We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Bandarawela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandarawela Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel has quaint old colonial features like claw footed bath tubs. The staff is friendly and food is good. Convenient location right in the middle of the Bandarawela Town. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thyagie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Srikanthi,

We acknowledge with many thanks sharing your experience of your stay at Bandarawela Hotel.

It inspired us. We take pride offering our valued guests our warm hospitality and will convey your happiness to all our staff members who lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you to Bandarawela Hotel soon again.

Best Regards,
Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Its a fine, normal hotel with a theme left by the English. Western and some Sri Lankan dishes and a set menu dinner.

My one big problem was the slow WiFi, this usually isn't a problem but in a place with such sparce past times a fast WiFi is important. This is obviously me being a brat because I've grown up in the 21st century but people missing out on work such as my father need the network for work back home which is essential for his business.

Over all a nice stay, with good food and a nice vibe. If work is essential during your stay I might find somewhere else or bring mobile WiFi.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamaborrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your review following your visit to our hotel and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Your concern with regard to Wifi facility has already been identified and will be addressed soon.
We express our apology for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard.

Whilst we continue to assure you of our best services at all times, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My family and local(Haputale) family friends and I have eaten at the hotel restaurant for the evening meal about 25 times over the last 12 years or so. And we have always enjoyed the quality,value selection,service and ambience this wonderful hotel provides. Please management do not change anything significant about the hotel. (Maybe cable in the rooms? )Finally my son and I stayed there for a few days and enjoyed the stay immensely. I even had my birthday party there, where-in I brought a birthday cake locally and we had a lovely casual meal in the lounge with my son,his local girl friend and her young siblings. In cannot praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel !

We acknowledge with many thanks for sharing your experience following your stay at Bandarawela Hotel. We are inspired over your review.

Let us firstly convey our fondest thanks to you for your continuous patronage and the un-interrupted visits you have made during the last 25 years to Bandarawela Hotel.

Thank you for recognizing the quality of our service and the ambience of this colonial edifice which we earnestly endeavour to preserve and consistently maintain, thereby its fame that has been earned during the past years.

We are honoured with your visits and are pleased having you staying with us.

We look forward to receiving you and your family for many more birthdays of yours in the years to come.

With best wishes and warm regards

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We took the train from Nuwara Eliya, did not want to rush to Tissa immediately. Through internet search, did not find good hotel in Ella, then booked this hotel located about 10km from Ella. That's a good surprise. From my personal view, this hotel gave me more colonial feeling then the Grand Hotel in Nuwara Eliya. Though the room condition was relatively simple and there was no kettle (mitigant: they provided warm water in a timely manner),hair dryer did not work (mitigant: they provided a new room). The garden is lovely, the sunset view from the lawn was beautiful. We also took a walk in the Bandarawela town which was peaceful. BTW, on the way from Ella to Bandarawela, and from Bandarawela to Tissa, we visited Dowa temple, ravana cave and waterfall, as well as had a dinner in a restaurant with perfect view on Ella gap, all of them are fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience following your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that you liked our hotel and its colonial architecture that has been preserved since the early British times.

It is also interesting to learn that you travelled by train from Nuwara Eliya probably the best picturesque Journey that one could enjoy through the tea estates, and exploring the surroundings of Bandarawela.

We thank you for selecting Bandarawela Hotel for your stay and look forward to seeing you soon again.

Best Regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice people, and a beutiful hotel but dated.... Not sure why this place was part of our 2-week trip of Sri Lanka.... not a place to spend time and the hotel is not such a great deal that would worth a night there. However, the staff was very nice but most of the services, the food and the bar were expensive ('colonial').... unfortunatelly didn't try the spa facilities; but looked at the place and it felt very nice. Instead (what a shame!!!), our tour guide had taken us to an awful (fake, money machine aurvedic center....). As far as I could see the hotel aurvedic offer would have been much better. Our tour guide however didn't even allow us to check out the hotel facilities, he made us commit prior to arring to the hotel... in case, the hotel management reads this I would suggest taking this up with Explore group leaders.... Our group was very unhappy with the tour guide arrangements and not allowing us to check out the hotel facilities....

Room Tip: close to the courtyard could be very noisy in the evening as the hotel and its surrounding get very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaya-lakhsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your time spared to share your experience following your stay at our hotel.

We are pleased that you liked the beauty and the unique architecture of our hotel. You may be interested to know that we offer a range of facilities and entertainment where one could make use of with a minimum of 02 days stay. A night stay on your way during your round tour would not suffice to expose any of them. Further our prices of food and beverage are very competitive and reasonable and are carefully complied to cater to any type of clientele.

We regret to learn of your experience in an ayurvedic center outside in the city that you have opted to visit against our hotel’s ayurvedic spa that provides ayurvedic relaxation therapy by experienced masseurs from a range of treatments that are available on our menu.

We thank you for your visit and hope your next visit to Bandarawela Hotel would be a longer stay to explore the reality of our services.

Warm Regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Bandarawela is situated in the upper geographic area of Sri Lanka with a fairly high elevation above sea level. Nights can be cold particularly from November to around February end. The hotel is one of the oldest in Sri Lanka and built to serve the Colonial Planters and administrators and the elite Sri Lankans at that era. It still retains most of the original charm not only in the building and the room semantics but also in the conviviality of the hotel staff from the General Manager down to all levels. The cusine is excellent, rooms comfortable, exceedingly well maintained with good housekeeping. Should on ones holiday itinerary.

Room Tip: upper floor any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Mr. Wijesundara,

Greetings from Bandarawela hotel !

We appreciate your review and your valuable time spared to share your experience following your stay at Bandarawela Hotel. It inspired us.
Many thanks for your descriptive information about the hotel and its history where you refer to as the ‘Rendezvous’ of the elite of Sri Lankans and the British administrators during the colonial times.

I will convey your happiness and appreciation to every staff member of our hotel who lived up to your expectations.

We indeed took pleasure have you stay with us and wish to acknowledge with many thanks your repeated visits to our hotel.

Whilst we convey our fondest regards to your wife and all your family members, we eagerly look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Warm Regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We took the train from Nuwara Eliya, did not want to rush to Tissa immediately. Through internet search, did not find good hotel in Ella, then booked this hotel located about 10km from Ella.

That's a good surprise.

From my personal view, this hotel gave me more colonial feeling then the Grand Hotel in Nuwara Eliya. Probably because there are much less ppl than in Grand Hotel, the decoration, music, incense also help a lot.

Room condition was relatively simple and there was no kettle (mitigant: they provided warm water in a timely manner),hair dryer did not work (mitigant: they provided a new room). Sound insulation is poor.

The garden is lovely, the sunset view from the lawn was beautiful.

We also took a walk in the Bandarawela town which was peaceful. BTW, on the way from Ella to Bandarawela, and from Bandarawela to Tissa, we visited Dowa temple, ravana cave and waterfall, as well as had a lunch in a restaurant with perfect view on Ella gap, all of them are fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tianyi z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela hotel !

We acknowledge with many thanks your review following your visit to our hotel and your time spared to post same on the Trip advisor.

Whilst we are glad to learn that you were pleased with our hospitality and our colonial architecture it is interesting to know that you have worth fully spent your time exploring the unique surroundings of this area. Our hotel is the ideal spot where one could radiate from to visit a diversified range of attractions that this province could offer and even to proceed to the eastern or southern beaches of Sri Lanka with a matter of a few hours on your tour.

We took pleasure having you stay with us and look forward seeing you soon again.

Warm Regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandarawela
4.8 mi away
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
Ceylon Tea Bungalows
#1 of 5 in Bandarawela
54 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
Hotel Orient Bandarawela
#3 of 5 in Bandarawela
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
4.9 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandarawela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandarawela Hotel

Address: No. 14 Welimada Road, Bandarawela, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Bandarawela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bandarawela
Price Range: £39 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bandarawela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey to the top of the world across a limitless mountain vista adorned by a green carpet of tea plants. Enter a long lost era through a portal of clouds and feel the kiss of mountain mist on your skin. Breathe the pristine mountain air and let your soul be rejuvenated. Gaze upon the dream scape of Bandarawela. Reside at the Bandarawela Hotel, and live for a while in a land of strawberries, pears and tea.The hotel has 33 colonial rooms with great views of tea plantations. All the bathrooms come with bathtubs and hot water. Each bathroom is supplied with all requirements. The rooms provide TVs with local channels and telephone with international direct dialing. Our rooms are wheel chair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bandarawela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing