We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genuine termal spa in the hills”

Nitrodi Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Park of the Spring of Nitrodi offers a hydro-aromatherapy trail which thanks to the direct contact with aromatic and officinal plants boosts the effects of the water. After having drunk the water and taken a shower, visitors can go for a walk in the Park and stop in the specially organised hydro-aromatherapy areas.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A genuine termal spa in the hills”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The facilities are comfortable since the baths were renovated and include changing rooms, Before it was a pipe connected to the spring (off season it is still like that). The water contains colagen stimulants and is also used for patients with serious scars. Your skin feels wonderful after the visit. The road towards the spring is less suitable for disabled people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank medvedandmasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    141
    43
    12
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice showers, soft water”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nitrodi hot springs were very nice but, for me, not really in the same league as some of the other thermal spring locations. Sure, the waters here were really popular with the Romans so that is always a good sign and the water is really soft and pleasant. Still it really just has some nice showers (of the stand up or sit down variety) and a nice garden to lounge around in. A fellow guest at my hotel visited regularly in the hope of it helping with her eczema but I don't think she thought it was that effective.
I enjoyed my visit and the water was nice but for someone without a car it was quite a journey and ultimately I am not sure it would have been worth it if I had been on a tighter schedule.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank biffchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very expensive for too little”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The people running this place should be ashamed of themselves. They demand 13 euros for shower water. In the past it was much more affordable but since it has been privatized the new owners charge what they want and of course the prices have inflated to horrible levels. The owners even make sure nobody bets a chance to try the magnificent water by padlocking every free fountain. Shame on you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank donfabio12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDiMe, Direttore at Nitrodi Hot Springs, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
kind sir, I believe that you should be ashamed at first, because you does not have the slightest idea of ​​what our facility and secondly because write a review basing everything on the price without knowing what you're talking about is a sign of rudeness and poor culture.
I will not dwell further we would only like to point out that our rates have remained unchanged since the 2011 period in which the management was still the town of Barano d'Ischia and no change was made later.
All in all it is fortunate that people like you thanks to our rates are not attending the park because basically not appreciate anything and would spend a day thinking all the time about money ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden,Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not really a HOT spring”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This very lovely place is not a hot spring exactly. People have been coming here since ancient times to "take" the waters which ,when combined with all the healing plants that border the walkways, are meant to cure skin conditions. The showers, not baths, come out of the rocks along the hillside. You get wet, in tepid water, rub your hands on various plants, and dry in the sun. There are lounges and chairs on the natural terraces. Bring a snack, take the day to relax.
We took the bus from Ischia Porto, the CS, get off at the stop after the town. Ask the driver to tell you. It is the stop after you cross the bridge, heading to S'ant Angelo. Then you walk down steps to the Terme. If you get off in town it would be a very long walk, unless a local gives you a lift, which is what happened to us, neat lady.
Good experience, but not a soak in a hot springs, which is what we thought it was. Wonderful view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank eshaver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A day at Nitrodi”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The springs have been around since roman times and are now enclosed in a park. These waters are believed to cure different skin ailments, one walks along bushes of fragrant herbs (rosemary laurel etc) to arrive to different springs/showers. We were told by the staff to shower and then let the sun dry us... not so easy because it was windy, but we followed the advice, though we were a bit skeptical. The benefits from the waters were not obvious at first, but when we returned to the hotel a few hours later we noticed our skin was incredibly smooth and our hair shiny -- apparently the locals were right!.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank silvytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nitrodi Hot Springs also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
Panza, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Nitrodi Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing