We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever, yet improving”
Review of Pumula Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Umzumbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pumula Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umzumbe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have had the privilege of staying at the Pumula Hotel every year for the past 22 years which, arguably, places me in the strongest position to comment on the evolution of this establishment and its appeal to holidaymakers.

The single biggest positive influence on the resort was the appointment of Phillip (Gibson) as manager. From the onset he maintained its "old world" charm whilst seeking to tastefully upgrade every single aspect of the hotel - rooms, dining room, swimming pool, childrens' play area, conference facilities etc. The improvements are substantial (and on going) yet this has not been reflected in the tariffs which have been maintained at an affordable level, particularly for families.

The food is outstanding, the management (Phillip and his assistant, Ryan Ringo) attentive and hands on, and the staff friendly and effective.

Being from the Cape, my wife and I very much enjoy our wines. In this respect, Ryan has put together the best wine list I have seen in South Africa which, significantly, suits all pockets and palates.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RobinCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friend from Johannesburg arranged this 5 day break ,he stayed here before and everything he told me about the Hotel & Staff was so true.The general manager Philip Gibson & his Staff couldn't do enough for us . It was the end of the season and quite the first few days (they were doing alterations to the reception) which we believe that's how they had planned their bookings, regardless this didn't effect us one bit. The food was perfect never had a bad meal during our stay the complete hotel was clean inc gardens etc,the staff were very friendly & obliging . Very close to the beach ,the Pool was the only thing that could do with a refurb .
Personally I would rate this hotel 4 star + had a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinniongang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Pumula offers the best of both worlds for a family or couple wanting an uncomplicated seaside holiday. The hotel is beautifully furnished and styled but is also practical in terms of sandy little feet and wet swimming costumes. Access to the beach is via a gate which is locked between 18h00 and 06h00. The hotel lounge offers a venue for families to congregate before dinner or to while away a wet afternoon playing board games. The childrens diningroom and television room offers parents a break from the wee ones. The food in the adult diningroom is filling and tasty - if you want a restaurant meal every night then this is not the fare for you. It is homestyle food served in four courses and very well presented.

I spent the night here with my business associates and the hotel staff took every opportunity to accommodate us including a packed breakfast as breakfasts are only served after 06h30. I am planning to return on holiday and enjoy what all the other guests around us were enjoying!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Reminds me of British hotels from the 50s when families returned year after year for their summer holidays. Cleaning of bathroom could be greatly improved. Food quite good and service friendly and fast. Liked the pool area. Location next to beach was wonderful and the surf had a very relaxing effect. One important safety measure would be a notice on the gate from the hotel advising whether or not the shark nets are out. When we were there it was not until we had walked along to the lifeguard hut that we discovered that the nets were not out. Several people from the hotel had gone into swim opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What an unbelievably fantastic holiday we had here over December. All thanks to Philip, Ryan and all the staff. For a family with young kids words cannot describe the excellent level of service, the three stars does not do it justice, we will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great location, excellent beach and beautiful views of the Indian Ocean. Pumula Beach Hotel rooms are well appointed and offer everything you need as a traveller for business or holiday. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food very good, especially the seafood dishes. Wifi in the public areas a plus!

Room Tip: Room 25 with its balcony and view overlooking the sea and beautiful gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

For a 3star rated hotel, this places offers so much more. Excellent service, spacious rooms, great food and awesome entertainment for kids. With only minor cleaning related issue to complain about, this hotel certainly is worth a visit. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sadiyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umzumbe
11.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
32 reviews
14.2 mi away
Oribi Gorge Hotel
Oribi Gorge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Port Shepstone
73 reviews
18.8 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
72 reviews
7.3 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pumula Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pumula Beach Hotel

Address: 67 Steve Pitts Road, Umzumbe 4225, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umzumbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Umzumbe
Hotel Class:3 star — Pumula Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Pumula Beach Hotel South Africa/Umzumbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing