roderick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Certainly a work in progress...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The rave reviews brought us there, and we were even happy to pay the full price (GBP25 or slightly cheaper if booking online) since they make it abundantly clear that your contribution is going towards building the ongoing dream.

But I couldn't help feel that they really could make it a lot more interactive and engaging - eg to help stimulate learning. One staff member was doing a great job explaining about the cork trees but I think there was ample oppty for much more or that sort of thing.

There was a very large cafe with very large prices. Again, some of the cost goes towards the project...

Lots of work was going on inside the biodomes which gave the place an 'unfinished' feel - which I suppose it very much is...

Not a bad way to spend a wet day. There's a coat rack in between the 2 biodomes which we found quite late in the piece.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fanscinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my boyfriend visited the Eden Project on 12th November 2016. It was a brilliant experience and there's so much to explore. The only downside was the weather wasn't brilliant so we couldn't really properly explore outside. The biomes are fascinating. I will definitely be returning when the new walkway in the rainforest biome is finished

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank emmilee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eden Project also viewed

 

Been to Eden Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing