We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Place in the sun”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Doocot

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcoming and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
21 reviews
Welcoming and cosy
Light and airy
A place to chill out
Smart TV, Netflix and wi fi
Soak up the stunning views
Quiet comfort will make sleep come easy
With space to relax
Mmmmm the key to relaxation?
Fully equipped kitchen
Time for tea or coffee
Idyllic and tranquil
The original doocot
And babbling brook
The garden pond
And extensive grounds
A place to stroll
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colinsburgh, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
505PDB
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Place in the sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful hospitality, beautiful accommodation & gardens. Everything 5 star & they deserve every success.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan778
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Doocot. The flat has everything you could need and it's perfectly positioned close to Elie and the neighbouring villages along the coast; it's just 20 minutes from St. Andrew's too.

Both Elaine and Robert were very welcoming and kind to us and the flat was a truly relaxing place to spend time. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone planning a visit to this lovely part of Scotland.

Thanks for a perfect stay!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
“Quite Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Doocot was the perfect place to start our honeymoon in Scotland! The property was beautiful: nicely furnished and decorated, well-maintained, clean, and comfortable! The garden and grounds are beautiful, and the surrounding area is peaceful and lovely. It is absolutely as advertised. The coast is easily accessible, and the surrounding towns are welcoming and wonderful.

The owners are very respectful of space and privacy, but they're very responsive to any questions or needs! They had a very nice welcome package and helpful references, as well.

We loved everything about the Doocot, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
“The standard of accomodation at the Doocot was all that we imagined after reading reviews from other guests.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We felt very fortunate indeed to have come upon the "Doocot" whilst searching for self catering accommodation in the east Neuk of Fife. The setting and accommodation were just perfect. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and once indoors a bottle of chilled wine and food hamper awaited us, and all greatly appreciated. During our stay we were able to explore the area including the lovely fishing villages with quaint harbours, and the very interesting caves in East Weems. Our particular interests being photography, and bird spotting there was never a dull moment. The eateries we found were all of a high standard including, Balgove Larder, near St Andrews, The Crusoe Hotel West Weems and the famous fish and chips to be found in Anstruther..

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: nothing to say
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawford6...
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, relaxing and home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Doocot provided a perfect place to both relax and explore. Welcome Pack provided on arrival was greatly appreciated and bottle of wine was a nice touch. The accommodation was spotless and really well equipped. Would definitely recommend this cottage to any couple and we will definitely be staying again. A great bonus was being able to use Netflix. You can also walk to the Charleton Golf Club and have a fantastic meal which is reasonably priced.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
446Doris
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely accommodation in a lovely setting, home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I selected this property on the basis of previous reviews and was not disappointed, the Doocot lived up to all that had previously been said.
We were made to feel very welcome by Elaine and her husband and felt at home straight away. The welcome food pack and bottle of wine were a nice touch for our arrival.
The Doocot is a lovely little annex with all amenities you need for a short or long stay and the quality of them is excellent.
We went on a golf pilgrimage to St Andrews and the Doocot is ideally situated for this and indeed there is much to do in the area should you wish or simply relax in super surroundings. We would certainly go back and stay at the Doocot should we find ourselves in the area again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling of the property
Liked least: The shower temperature was difficult to regulate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to the Doocot, We had lovely relaxing time,It has everything we needed, comfy sofa, smart TV,nice compact kitchen with all the equipment you will ever need.Lovely ground if you want to go for a walk. 2 miles from Elie where you can have a lovely pub lunch in the Ship inn(fish and chips are fantastic)would recommend to family and friend.We will return again soon.xx

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace nd quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$72
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing