We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cavalieri del Tau
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altopascio
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

An end of holiday stopover for a final night to visit Lucca prior to flying out from Pisa. The hotel is easy to locate off the A11, has off street parking and friendly helpful staff. It is a little frayed around the edges and would benefit from updating, however it was clean, with a comfortable bed and served a continental breakfast all for €35 now that's a bargain!

Hotel Cavealieri del Tau is centrally located in Altopascio, just a short 2 minute walk from the piazza where you can find a good pick of places to eat and drink or just sit and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    97
    116
    58
    46
See reviews for
40
204
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel last week. The hotel is a "retro" style built in the mid-60's. The view from our room was beautiful--the Tuscan mountains in the distance and tiled roof homes nearby. The manager, Aurora, and her team were exceptionally warm, helpful, and hospitable and deserve the highest compliments. (Guido and Francesco were also great!). Breakfasts were plentiful, and the dinners were exceptional, especially the traditional Tuscan meals. Don't miss the locally produced tomatoes, peppers, and pears. One house specialty--pasta in a pepper sauce--was superb. The Medieval town is a quaint and easy to navigate--a home away from home. It is also about halfway between the sites in Pisa and Florence, just off the main highway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almaxstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband, son, and I were in Italy mid August, the most expensive and busiest tourist time of the year. As we wanted to visit Pisa and Lucca for the day, we needed a hotel close by. This hotel fit the bill. The price was reasonable. The breakfast was good. The room was very clean but could use a bit of a spruce up. Simply updating the linens would go a long way to improve the looks of this room. We enjoyed pizza and gelato in the town which is also famous for bread. The hotel was across the street from a bakery and the smell of fresh baked bread was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlefeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed with my wife for two nights and found a small hotel with friendly staff who spoke English.The reception is manned 24 hours. Parking is in front of the hotel on their own car park. The room was clean and the bed comfortable with a nice bathroom. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast with good coffee.
A very good base with good road connections for touring. For example Lucca is only fifteen minutes away. Altopascio is a small town and it's park and main piazza are only two hundred metres away from the hotel. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altopascio
7.0 mi away
Hotel Le Ville
Hotel Le Ville
#22 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
12.1 mi away
Monti Hotel
Monti Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Baronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Vecchiaccia
Hotel La Vecchiaccia
#1 of 5 in Altopascio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel Bella Riviera
Hotel Bella Riviera
#29 of 53 in Viareggio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#2 of 2 in San Baronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Hambros il Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cavalieri del Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cavalieri del Tau

Property: Hotel Cavalieri del Tau
Address: Via Gavinana 56, 55011, Altopascio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Altopascio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Altopascio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cavalieri del Tau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel's got new management since March 12th 2012. Located just 1 km outside the motorway to Florence (exit Altopascio) 3 kinds of rooms (economic, standard and comfort). Restaurant inside and outdoor with a full choice of Tuscan wine, buffet breakfast, Wifi free in all the hotel, large parking for cars and bus. Distances: Montecatini 10 min. - Montecarlo 10 min. - Lucca 15 min. - Pisa Airport and Florence Airport 30 min. Available on request transfer from and for the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cavalieri del Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cavalieri Del Tau Altopascio, Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing