We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a four night stay with Ali and Rich at the beach house and we couldn't have been more pleased. From the amazing breakfasts to the relaxing vibe of the indoor and outdoor decor, to the snuggly hangs with their dog, Hansa - everything was just wonderful.

Rich took us on some day trips to go Zip Lining and to a Snake farm! Both great adventures. We did one surf lesson with him and really had an incredible time!

Ali is such a gracious host. She was totally attentive to any and all of our needs and also very sensitive and aware of the time we needed to relax and not be bothered. Her smoothies really rule the world!

The bed was comfy and we had a great breeze coming off of the beach. It was like heaven. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzzanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
18
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

For what ever you are into this place is great. When the waves were small, we went snorkelling around the reefs and saw loads of marine life, Rich (the owner) took us out to one of his secret spots and caught some lobster for the bbq. The next day when the swell picked up, we had epic waves right out front and all to ourselves. In between the surfing, fishing, snorkelling and exploring it was very easy to find a comfortable spot to relax and enjoy a book or just catch up with your thoughts. The house has good wifi so internet access was also possible.

Ali makes the place feel homely, she makes a mean breakfast and all the meal options were very healthy and fresh. Both Rich and Ali were helpful and insightful if you want/need travel ideas or advice, they even helped me plan some of my trip.

I can't wait to go back and believe me I will

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been going to the Umzumbe beach house for the last 10 years and have so many great memories of friends, amazing waves & good times! A gem of a spot only an hour or two out of Durban. Cant wait for our next trip down, no doubt the waves will be firing and the Hansa's will be ice cold!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dustinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good times, great waves, epic people. And maybe even some fresh seafood at the right time of year. The house is right on your own private beach with a number of different waves and beaches to explore. Top of my list of holiday destinations - never disappoints!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDBlake82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have come to The Umzumbe Surf house a couple of times and will keep on coming back for more. The hosts Rich & Ali are a hands on couple, whipping up healthy delicious breakfasts, offering surf lessons, and always ready and available to assist! Expect relaxed laid back vibes, light airy rooms, afternoon naps in the hammock, and for when party mood strikes, there is the pub just down the way for cold beers and live music.
Oh and did I mention that this spot is RIGHT on the beach? Yup, we woke up to the sound of crashing waves each morning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

if i could live in this house full time, i would!!! absolutely adorable, clean, inviting home, and just steps down the backyard bring you to the most beautiful beach you've ever seen. if you surf, you are in luck, and if you don't surf, you're also in luck, bc this place is incredible. rich and ali couldn't be nicer, or more awesome, and it doesn't hurt that they're basically a beautiful bronzed beach god and goddess, they look like they were birthed from the most pristine conch shell in front of a sunset. the food ali prepares each day is fresh and delicious, and the prices are so cheap - after you buy the ticket (which can be about 1100 or less if you get a deal), you're spending next to nothing in South Africa to live like a king.

as a native south african, rich knows everything there is to know not just about best surf spots but the wildlife, the history, everything there is to know. they will help you organize your trip and make suggestions taht you just cant find from guide books. they are the best of the best!

this is an affordable trip, and a life changing experience, guaranteed or your money back!! *just kidding about the money back, but you won't need your money back, i guarantee* that too....

i personally intend on going back every year, more than once a year if i could swing it! umzumbe surf house is a no brainer, i love those guys and i had the trip of my lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This house, this yard, the wave right out front - oh, and two of the best hosts/guides you could ask for! Rich and Ali took care of our every need, were full of awesome ideas and made our trip a blast! From Oribi Gorge, to Leopard Mountain, to Moz and every stop in between - nonstop fun and zero stress for us. Thank you, thank you, we will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaney162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umzumbe
11.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Elysium
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
18.9 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Pumula Surf Camp
Pumula Surf Camp
#3 of 5 in Umzumbe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Tahiti Sands
Tahiti Sands
#3 of 8 in Shelly Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.6 mi away
Honeywood
Honeywood
#4 of 18 in Port Shepstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
7.6 mi away
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
Umthunzi Hotel & Conference
#1 of 3 in Port Shepstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp

Property: Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp
Address: 11 Green Lane | Umzumbe, Umzumbe 4225, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umzumbe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Umzumbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 1 hour South of Durban Airport, Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp is conveniently located steps away from Umzumbe beach and it's famous right hand point break. Located on the South Coast of South Africa in a small beach town. The private beach-front property is the ideal destination for surfers and beach lovers who are looking for a laid-back environment, that is casual and relaxed. The house and rooms have been carefully decked out with a beachy surf style, always clean and comfortable. Seclusivley located in a sub-tropical bush setting with private access to Umzumbe's stunning blue flagged beach and famous right hand point break, the Surf House is a well kept secret paradise. With an expansive property, it's a popular place for Beach-front Camping. Surf School with Surfing Lessons, Surfboard Rentals, Guided Surf trips, Guided Walks and Hikes to the nearest waterfalls are available daily. Yoga, Golf, Bungee Jumping, Zip Lining, Diving, Safari Trips and many more activities can be arranged. The staff and owners are a breath of fresh air providing the most friendly hospitality to all guests. Umzumbe Surf House is owned and managed by a South African & American couple, who run Surf Tours along the entire eastern coastline of South Africa. Facilities at Umzumbe Surf House include Hammocks, Lounge Chairs, Sofas, Outside Picnic Table, Outside Showers, Yoga Deck, Guest Kitchen, Safe Car Parking, Internet Access, Laundry, Bed Linen, Towels, Security, Camping, a Safe, Airport Shuttle Service and a small Cafe Style Menu offering African grown coffee, Healthy Smoothies and Healthy Meal Options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umzumbe Surf House & Surf Camp South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing