We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bandarawela Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Peak Mount Villa(Bandarawela)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
97
195
111
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
195
111
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial hotelold stylesri lankastep back in timeold world charmcolonial typean irontea planterssmall townwill visit againantique furniturerelaxing holidayrestaurant staffunique experiencerailway stationbygone eraoriginal features
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I was attending a wedding at this hotel. It was a pleasant stay at the hotel. The gardens were full of green and flowers. If you wakeup early you may catch some mist as well. The only issue was the lights. They were not bright enough... food was good... friendly staff...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amila619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments following your stay at Bandarawela Hotel and are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your staff.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward seeing you soon again

Best regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in this wonderful colonial hotel. The staff are very attentive and provide very good service.

The hotel has colonial charm and beautiful grounds. We stayed here rather than going to Ella and have no regrets.

Rooms have good detail with large comfy beds and cast iron baths. Only downside is the wifi system which is very slow and only in public areas. Dialog sim costs £1.50 for 1gb so not really a major issue.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ang-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Greetings from Bandarawela Hotel !

We acknowledge with many thanks your review following your stay at our hotel and your valuable time spared to share your experience of same.

We are inspired with your comments and will share your sentiments with our staff members who lived up to your expectations.

We have taken serious note on your concern over our Wifi facility which will be addressed very soon.

Thankyou for staying with us and we eagerly look forward to your next visit to Bandarawela Hotel.

Best regards,

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stopped over in Bandarawela for a night on our way down to Hambantota, The hotel has a colonial charm which is evident the moment you check in. The food was excellent however the rooms could do with an upgrade as well as the WiFi Connectivity.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

We acknowledge with many thanks your review of our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our food and hospitality. Your concerns on wifi facility is given our serious thought and will be addressed soon. Our apology if inconvenience caused.

Whilst it was a pleasure having you stay with us, we look forward to seeing you soon again.

Best Regards

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hotel on edge of town, with parking and within five minutes walk of railway station. Shops are close by.
Rather old style hotel.
Room of medium size and quite dark. Two really old-fashioned iron single bedsteads pushed together, small occasional table with two chairs, old wardrobe, dressing table and mirror, sink is in room, with toilet and old-fashioned bath in room off. No shower, but shower attachment above bath.
Painted concrete floor, old style TV, no air conditioning, but ceiling fan. Very high ceiling to room. Only one power socket in room. Period charm to place.
Ample gardens and lawns outside. Big lounge for guests with comfortable chairs. Separate bar.
Free wi-fi but in public area only.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review following your stay at our hotel. Hope you enjoyed our rare hospitality and services.

You may be interested to know that our hotel has been in existence since the early years of 1900s and we endeavour to preserve it’s unique architecture and the artefacts that contribute to complement it's colonial aura where one could experience the epoch of the glorious past. You were in one of the very few places of that sort.

Whilst we were pleased have you stay with us we look forward to seeing you soon again.

Best Regards

Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel has quaint old colonial features like claw footed bath tubs. The staff is friendly and food is good. Convenient location right in the middle of the Bandarawela Town. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thyagie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandarawela H, General Manager at Bandarawela Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Srikanthi,

We acknowledge with many thanks sharing your experience of your stay at Bandarawela Hotel.

It inspired us. We take pride offering our valued guests our warm hospitality and will convey your happiness to all our staff members who lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you to Bandarawela Hotel soon again.

Best Regards,
Senani Perera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews