We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is truly a remarkable, rustic, genuine Western experience.”
Review of Flying U Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in 70 Mile House
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flying U Ranch
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Four of us spent a wonderful weekend at the Flying U. Dedicated hosts, attentive ranch hands, lovely animals. You can find high end food and accommodation anywhere in the world - this is not that - but a true and authentic western experience. And a truly unique experience is rarer than hens teeth! We spent a night in the saloon playing cards and listening to the player piano. Saturday night we learned to square dance with a diverse group of guests including a terrific group of young men celebrating a 19th birthday. We rode the range, ate steak and stayed in a pleasant little rustic cottage that reminded me of little house on the Prarie. We can't wait to go back! This place is magical.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have been going to the Flying U Ranch for a number of years. It is my husbands favorite getaway. I believe its one of the very few places where you can ride unsupervised. It is a real rustic experience. I have rated the rooms and service a 4 just because I do not want to misled readers, it is no Four Seasons, but it is wonderful for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WVantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We often visit the rustic Flying U Ranch southeast of 70 Mile House, and always enjoy our holidays there. It’s Canada’s oldest guest ranch and attracts interesting visitors from throughout the world. The rustic log cabins, barn and lodge were built in the 1880’s, and many of those buildings are still in use. Their creaky floors, wood stoves and lack of plumbing exemplify B.C.’s early ranching history. (A modern bathhouse and laundry is just a short walk from the cabins.) Unfortunately, the original lodge burned to the ground a few years ago. No one was injured, but it was a devastating loss. The previous owners are back and a new log lodge is up and running, with modern amenities and an awesome stone fireplace. We’ve owned many horses over the years, and can guarantee that our Flying U visits have been the most authentic western horse holidays we’ve experienced. WARNING: Do not, under any circumstances, visit the Flying U if you have issues regarding fun, country music, dogs, trustworthy horses, making new friends, home cooking, wildlife, beer, fishing, trail riding, or magnificent sunsets.

Room Tip: Chose a cabin half-way from the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vlfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Flying U Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying U Ranch

Address: 5947 Green Lake North Rd, 70 Mile House, British Columbia V0K 2K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > 70 Mile House
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in 70 Mile House
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing