We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent poached eggs”
Review of Blackwood Gully - CLOSED

Blackwood Gully
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Warburton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent poached eggs”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

After searching the net we decided to try Blackwood Gully for our group of 17 for breakfast Sat 2nd March 2013. We arrived a little early & the staff were only just setting up but once they got into full swing the breaky they deivered was spot on , perfect poched eggs , really goood! coffee all around yummy breaky. We left totally satisfied & ready for the rest of our journey along the great ocean road. Weee'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy to come back again”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Have been visiting this cafe for lunch for years - a favorite annual summer holiday stop. We drive up specially from Apollo Bay. Thanks for consistently good food, pleasant service, pretty view and predictable menu - part of the charm for us. Always enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blackwood Gully, Lavers Hill, Victoria, Australia.”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Blackwood Gully - Marea and John Baynes.

Dear Marea and John,

Please don't be offended by this 'Out of the Blue' e-mail.

My daughter and I were in Australia to visit members of our family, most of whom I hadn't seen since they emigrated from the UK way back in 1970. My daughter, on the other hand, had never met them as she wasn't born until 1977. This holiday also served as a good opportunity to see at least some of your vast country.

My cousin and her family settled in Rosebud, on the Mornington peninsular. It was from there that we together with some of our relatives flew up to Sydney and rented an SUV to drive back to Melbourne. To make the most of this month long holiday we chose to grab a few days on our own to explore along the Great Ocean Road. Having caught the 1pm Sorrento-Queencliff ferry we drove to Apollo Bay where we stopped overnight. On a balmy, warm evening we dined at Cafe 153. This stop-over proved to be a memorable one for all the wrong reasons. We were woken at around 2.30am by the thunder storms and lightning rolling around the Otways hills. The rain and high winds were so strong that we couldn't get back to sleep. Around 8.30/9.00am we packed our cases into our SUV and headed out onto the Great Ocean Road again, heading West. By this time we were both hungry, very hungry. Our Sat-Nav indicated the way to Lavers Hill as the nearest road-side eateries. At about 10.00am we drove past your place but because we were ravenous by this time we back-trackes and pulled in. This was, maybe, the best decision we would make during the week we were driving around in Victoria.

Yes, we were hungry! Yes we would have potentially gnawed our way through the hind leg of a scabby donkey by that time! But what we were about to experience was ' Just what the doctor ordered' The house 'Big Breakfast' was an obvious choise. However, when Marea served our food to us, not only was it nicely presented it was plentiful and tasted just as good as, if not better than, home-cooked. Marea and John, it was a real pleasure to meet you and eat in your diner! This was an experience that we still tell our friends and relatives about. March 15th 2012 will remain an occasion we will dine out on for many a year to come.

To underpin this story, since returning to England in March we have visited Dubai, staying at the Atlantis, The Palm. I only mention this because even after dining there and on the renowned 'Batteaux Dubai' the famous Dubai Creek floating restaurant we still use our 'Blackwood Gulley Big Breakfast' eating experience as something of a yard-stick when describing a good meal to folks.

In stark contrast, the worst dining experience we fell prey to was in the wheat town of Dimboola on the way to the Little Desert and Horsham. Again, we were looking for as early morning breakfast. It was on Saturday the 17th of March. Out of three cafes in this 'One Horse Town' there was just one that had bothered to open, even though it was ten in the morning. We ordered, in our innocence, a full English breakfast. We took a seat at a table and waited for our order. The Chinese waitress who had taken our order brought our food to us in a brown paper sandwich bag. What we got was a 'Road Crash' of the most unappetising bacon sandwiches we had ever been exposed to. We also got the subliminal message that tourists were not welcome in Dimboola. We ended up eating our "food" in a road side parking area and shared them with the local flies. From NSW to Victoria our Dimboola experience was the singularly worst exception to the rule. Every other place we ate was, at worst, acceptable and best outstanding. Bravo to Australia for its hospitality and food quality.

We may well be back in Australia within a couple of years. If we are in the Otways we will be sure to call in.


Thanks for everything!


Graham and Gayle Giles.
(Brentwood, Essex. UK.)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We have eaten here over the past 15 years.”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We are lucky enough to have visited our relatives near melbourne 4 times in the past 15 years. Each time we have had a trip down the Great Ocean Road and we have always stopped here for lunch. The quality of the food, the excellent staff and ambience of the place has always been of a very high standard, I look forward to our next visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank niftyfifty53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Devonshire tea and lovely view”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Nice lady served us fantastic huge fluffy scones with delicious raspberry jam and cream. And tea. Great view over a valley, warm room, great ambience. We came back the next day for morning tea, more of the same.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyQinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackwood Gully also viewed

Lavers Hill, Victoria
Lavers Hill, Victoria
 
Ferguson, Victoria
 
Lavers Hill, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing