We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to chill out, despite the early "alarm c(l)ocks"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garda Country House
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had the chance to enjoy a weekend at the Garda Country House in October for a weekend. The house is on top of a hill, only surrounded by two more houses nearby. Con: from the road the path that leads to the house is not at all indicated and, despite the indications provided on its website, the house is not easy to locate, specially if you're travelling at night. Watch out! No mobile reception depending on the operator up there (that means, you can be close to the house but not able to call and contact them to know how to keep going)!

The place is a good point to make an excursion to Sirmione, or to the south banks of the lake. Verona is quite close as well and is worth a trip!

The personnel in the house are very kind and the atmosphere is relaxed and familiar, always with a welcoming smile.

The rooms are confortable but, as many say here, those on the upper floor have very thin walls (or whatever isolation problem they may have) and you can hear the guests next door as if they were in your own bathroom chatting, needless to say the same happens if they switch on the TV. This is a real problem if you want intimacy and/or relax. Luckily, we managed to change our room for another one as we had also mentioned "quiet room" in our reservation e-mail and this had not been initially given and thus leaving an empty one in the middle we could sleep well... until two funny "gallos" (cocks) woke us up at 6 a.m.!! I don't know if they belonged the house or not, but both days we were unpleasantly awoken by the two of them "singing" loud early in the morning, with the sunrise, for more than half an hour witout interruption. It's not the ideal when you expect to chill out from an stressing week, to wake up earlier than you usually do at home. Maybe it was pure chance and other guests have not suffered them. I have been in other rural llodgings and have never experienced this.

Breakfast is not like a hotel buffet, you will be upset if you expect something like that. It is however a decent offer, with tasty organic bread, croissants, marmelade and Nutella, coffee, juice and some prosciutto cotto and cheese. It is good for the Italian standards, but still could be improved by including, for instance, the possibility of self-pressed orange juice, for instance, or some more marmelades in the assortment than only two flavours (a home-made or at least, not industrial marmelade would be a good plus). Only a few more details that mean added value.

In general, a place to be recommended. Specially the friendly personnel help you feel like at a friend's and the view of the Garda lake in a clear morning is different from any known one, very picturesque.It is also a very good departing point for a day trip to Verona or a round trip around the Garda lake.

Suggestions to make it still better: sIgns leading from the road to the house should be improved -the long unpaved path as well, but it does not depend on them solely- for this can bee a con if you happen to have any problem with your rented car on the way (car insurances do not cover unpaved roads in case of trouble) and the isolation of the rooms in the upper floor. Check-out time and breakfast time could also be a bit more flexible if you intend to rest longer on a Sunday morning, but I guess it is customary.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetraveller1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

For us, Garda Country House was the perfect choise: close to all attractions but far enough from the crowded shores, surrounded by natural forest, with an incredible view to the lake.
The hospitalily was wonderful, thanks to the touch of Veronica and Nellie. The swimming pool was just great.
For our little child, the place was like a big playground. she was simply happy, like we did!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was our first trip to Lake Garda and Garda Country House was the perfect place to stay for a few days to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The Lake is beautiful but incredibly busy in the summer and it was just fantastic to be able to escape to the tranquility of the house.
Superb but low key hospitality from Veronica and Nellie. The house itself and the views are fantastic and the pool brilliant - we didn't have to share it once! Favourite part of the day was breakfast on the terrace with views of the Lake.
Once you negotiate the gravel road up to the house (maybe only downside as we were driving a 1966 Triumph Spitfire - rented from a local Italian company called Slowdrive) it was quick to the Lake and wherever you went it was just incredible. Five days went much too quickly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Staying here has made a special week even more special, such a lovely place to stay!
Our first ever visit to the Garda Lake and we couldn't have found a nicer house for a few super days, everything was just right, great setting, comfort, good breakfast, genuine hospitality and spot-on advice on where to travel.
Cannot wait to come again thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisbethban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isabella00724, Direttore at Garda Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

it was a pleasure too meet you here at the Garda Country House, come back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Garda Country House is the ideal place for a family vacation. Lovely, laid back atmosphere, great hospitality, wonderful people. The panorama from the hillside is amazing, the pool is great, easy to reach sights. The Lake is beautiful and a boat trip to the neighbouring little towns is incredible. All of our 3 children would like to go back right away. And Veronika even has time and energy to give full details of all the sights and practical information. Best vacation! Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungaryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isabella00724, Direttore at Garda Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

Thanks for your kind words and coloured and happy way to live the Country House as it was you private one in Italy. It was really nice to meet you and your "wemen powered" Family and we'll be here for your next trip to Italy here or in Tuscany!Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed here for one night. It is a little in the middle of know where and have no idea how we would have found it without a sat nav.
The road leading up to the property is a dirt road which is not ideal for hired cars.
The walls are really thin and we could here the conversation of the people in the next room. We also heard other things that should be kept private!
The breakfast didn't offer much. Only bread, cheese, canned fruit, yogurt...no hams, pastries...
It is not too far from Lake Garda but still around a 20 minute drive.
We were charged 5 euro to use their wireless internet.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Wonderfull place to stay. Fantastic view over the lake, nice pool and friendly service. Not far at all from Desenzano, but far enough to taste the Italian country-life. If you want some advice on the environment, Veronica helps you with pleasure. Top-location!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jups020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lonato del Garda hotels
1.1 mi away
B&B Belfiore
B&B Belfiore
#2 of 12 in Lonato del Garda
58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arriga Alta
Arriga Alta
#4 of 14 in Lonato del Garda
13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Reciago
Agriturismo Cascina Reciago
#1 of 14 in Lonato del Garda
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Antico Cascinale Lombardo
Antico Cascinale Lombardo
#1 of 12 in Lonato del Garda
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Graziosa
Agriturismo Cascina Graziosa
#2 of 14 in Lonato del Garda
130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vip's Motel
Vip's Motel
#1 of 4 in Lonato del Garda
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garda Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garda Country House

Address: Via Bagnole 4/b, 25017, Lonato del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Lonato del Garda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lonato del Garda
Price Range: £81 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garda Country House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of the heart in which lives a story of women and men, a space always open for those who want to breathe the air of the lake in its various seasons and test activities and the realities of this rich territory in the spirit of a country house. The hills and the house blend into a magical combination of nature, sports and culture, in which to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the lake but also the countless attractions of the area, easily reachable from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Garda Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Country House Lake Garda/Lonato Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing