We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlooks the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overlooks the town”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Pleasant hotel, no frills, interesting stuff on offer in the restaurant. a bit noisy in the morning, but it is in a bustling little town! Good view of the town. Room was Ok but could hear conversations/ noise from nearby rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepidoptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    96
    60
    17
    6
See reviews for
31
87
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel layout is a bit weird. You have to take all sorts of twists and turns to get to the rooms, restaurant and bar. The room was spacious but did not have a mini fridge. There was no air conditioning but the fan was sufficient and it was reasonably quiet. The food was high quality and eggs were cooked to order at breakfast. There was no mini fridge and no pool. It was fine for a night but somewhat lacking in atmosphere. Given the lack of a pool, I wouldn’t want to stay for much longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Without doubt one of the favorite hotels I stayed during my time in Sri Lanka! Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and general manager, our names were mentioned on the board and we were upgraded to the Paradise Suite. The staff was extremely friendly, the restaurant very flexible (appreciate this!) and the restaurant supervisor deserves a special thanks. We had two great evenings here, which obviously also added up to the experience.

The second day we did a village trekking which was guided by Raj, who works as a waiter in the hotel as well. Raj is such a warm personality and highly motivated guide (recommendable!). I truly enjoyed walking the three of us through the village. The scenery was beautiful and it was a relieve to walk in such a quiet and peaceful environment. The natural bath on the end was a great way to end the trekking.

Note, this is not a 4/5-star hotel or so, but the atmosphere is so special that it really felt like home to me. All respect for the general manager who does a great job here; a true sample of excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here as part of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka and liked this hotel. Our room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the mosque. The evening buffet was one of the best we had during our tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It’s a great place to stay.... Staff were friendly caring and pleasant, starting from the reception. Meals are very good and delicious...
Rooms are warm while outside is very cool. Well maintained hospital. I highly recommend the hotel for locals and foreigners. I would probably choose Orient hotel next time as I have experience warm welcomes of the staff, excellent service and pleasantness of hotel crew.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanishka_UKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but were surprised by the hotel.
We had a huge bedroom with an enormous bath.
Staff were friendly and pleasant.
Overlooked the mosque and easy to stroll down through the shops.
Billiards table-which my son enjoyed, not so sure about the Karaoke.
Good restaurant-great buffet, though more expensive than I had expected.
All in all-pleasant hotel stopver.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We only stayed here one night, but the hotel was lovely and clean, hotel staff friendly and helpful. Buffet had a vice selection. We arranged for one of the hotel staff to take us to a view point in the evening and the next day we were camping but wanted some exercise so one of the hotel staff was our guide and we drove up to Lipton Seat (an experience!) and then took us on a 3 hour walk down to our campsite. Wi Fi at this hotel was good enough to use skype, but its only available in the reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
0.2 mi away
Bandarawela Hotel
Bandarawela Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bandarawela
404 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
44 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
5.8 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
5.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orient Bandarawela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orient Bandarawela

Property: Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Address: No. 12 Dharmapala Mawatha, Bandarawela 90100, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orient Bandarawela 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orient hotel with 50 superbly appointed rooms is the flagship adventure hotel of Bandarawela which is situated in the hill country of Sri Lanka. Renowned the world over as a health resort, it possesses a cool and mild climate and is surrounded by high mountain ranges, forests, majestic waterfalls, tea plantations and archeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orient Bandarawela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing