We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, lovely and efficient”
Review of Cortese Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cortese Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armeno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2008

It's a new hotel (built in 2005). It offers several points of meeting: the inner hall, the outside hall near to the swimming pool, the s.p. itself,.. There is a lunch room inside as well as outside, with a fresh air coming from the near mountains. Right outside the hotel there is a "percorso-vita" where you can breathe in the forest while jogging. The main road of the near Armeno is close to the hotel, but I've been there for many days and I did not experienced any problem with noise. The village is also close to the hotel, and you can find an old Church, and all you may need. Well, if you would need anything, just ask to the service or directly to the owner. Formerly he's been the managed a travel agency for incoming people, so he's really up-to-date and kind in giving you advices on the most attractive landscapes of the surroundings, and enjoying places too. There are many attractions in the area whose centrum is the Cortese hotel: the Mottarrone mountain where you can see the 7 lakes around there, the Toce falls with a sprung of more than 150 mt, the Orta-see (this year it has been labelled as the cleanest lake in Europe) where you can swim, Verbania and Arona for discos, pubs, and old-fashioned cafès.
Unfortunately, I experimented also a problem with my room (the tap in the bathroom), but suddendly (2 minutes!!!) the service came and fixed it. The bathroom is indeed astonishing: good lights, furnitures, and a wonderful shower. The beds are comfortables, and the room does not need anything else: pictures on the walls are useless, just open the window and look at the hills!

The restaurant presents a very large set of wines, and the dishes (expecially meats and see-fishes) are really special..some times you can also ask for variations, and they're happy to satisfy your choices. Even outside the regular meals time: I asked for wine and appetizers at 5 pm, and they accomplished to my wishes. On saturdays I've always found a special event (live music, dancing or cultural events).

Prizes are relatively high, but when comparing them with the service and with the other hotel in the area, I strongly believe it is the cheapest solution! Hint: always look to their website, in several moment of the year they present special offers or "last-minutes".

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Medestrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2008

Rooms lovely, spotlessly clean, serviced each day however no air conditioning or swimming pool when we stayed in early May, and in spite of what they told us there was no mention of this in brochure. Food and drink prices in bar changed randomly. Also charged €40 per night for camp bed for 4 year old and €10 per night for babys cot. Breakfast nice, good selection of cold food, hot bacon and eggs available but only if you ask. Staff generally not very nice except one waiter who tried hard but had very little English. Opens onto main road so not great if you have small children. Car hire essential here. If you stay here a visit (or 3) to Orta San Guilio will be highlight of your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

We stayed for a weekend at Hotel Cortese in Armeno, which is just above Lago d'Orta. We chose this hotel as we wanted to stay in the peaceful hills, rather than in Orta itself.

We found the description on their website of the hotel and it's atmosphere a little misleading. It is a nice hotel, built in a modern architectural style with traditional materials (stone, wood, etc). But it was situated in a village facing the main road so was not very quiet. And while the building and most of the furniture were modern, a lot of the furnishings were very old fashioned and seemed out of place. For example, doilies and plastic flowers, yellow floor-length table cloths on every table in the lobby, breakfast room and restaurant, and ugly coffee and juice machines at breakfast which didn't give very nice coffee or juice. However, ask for a coffee from the bar - it's superb!

Our room was very comfortable. The bathroom is very modern - slate floors and walls, dark wood everywhere, and huge shower. The room was a bit sparse and could benefit from some pictures or photos on the walls.

The proximity to Lago d'Orta and Lago Maggiore is the big plus for this hotel. But the hotel itself is just not there, especially for the prices they charge. But we did think that this could have been due to it's proximity to Orta.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Stayed at Hotel Cortese for a week at the end of August. It is a fairly new hotel but very well established and the staff are lovely. Being away from the tourist areas is a definate bonus, although the village and the quiet Lake Orta are just a 5 min car ride away. The perfect place to stay to get away from it all with the added panoramic view of the mountains. The pool was spotless and there is also a covered seating area with swing-seats and comfy sofas where you can relax with an evening drink. The restaurant was first class with an excellent standard of service, you can dine in the open air under the awnings or inside the dining room. The rooms were spotless and fully air conditioned, the only slight criticism would be that it was rather bare and a few pictures wouldn't have gone amiss. I would recommend staying here to anyone, it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jillb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Viaggiando1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armeno
1.8 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
1,004 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
539 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Castello Dal Pozzo
Castello Dal Pozzo
#1 of 2 in Oleggio Castello
493 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Darbia
La Darbia
#1 of 1 in Vacciago
63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortese Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortese Hotel

Address: Via Due Riviere 24c, 28011 Armeno, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Armeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armeno
Price Range: £94 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortese Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cortese Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortese Hotel Armeno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing